Academic and Popular Journals

Business & Economics Information Services (BEIS)


Contents

Academic versus popular journals
The difference between academic and popular journals

Searching databases for academic articles
- International and New Zealand databases
How to read academic articles


Academic versus popular journals


When you select articles from an online search you need to make a distinction between scholarly and popular material. Scholarly or academic journals are usually published by a university or institution and contain research or specific information. Popular magazines are usually commercial, written for a general audience and contain current news. They can include secondary commentaries on research.

Academic

Popular

nzmanagement

Watch this short video to understand the main differences between academic and popular journals. Top


What are the differences between academic and popular publications?

Academic

Popular

Trade

Authors: experts or noted professionals. Check author’s background or qualifications. Authors are most often clearly affiliated with an academic or research institution and an address is provided for readers to contact the author at his or her institution or academic department. Authors:  journalists, students, or anonymous. Credentials often not supplied. Authors: people in the industry  and professional writers
Audience: articles targeted to experts or specialists. Audience: general interest Audience: people in a particular industry 
Bibliography: a list of references is included at the end of each article Bibliography: articles rarely include references Bibliography:articles rarely include references
Content: more specialized, research based - often communicate research findings in a given field. Content: often report opinion in a story format; focus on current events & topics of general interest, and include a variety of advertisements for consumer products. Content: may reflect the industry's point of view, particularly on regulatory and legislative issues; often published by trade associations or by for-profit corporations
Format/Structure: articles usually more structured, may include: abstract, literature review, methodology, results, conclusion. Format/Structure: articles do not necessarily follow a specific format or structure Format/Structure: articles do not necessarily follow a specific format or structure
Language: higher level language, focused, serious tone, words used are specific to a discipline, written by experts Language: broad and simple language, written to be understood by almost anyone.  Language: broad and simple language, written to be understood by almost anyone. May include jargon specific to the industry.
Length: longer articles, providing in-depth analysis of topics Length: shorter articles, providing broader overviews of topics Length: shorter articles
Peer Review Policy: articles are reviewed for detailed factual & research accuracy before publication by peer or experts in the field. Editorial board is composed of scholars in the field. Peer Review Policy: editor or editorial board are members of the magazine's or newspaper's staff. Peer Review Policy: editor or editorial board are members of the magazine's staff.
Special Features: illustrations that support the text, such as tables of statistics, graphs, maps, or photographs Special Features: illustrations with glossy or colour photographs, usually for advertising purposes Special Features: illustrations with glossy or colour photographs, usually for advertising purposes

Top


Searching the Business and Economics databases for academic or scholarly articles

International databases
Databases that index international business periodicals, both academic and scholarly, include:

1. Proquest databases (PQD)

To find scholarly or academic articles in the Proquest (PQD) databases type in your search term(s) and select the limit 'Peer-reviewed journals' in the Limit to section. (Most scholarly journals will be peer reviewed and most peer reviewed journals will be published for an academic audience.)

abiresearch

Top

 


2. EbscoHost 


To find scholarly or academic articles in the EBSCO databases type in your search term(s) and select the limit “Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) journals”.

ebscoresearch

 

3. Other international Business and Economics databases 

  • Emerald - All journals are peer reviewed and are aimed at both academic researchers and  practitioners. You do not have to limit your search to scholarly or peer reviewed.  
  • ScienceDirect - All journals are peer reviewed and are aimed at both academic researchers and  practitioners. You do not have to limit your search to scholarly or peer reviewed.  
  • For other databases use the table above outlining the differences between academic and popular as a guideline.
  • Always check out the limits in a database as there may be some options there to focus your search.
  • Have a look here for a list of all the business databases subscribed to by the Library. Top

New Zealand databases
Databases that cover New Zealand business magazines and newspapers include:

  • ANZ Reference Centre : Ebscohost database which provides the full text of many New Zealand business magazines and newspapers.
  • Newztext Plus : Covers the full text of a range of NZ business publications
  • Newzindex : An index to NZ business magazines and newspapers.
  • INNZ – Index New Zealand : A multidisciplinary database that indexes business information which is both popular and academic.

To find scholarly or academic articles in INNZ:

  • Go to the Advanced Search option in INNZ
  • Type in your search term(s) in the first search box
  •  In the second search box type in research
  • Select Target Audience from the drop down menu (see below)
  • Click on Search

innzresearch

 


How to read academic articles


Academic writing has a distinctive structure and form that needs to be understood when reading and writing for scholarly purposes.

Reading academic articles (Nelson Education)

How to read an academic article, (Becky Rosenberg)

How to read an academic article (Leonard Holmes)

How to read an academic article (Peter Klein)

Top

 


Copyright©The University of Auckland Library
Comments and suggestions to: Margaret Tibbles
 Last updated: 24 June, 2016