Physics

Popular databases of published research applicable to several of the Physics Department's research groups.
Many of these databases are indexes, which may link to an indexed item's full text.

Additional

Additional e-book encyclopedias, handbooks, and dictionaries may be found in the Catalogue, e.g.,

Or in the E-book databases, especially SpringerLink.

LaTeX | Videos | Mathematical or general | Astrophysics and astronomy | Geophysics and climate physics | High-energy physics | Imaging, spectroscopy and metrology

The following resources include preprint servers, bibliographic indexes, data sources, visualisation tools, and other resources.

LaTeX

These resources are directly from the DSP hub and used in the Latex workshops.

Videos

Mathematical or general

Top of page

Astrophysics and astronomy

Top of page

Geophysics and climate physics

Top of page

High-energy physics

Top of page

Imaging, spectroscopy and metrology

Top of page

Research consultations

The Physics Subject Librarian is available for individual research consultations to help with in-depth information queries and use of Library resources.


Doing a literature search

Your time is important. Effective literature searching is efficient:

  1. The topic, context, and treatment
          Establish the problem statement or research question
          Know the background
          Perhaps use review articles
          Always focus on your intended treatment
  2. The search itself
          Types of databases
          Adapting your search to the database
          What to do when good databases go bad...
  3. Evaluating your search results
          Given criteria to establish the relevance and quality.

For advanced projects, finding relevant, subsequent citations of your core research material is advisable.
Citation searching sometimes discovers unexpected applications.


Finding the material

A journal article, conference paper, or book chapter:

  1. Search for the item's title in Articles and more.
  2. Failing that, search the Catalogue for the name of its journal or book.
  3. Check we have what you need, i.e., correct author, issue, etc.
  4. If it is still unavailable, ask for help or request an Interlibrary loan.

A book:

  1. Search for the book's title in the Catalogue.
  2. Failing that, search for book's title in Articles and more.
    (Which discovers uncatalogued, but available, e-books)
  3. Check we have what you need, i.e., correct editor, edition, etc.
  4. If it is still unavailable, ask for help or request an Interlibrary Loan.

Current awareness services

Create a relevant search in a suitable database, then convert it to an Alert to be automatically advised whenever later items are added to the database that also match your search criteria. You can be alerted to:

  • New items that match a previous database search, including articles in press.
  • New items by a particular author.
  • New citations (references made) to particular works, or even all works, by a particular author.
  • Recent news of professional interest, including forthcoming events or publications.

Rich sources of news items, upcoming events, and freshly published research include:

If you have difficulty going directly from a publisher's website or email alert to a recent journal issue, please check that title in the Catalogue or ask for help.

Support

Referencing
Access a range of tools and support material to assist your referencing work.

Examples

Quick©ite
Use this interactive tool to view examples of references. Covers a range of styles used at the University of Auckland.

BibTeX

Most referencing software (including RefWorks, EndNote, and Mendeley) allow you to export all your existing references to BibTeX format.
Many scientific databases have BibTeX as an output option — If not, upload those results to Refworks (or other viable software), then export to BibTeX.


Last updated : 5 December 2017
Creative Commons License CC BY 4.0 Tautohu Matatiki 4.0 ā-Ao