Statistics

Multidisciplinary

• Scopus
  Largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature: good Statistics coverage, often with full-text links.
• Web of Science
  Second largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature; also good Statistics coverage; full-text links.
• Google Scholar
  Searches various journal articles, books, preprints, abstracts, technical reports.
• University of Auckland Data Publishing and Discovery Service
  Institutional Figshare service enables publication and supports discovery of the University's research data in all formats and subjects.
• University of Auckland Research Repository
  An archive of the University's theses, dissertations and other research outputs.

Mathematical statistics

• MathSciNet
  "Mathematical Reviews" - Papers, articles, books in all areas of Maths, including Statistics, or; signed reviews; full-text links; MSC codes; unique author profiles; citation data.
• Zentralblatt MATH
  Papers, articles, books in all areas of Maths, including Statistics topics: full-text links; updated MSC codes; author profiles.

New Zealand

• Infoshare
  Time series from Statistics New Zealand, including census data; reasonably easy download of data.
• NZ.Stat
  Statistics New Zealand data that you can use to create customised tables from official statistics.
• New Zealand Community Profile
  Uses NZ Census of Population and Dwellings data to build information about the community, how it changes, and how it compares to other areas.

Top of page

Databases, other than the Key databases, used by the Department to find statistics-related material — especially in other disciplines.

Encyclopedias, handbooks

• Oxford Reference
  A collection of subject-specialist dictionaries and encyclopaedias covering all subject areas, particularly useful when applying your statistical knowledge to other fields.

News media

• ProQuest Research Library
  Multidisciplinary full-text database of academic journals, magazines and newspapers.
• Australia/New Zealand Reference Centre
  Academic journals, magazines, newspapers, newswires, reference books and company information from Australian, New Zealand and selected overseas magazines.
• findNZarticles
  An index of New Zealand periodicals and newspapers - also includes INNZ.

Additional

• Agricultural & Environmental Science Database
  Covers a range of environmental topics and provides abstracts from journals, conference proceedings, reports, books and government publications including the TOXLINE and Conference Papers Index.
• ArXiv.org
  E-print archive: may specify Statistics or search all.
• ASFA: Aquatic Sciences and Fisheries Abstracts
  Abstracts on science, technology and management of marine, brackish and freshwater environments.
• BIOSIS
  Covers biology, taxonomy, clinical and experimental medicine, biochemistry and biotechnology.
• China Academic Journals
  A full-text collection of Chinese language journals published by CNKI (China National Knowledge Infrastructure).
• CINAHL Plus
  Nursing and Allied Health journal articles and dissertations from 1937 to current.
• EMBASE
  Journal articles in all fields of medicine, biomedicine, health sciences and allied health, from 1980 to current.
• ERIC
  Excellent range of scholarly research relating to all areas of education.
• IEEE Xplore
  Full-text and bibliographic information on electrical engineering, electronics and computer science.
• Index New Zealand
  Journals, newspapers and magazines about New Zealand and the South Pacific - also included in findNZArticles.
• INSPEC
  Inspec is an abstract and index (A&I) database published by the Institution of Engineering and Technology (IET).
• MEDLINE (Ovid)
  The premiere biomedical database that uses controlled indexing (the Medline thesaurus).
• Newztext Plus
  Some full-text from of New Zealand's newspapers and news - longer date range, but limited coverage; not necessarily complete.
• OECD iLibrary
  Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Development (OECD) books, journal articles, papers and statistics, and the gateway to OECD's analysis and data.
• ProQuest Dissertations & Theses
  A comprehensive multidisciplinary collection of dissertations and theses from universities worldwide.
• APA PsycInfo
  Major international database for indexing psychology books, journal articles, book reviews and book chapters.
• ScienceDirect
  Titles from Elsevier and related publishers: good Statistics content; may download PDF of entire chapter/paper; permits multiple users to access the same item at same time; image searching; linking to Scopus citation data; "Advanced Search" is strongly recommended.
• SpringerLink
  All the new Springer-Verlag titles and most older titles, with selected items from related publishers: Extensive statistical content.
• Taylor & Francis Online
  Specialist publications of Taylor & Francis, Routledge, Psychology Press and Informa Healthcare.
• Te Puna Search
  Includes the National Union Catalogue, formerly the National Bibliographic Database, and bibliographic databases from other countries.
• UNdata
  United Nations Statistics Division (UNSD) of the United Nations Department of Economic and Social Affairs (DESA) data from 1970, including estimates and projections.
• Wiley Online Library
  Journal articles and e-books including several encyclopaedias and handbooks.
• WorldCat
  A vast catalogue of books, serials and electronic resources, containing records and holdings contributed by more than 11,000 OCLC member libraries worldwide.

Top of page

Full-text databases

• SpringerLink
  E-books and papers from Springer-Verlag and related publishers; Good Statistics coverage; "Advanced Search" is recommended.
• ScienceDirect
  E-books and papers from Elsevier and related publishers - strong Statistics coverage; "Advanced Search" is recommended; search images; link to Scopus citation data.
• Cambridge Core
  Academic and professional books published by Cambridge University Press on a wide range of subjects.
• Wiley Online Library
  Online journal articles and e-books (including some encyclopedias) - Good Statistics coverage.
• OECD iLibrary
  Books, reports, journal articles, papers, statistics and the gateway to OECD's analysis and data.
• China Academic Journals
  A full-text collection of Chinese language journals published by CNKI (China National Knowledge Infrastructure).
• Taylor & Francis Online
  All subject areas — includes content previously accessed through CRCnetBASE and its discipline-specific databases (STATSnetBASE, MATHSnetBASE).
• JSTOR
  Journals and e-books in most subjects, primarily archival coverage.
• SAGE Research Methods
  Research methods used in the social and behavioral sciences, plus methods commonly used in science, technology, medicine, and the humanities.
• Oxford Reference
  A collection of subject-specialist dictionaries and encyclopaedias covering all subject areas - particularly useful when applying your statistical knowledge to other fields.
• ArXiv.org
  E-print archive; You may specify Statistics or search all collections; You may also search by MSC or browse a "catch up" list of items.
• EBSCO eBook Collection
  Multidisciplinary, including the Sciences: a preferred interface for mathematical titles and publishers not in any of the above collections, e.g., World Scientific, Princeton University Press.
• ProQuest Ebook Central
  Multidisciplinary, including the Sciences; recent items are typically clearly reproduced, but the appearance of equations, special characters and images in older books may be problematic.

• Additional reference works

Additional e-book encyclopedias, handbooks, and dictionaries may be found in the Catalogue or via the full-text databases listed above.
For example:

• Airoldi, E., et al (eds.) (2015) Handbook of mixed membership models and their applications. 3rd ed. CRC.
• Brooks, S., et al (eds.) (2011) Handbook of Markov chain Monte Carlo. CRC.
• Chow, S.-C. (ed.) (2010) Encyclopedia of biopharmaceutical statistics. 3rd ed. CRC.
• Dodge, Y. (2008) The concise encyclopedia of statistics. Springer.
• Gass, S.I. & Fu, M.C. (2013) Encyclopedia of operations research and management science. 3rd ed. Springer.
• Gelfand, A.E., et al. (eds.) (2010) Handbook of spatial statistics. Taylor & Francis.
• Ghanem, R., Higdon, D., & Owhadi, H. (eds.) (2017) Handbook of uncertainty quantification. Springer.
• Glaz, J., & Koutras, M. (eds.) (2017) Handbook of scan statistics. Springer.
• Ho, R. (2014) Handbook of univariate and multivariate data analysis with IBM SPSS. CRC.
• Karian, Z.A. & Dudewicz, E.J. (eds) (2011) Handbook of fitting statistical distributions with R. CRC.
• Klein, J.P., et al. (eds) (2014) Handbook of survival analysis. CRC.
• Lee, C.-F. & Lee, J.C. (eds) (2015) Handbook of financial econometrics and statistics. Springer.
• Lovric, M. (ed.) (2011) International encyclopedia of statistical science. Springer.
• Meinert, C.L. (2012) Clinical trials dictionary: Terminology and usage recommendations. 2nd ed. Wiley.
• Pardalos, P.M., Du, D.-Z. & Graham, R.L. (eds.) (2013) Handbook of combinatorial optimization. Springer.
• Roeser, S., et al. (eds.) (2012) Handbook of risk theory: Epistemology, decision theory, ethics, and social implications of risk. Springer.
• Rutkowski, L., von Davier, M. & Rutkowski, D. (eds.) (2014) Handbook of international large-scale assessment: Background, technical issues, and methods of data analysis. CRC.
• Sammut, C., & Webb, G. (eds.) (2017) Encyclopedia of machine learning and data mining. Springer.
• Seber, G.A.F. (2008) A matrix handbook for statisticians. Wiley.
• Shekhar, S., Xiong, H., & Zhou, X. (eds) (2017) Encyclopedia of GIS. Springer.
• Upton, G. & Cook, I. (2014) A dictionary of statistics. 3rd ed., rev. OUP.
• Wiegand, T. & Moloney, K.A. (2014) Handbook of spatial point-pattern analysis in ecology. 3rd ed. CRC.

Top of page

For additional sources, especially marketing and economic data, see Statistics and numeric data.

Official statistics

• OECD iLibrary
  Data is downloadable as tables with related full-text PDFs including books, studies, reports, best practices.
• UNdata
  A collection of data published by the United Nations Statistics Division (UNSD) of the United Nations Department of Economic and Social Affairs (DESA).

New Zealand

• Infoshare
  Time Series data from Statistics New Zealand.
• NZ.Stat
  A Statistics New Zealand site enabling users to create customised tables from official statistics.
• New Zealand Community Profile
  Uses NZ Census of Population and Dwellings data to build information about the community, how it changes and how it compares to other areas. Results are presented as headline statistics, tables, charts, and short descriptions; may compare data over time and place; may export as a CSV file.

Citation data

• Scopus
  Largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature. Good Statistics coverage, often with full-text links.
• Web of Science
  Second largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature; also good Statistics coverage; full-text links; advanced refine options.
• MathSciNet
  May include citation links for statistics papers and books that are not included in Scopus or Web of Science citation-search results.
• SciVal
  A BiblioInformatics tool for retrieving key author metrics for publications indexed in Scopus - those metrics include total publications, citation counts, citations per document, field-weighted citation impact, and publications in top 10% worldwide. It is also a citation-based tool for benchmarking research performances at the individual, departmental and institutional levels.
• InCites
  A BiblioInformatics tool, using Web of Science data, for benchmarking or reporting on individual and institutional research performance including citation counts, normalised citation performance in discipline, and papers published.

The Department does not have an officially mandated referencing style. Check whether your tutor or supervisor has any specific requirements. Similarly, if submitting research for publication, many journals specify a particular style that must be used.

Referencing software makes it easier and faster to keep track of your references and to cite them in the correct style.

Support

• Referencing
  Access a range of tools and support material to assist your referencing work.

Examples

• Quick©ite
  Use this interactive tool to view examples of references.
  Covers a range of styles used at the University of Auckland.

BibTeX

• Most referencing software (including RefWorks, EndNote, and Mendeley) allow you to export all your existing references to BibTeX format.
• Many scientific databases have BibTeX as an output option. If not, upload those results to RefWorks (or other viable software), then export to BibTeX.