Staying Current with Business Research

Business and Economics Information Services

Subject GuidesBusiness School


Overload

Retrieved from Encyclopaedia Britannica Image Quest.


Introduction

As a researcher it is important to stay current with new literature and research published in your subject areas. The Library, via our database and journal subscriptions, can help you with this process. You can:

  • Set up alerts to journal table of contents.
  • Set up alerts to new literature in a subject area.
  • Set up alerts to new literature citing a key article and / or author.

Alerts are an easy way to have new and relevant content delivered directly to you.

This guide introduces you to methods for obtaining email alerts from subscription databases and other resources. Some sections include a short video demonstrating the steps involved in setting up the alert. The guide also covers staying current with new Library resources in the business and economics subject areas.

back to top

Table of contents alerts

You may identify key journals in your subject area where articles of interest are published. Setting up a Table of Contents email alert ensures you will receive the contents of a new journal issue.

Loading the player ...
back to top

Links to resources providing table of contents alerts

To find out where a journal is indexed you can search the journal title or ISSN on Ulrich's Periodicals Directory or on the Library's e-journals list.

back to top

Search alerts

A search alert, or topic alert, notifies you by email when new articles about a specific topic become available on a database or on Google Scholar. It is an easy way to keep informed of new research and literature in your subject areas. You save a search in a database, and then will receive an email when new articles found by that search are added to the database. Often you can specify the frequency of the alert - daily, weekly, monthly.

You can create an alert for new theses in the ProQuest Dissertations and Theses database.

back to top

Citation alerts

A citation alert will notify you of new citations to existing articles or authors. To set up citation alerts, find the article or author in a database or publisher website. When any new articles cite this author or article in their references, you will be sent an email alert with details of the citing article.

Citation alerts will help you keep current with who is citing your work, and you can use this information to update your Research Outputs profile.

Loading the player ...

Library databases offering citation alerts

Publishers offering citation alerting services

back to top

Library resources

Stay up-to-date with new resources available at the University of Auckland Library by subscribing to Library RSS feeds. These feeds will notify you of new books, new e-journals and new databases held by the Library.

back to top

Statistics

Statistics New Zealand offers alerting services. These are:

  • Subscribe to information releases - You will receive email notification of new information releases detailing new statistics, analytical commentaries, and statistical tables. You can either receive notification of all Statistics NZ releases, or select specific topics such as business, demography, economy, trade.
  • RSS feeds - These feeds deliver the latest content from Statistics NZ, updating you of new web content. You can receive both topic-based RSS feeds and product-based RSS feeds.

Passport GMID allows users to register for weekly or monthly email alerts to new content, including industry reports and statistical updates.

back to top


Further help

back to top


Copyright©The University of Auckland Libraries and Learning Services
Comments and suggestions to: Camille Tooman
Last updated: 1 September, 2016