Mathematics

Additional

Additional e-book encyclopedias, handbooks, and dictionaries may be found in the Catalogue or via the full-text databases listed above.
For example:

Research consultations

The Mathematics Subject Librarian is available for individual research consultations to help with in-depth information queries and use of Library resources.


Literature searching

Finding relevant, subsequent citations of your core research sources is an essential skill for mathematical research projects at postgraduate level or above.

Traditional literature searching may also be desirable:

  1. The topic, context, and treatment
          Establish the problem statement or research question
          Know the background
          Perhaps use review articles
          Always focus on your intended treatment.
  2. The search itself
          Types of databases
          Adapting your search to the database
          Including special tools, e.g., MSC codes, unique author profiles,
          What to do when good databases go bad...
  3. Evaluating your search results
          Given criteria to establish the relevance and quality.

Finding the material

A journal article, conference paper, or book chapter:

  1. Search for the item's title in Articles and more
  2. Failing that, search the Catalogue for the name of its journal or book
  3. Check we have what you need, i.e., correct author, issue, etc
  4. If it is still unavailable, ask for help or request an Interlibrary Loan.

A book:

  1. Search for the book's title in the Catalogue
  2. Failing that, search for book's title in Articles and more
    (Which discovers uncatalogued, but available, e-books)
  3. Check we have what you need, i.e., correct editor, edition, etc
  4. If it is still unavailable, ask for help or request an Interlibrary Loan.

Current awareness services

For some databases, you can convert a search into an Alert. This is very useful for specific long-term projects or in your main research area. You will be emailed when new items are added to that database that match your search criteria, and may include:

  • New items that match an existing search
  • New works by a particular author
  • New citations (references made) to particular works, or even all works, by a particular author.

The options depend upon the specific database concerned. The key mathematical databases (MathSciNet, Zentralblatt, and MathEduc) do not permit email Alerts, but Scopus and Web of Science do; both are recommended.

News items, upcoming events, etc, may also be found on Society websites, e.g., AMS News & Events; MAA News & Features; EMS news.

Support

  • Referencing
    Access a range of tools and support material to assist your referencing work.

Examples

  • Quick©ite
    Use this interactive tool to view examples of references.
    Covers a range of styles used at the University of Auckland.

BibTeX

Most referencing software (including RefWorks, EndNote, and Mendeley) allow you to export all your existing references to BibTeX format.
Many scientific databases have BibTeX as an output option — If not, upload those results to RefWorks (or other viable software), then export in BibTeX format.


Last updated : 27 February 2017
Creative Commons License CC BY 4.0 Tautohu Matatiki 4.0 ā-Ao