Marine Science

Database search tips

Recommended

  • Scopus
    Scopus covers all life, health and physical sciences (1960+) with most records linked to full text, citation data (1996+) and hyperlinked references
  • ASFA: Aquatic Sciences and Fisheries Abstracts
    The science, technology and management of marine, brackish and freshwater environments (1971+)
  • BIOSIS
    Includes biology, clinical and experimental medicine, earth sciences, biochemistry, biotechnology, horticulture, and taxonomy, in two collections (archives 1945-68) and BIOSIS Previews (1969+) which includes books, meetings and patents. To pre-select subject categories, use the widget below to search the collections either separately or together:

Directories and datasets | Encyclopedias and treatises | E-books

Directories, datasets and allied resources

Leigh Marine Laboratory research

Generic directories (alphabetical order)

Top of page

Generic databases and datasets (alphabetical order)

Key taxonomy journals

Top of page

Encyclopedias and treatises

Animal behaviour and welfare

Bioengineering and biostatistics

Environmental science

General life sciences

Marine & freshwater

Microbiology

Top of page

E-books

Register for Flexible Service

The Library's Flexible Service supports Marine Science postgraduate students enrolled with the University of Auckland but based outside the Auckland region. Use this service to have printed research items from the University of Auckland Library delivered to you.

NIWA Joint Graduate School in Coastal and Marine Science

The Marine Science guide supports the research needs of the Joint Graduate School in Coastal and Marine Science (est. 2011). Students of the Joint Graduate School have access to:

  • Leigh Marine Laboratory Library
    This houses a specialist collection of print texts and copies of most theses written by Marine Science students since the Lab was established. The print collection is for exclusive use by Marine Science staff and students. All print book titles (but not the print theses) are duplicated in the science collections at the City Campus General Library (5 Alfred St.)
  • NIWA library resources
    In some cases Joint Graduate School students also have access to the NIWA library.

Cawthron Institute Students

Scientists and post-graduate students from the Cawthron Institute at Nelson have a history of collaborative research with the University of Auckland. The main focus of research at Cawthron includes the protection and restoration of coastal and freshwater ecosystems, and aquaculture development.

  • The Marine Science Subject Librarian offers one-to-one consultations for Cawthron students who visit Auckland for doctoral induction day (or other reasons). Students are strongly encouraged to contact the Subject Librarian before their scheduled doctoral induction day, so as to arrange a suitable meeting time and allow for this in their travel arrangements.

Background

Marine Science research at the University is conducted under the auspices of the Institute of Marine Science which includes the Leigh Marine Laboratory (established 1962) as well as the Goat Island Marine Discovery Centre (opened June 2011).
Staff and students from several schools and departments collaborate with Marine Science research, including the School of Biological Sciences, the School of Chemical Sciences, the School of Environment, the Department of Statistics and the Department of Physics.

New Zealand Marine Science publications | Writing guidelines | Current awareness services

New Zealand Marine Science publications

New Zealand marine biologists publish widely in high profile international journals and also in lesser-known local titles, some of which are published by the Royal Society of New Zealand (RSNZ) and the Crown Research Institutes or CRIs (known as the Department of Scientific and Industrial Research [DSIR] before 1992). These sometimes contain articles relevant to regional conservation and ecological issues and applied sciences in fields such as aquaculture and fisheries management. The RSNZ has publications from 1869 and promotes scientific research via the Marsden Fund (established 1994) and the Rutherford Foundation (established 2008).

The following New Zealand journals either do or may feature marine science content. Most of these titles are indexed by Scopus database.

RSNZ journals are indexed in New Zealand Science, as is scientific material sourced from Crown Research Institutes, which include:

New Zealand Science
Includes some New Zealand science journals not indexed by international databases. Some of these have low journal impact factors, a feature of many specialist titles. The New Zealand Science interface enables you to simultaneously search (or exclude) other databases covering more popular literature (such as Newzindex, the Newspaper Index and Index New Zealand), as well as the Forest Bibliography.

Index New Zealand
Indexes newspapers, magazines and journals including popular science titles relating to New Zealand science topics and also contains New Zealand Science as well as non-science New Zealand datasets.

  • Index New Zealand is compatible with the bibliographic software package EndNote, and requires the use of an import filter (rather than the direct export option used by most databases).

Bibliometrics

Top of page

Writing guidelines

Top of page

Current awareness alert services

Current awareness alert services are offered by most large science databases. Alerts enable you to:

  • Set pre-determined topic searches.
  • Be notified about new publications by certain authors.
  • Be notified when publications are cited.

Unlike general searching, you need to be logged into a database to save alerts, or access previously-saved alerts.

  • Setting alerts in Scopus is highly recommended as Scopus harvests data and citations from many other databases. Consult the Scopus tutorials for information on registering and saving alerts. If you have an existing registration for ScienceDirect, use that for Scopus as well.
  • Setting alerts in Ovid interface databases (e.g., Biological Abstracts, FSTA (Food Science and Technology Abstracts), PsycINFO, and MEDLINE) is a little more involved but is the same procedure for each, and they use a shared login.

Top of page

Print collections

There is a Marine Science print collection at the library of the Leigh Marine Laboratory (located next to the interpretive Centre, and swipe-card accessed). This collection is also duplicated at the City Campus in the General Library. Both collections are catalogued in Dewey Decimal sequence. Most Marine Science material at the General Library is on Level M (Dewey 500-600s), but there is also material (primarily related to conservation and national parks, or the history of marine science) on Level 1 (Dewey 300s). Only staff or students of Marine Science are able to access the collections at Leigh. Note that not all Marine Science titles at the City Campus will also be at Leigh, as the collection is larger.
Dewey categories for Life Sciences are:

  • 570 = Life sciences and biology
  • 580 = Botany and plant science
  • 590 = Zoology
  • 639 = Aquaculture

Other Marine Science-related titles may be found in the Engineering collections (primarily topics on marine engineering science). These books will be catalogued under the Library of Congress system.

Top of page

APA

APA is the preferred default style for the School of Biological Sciences and for Marine Sciences.

Serial title abbreviations

Support

  • Referencing
    Access a range of tools and support material to assist your referencing work.

Examples

  • Quick©ite
    Use this interactive tool to view examples of references.
    Covers a range of styles used at the University of Auckland.

  • Names of taxa appearing within references
    Taxonomic names are normally rendered in italics.
    • When they appear in a reference and the surrounding text is in italics (for example, in a book or unpublished thesis title), enter the taxonomic name in regular font to distinguish it from the surrounding text.
    • Figure captions are sometimes rendered in italics. In this case enter a taxonomic name within the caption in regular font.

Last updated : 19 July 2018
Creative Commons License CC BY 4.0 Tautohu Matatiki 4.0 ā-Ao