Psychology

Full list of library databases for Psychology.

These are useful resources for finding definitions of terminology and overviews of topics.

General psychology

Applied psychology

Clinical psychology

Counselling

Developmental psychology

Educational psychology

Experimental design

Forensic psychology

History of psychology

Organisational psychology

Perception

Psychological theories

Social psychology

Sports psychology

"A psychological test is essentially an objective and standardized measure of a sample of behaviour" (Anastasi, 1988, p.22).

Anastasi, A. (1988). Psychological testing (6th ed.). New York: MacMillan.

Finding tests and measures

The Library does not purchase copies of psychological tests. Most tests are copyrighted and can only be purchased from the publisher. Sometimes a test can be viewed because it has been published in a journal article or dissertation. Researchers and students may not photocopy and use proprietary tests from these sources. However, there are a number of resources where information about tests can be found.

Databases

  • PsycTESTS
    Provides access to psychological tests, measures, scales, surveys, and other assessments as well as descriptive information about the test and its development and administration. For further information click on this APA guide.
  • Mental Measurements Yearbook
    Produced by the Buros Institute at the University of Nebraska, provides users with a comprehensive guide to over 7,000 testing instruments.
  • PsycINFO
    Search the Tests & Measures field to find which tests have been used for specific topics. Type appended in the search box for this field to find the full text of tests. For more information view a video about finding tests and measures on PsycINFO.
  • Proquest Dissertations & Theses
    This is a useful source of tests. Search the Abstract field for the test name. If a test is used in the dissertation, it will usually be mentioned in the abstract. Then view the PDF of each of the results. The Method section in the Table of Contents will usually list Measures used in the dissertation. The full text of the test will sometimes be found in the appendix.

Books

  • Tests
    Tests is a bibliography of several thousand tests divided into three sections – Psychology, Education and Business. Each section is arranged alphabetically. Information includes the test title and author, the intended population, the purpose of the test, a brief description, the format, scoring method, cost and publisher. Tests does not include evaluative critiques or data on reliability, validity or norms (see Test Critiques for this information).
  • Tests in Print (TIP)
    TIP is a bibliography of every commercially available published test. Tests cover psychology, education and achievement. Entries include the test title, intended population, publication date, author and publisher. More detailed information is contained in the MMYs, of which TIP serves as a master index.
  • Test Critiques
    Test Critiques is a companion to Tests and contains supplemental information, including psychometric information such as reliability, validity and norm development. Each entry includes an Introduction, Practical Applications/Uses and Technical Aspects, followed by a critique. The text is written for both professionals and students. Tests are chosen for inclusion on the basis of their frequency of use within psychology, business and education. The text is updated annually.

Websites

School of Psychology Test Library

The School of Psychology Test Library is located on Level 6, School of Psychology (City Campus). Limited resources are available at the Tāmaki Innovation Campus. The Library holds a variety of psychometric tests. Access to the Library is limited to staff and students of the School of Psychology. Students who are conducting research under the supervision of a staff member of the School may borrow psychometric tests. Students currently engaged in Clinical Placements or Internships as part of their training within the School of Psychology may access the Library.

While test manuals and test forms may be borrowed, it is the expectation of the School that any consumables (e.g., test booklets) are paid through research grants or through monies allocated to teaching purposes for a particular paper.

To access the City Campus Test Library contact  the Administrative Assistant and for the Tāmaki Innovation Campus contact the Administrator Tāmaki Innovation Campus

Plan your search strategy

  • Write your topic as a sentence or question. For example, Self-esteem in adolescents with eating disorders.
  • Identify the main concepts in your research question. For example, Self-esteem, adolescents, eating disorders.
  • Brainstorm synonyms and related terms for the main concepts.
  • Construct a concept map or table as below:
    Concept 1 Concept 2 Concept 3
    self-esteem adolescents eating disorders
    self-worth juveniles compulsive eating
    self-acceptance teenagers anorexia nervosa
    self-regard young adults bulimia
    self-respect youth binge eating
  • Compose your search by selecting a word from each column.
  • Try searching various combinations of the keywords/synonyms, e.g.,
    self esteem, teenagers, anorexia nervosa
    self worth, adolescents, bulimia
    self-respect, adolescents, anorexia nervosa
  • In some databases combine your different concepts using the Boolean operator AND and combine your synonyms using the Boolean operator OR, e.g.,
    (self-esteem OR self-worth OR self-regard OR self-respect) AND (adolescents OR juveniles OR teenagers OR youth) AND (eating disorders OR compulsive eating OR anorexia nervosa OR bulimia OR binge eating)
  • In some databases truncation symbols (*, ?, $) and wildcards can also be used in combination with Boolean operators to find more results, e.g.,
    self-esteem OR self-worth OR self-regard OR self-respect) AND (adolescen* OR juvenile* OR teen* OR youth) AND (eating disorder* OR compulsive eating OR anorexia nervosa OR bulimia OR binge eating)

Where to search?

Building on your research

Use a literature-searching strategy that builds on information that you already have. Start with a book or article and try some of the following:

  • Look at the reference list for more material.
  • Take note of the words used in the text of your book or article. They may provide useful new terms to use, which you can add to your concept map, when searching for more literature.
  • Find your book or article in the library catalogue or a database. Use the subject headings (sometimes referred to as descriptors or keywords) in the catalogue or database record to find similar material.
  • Look up other works by the author(s).
  • Search for citations to your book or article on Google Scholar, Scopus or Web of Science.

Literature review

You may be asked to write a literature review as part of an assignment or thesis. Here are some tips:

The School of Psychology recommend that students use the American Psychological Association APA 6th style to reference resources. The print only Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association is the main resource on how to reference in this style.

APA 6th web guides

Support

  • Referencing
    Access a range of tools and support material to assist your referencing work.

Examples

  • Quick©ite
    Use this interactive tool to view examples of references.
    Covers a range of styles used at the University of Auckland.

Last updated : 12 December 2017
Creative Commons License CC BY 4.0 Tautohu Matatiki 4.0 ā-Ao