Pacific Studies

Pacific

  • Australia/New Zealand Reference Centre
    Academic journals, magazines, newspapers, newswires, reference books and company information from the Pacific Islands, Australia and New Zealand.
  • Index New Zealand
    Journals, newspapers and magazines about New Zealand and the Pacific Islands.
  • PINI
    Pacific Islands publications, including newspapers and reports.
  • Trove (National Library of Australia)
    A search engine for Australian content including books, journals, theses, newspaper archives, art, photographs, postcards, letters, diaries and archived websites.
  • Ethnographic Video Online
    Video collections for the study of human culture and behaviour.
  • Indigenous Collection (Informit)
    Offering broad scope for critical international engagement and debate surrounding Indigenous culture, health, human geography, and other important aspects, this inter-disciplinary platform gives a definitive voice to Indigenous communities in Australia, New Zealand, and beyond.
  • APA-FT (Australian Public Affairs Full Text)
    Australian social sciences and humanities journals.

Multidisciplinary

  • Anthropology Plus
    Covers journal articles, chapters in edited books, and essays in anthropology and archaeology.
  • Informit
    Multidisciplinary Australian full-text databases which include Pacific research.
  • Google Scholar
    Excellent for starting your literature search.
  • ProQuest
    A multidisciplinary database which searches across 50 individual databases, and good for Pacific topics in science, engineering, business, health, arts, medicine, political science, linguistics and many more.
  • Project Muse
    Full-text books and scholarly journals in the humanities and social sciences.
  • EBSCOhost
    A suite of databases, mostly full text, with an emphasis on peer-reviewed journals.
  • Academic OneFile
    Provides millions of articles from over 17,000 scholarly journals and other authoritative sources, including videos from BBC Worldwide Learning to thousands of podcasts and transcripts from CNN.

Full list of library databases for Pacific Studies.

Additional

Top of page

General references | Bibliographies | Dictionaries | E-books | E-journals | Maps | News and media | Publishers | Research institutions and organisations | Statistics

Use for concise introductions, facts, or definitions. The information is brief and written by experts.

  • Additional quick reference materials may be found by searching the Catalogue.
  • Print resources are located in the Pacific Collection of the General Library.

General references

Top of page

Bibliographies

Top of page

Dictionaries

Top of page

Books

Top of page

Journals

Top of page

Maps

See also the Geospatial data guide.

Top of page

News and media

Top of page

Publishers

Top of page

Research institutions and organisations

Top of page

Statistics

See also the Statistics and numeric data guide.

Top of page

Conceptual frameworks | Guidelines and protocols | Indigenous references | Methodologies | Pacific studies research | Research repositories | Conferences

Where to start

Conceptual frameworks

Health Models

  • Agnew, F., Pulotu-Endemann, F. K., Robinson, G., Suaalii-Sauni, T., Warren, H., Wheeler, A., Erick, M., Hingano, T. & Schmidt-Sopoaga, H. (2004). Pacific models of mental health service delivery in New Zealand ("PMMHSD") project. Auckland: Health Research Council of New Zealand. Fonofale.
  • Tamases, K., Peteru, C., Waldegrave, C., & Bush, A. (2005). O le Taeao Afua, the new morning: a qualitative investigation into Samoan perspectives on mental health and culturally appropriate services. Australian and New Zealand Journal of Psychiatry, 39(4), 300-309. Fa'afaletui.
  • Tu'itahi, S. (2009). Fonua: A framework for Pasifika development. Hauora Health Promotion Forum of New Zealand. (Retrieved July, 2017).

Kakala | Ula

Vaka | Va'a

Tā-Vā | Tauhi Vā | Teu le Vā

Tofā'a'anolasi

Top of page

Guidelines and protocols

Top of page

Indigenous references

Top of page

Methodologies

Top of page

Pacific studies research

See also Research organisations and institutions with a focus in Pacific Studies.

Top of page

Research repositories

Top of page

Conferences relating to the Pacific

See also Finding conferences and conference proceedings

Top of page

Arts and literature | Church and religion | Education | Film, TV and photography | Law | Navigation and voyaging

Arts and literature

Top of page

Church and religion

Top of page

Education

Additional:

Top of page

Film, TV and photography

  • Oceania Cinematographical database
    Contains information on films (mainly documentaries) on Oceania (without Australia and New Zealand) that has been collected by Saskia Goëken in pre-WWW and pre-DVD times: 1984-1986, including the University of Hawaii’s “Moving Images of the Pacific Islands” database.
  • Film Archive New Zealand
    Contains documentaries, short films, newsreels, posters, and photographs from Pacific islands associated with New Zealand administration.
  • Pacific pictures
    Gallery of Pacific travel photographs from the Pacific islands including maps, directories and travel guides.

Top of page

Law

Top of page

Navigation and voyaging

Top of page

University of Auckland Library

Other research collections

Support

  • Referencing
    Access a range of tools and support material to assist your referencing work.

Examples

  • Quick©ite
    Use this interactive tool to view examples of references.
    Covers a range of styles used at the University of Auckland.

Last updated : 28 November 2022
Creative Commons License CC BY 4.0 Tautohu Matatiki 4.0 ā-Ao