Forensic Science

General

New Zealand and Australia

Coronial Services of New Zealand

Electronic publications

Inquests in New Zealand - Media sources

  • New Zealand Herald
    Try a search with these keywords: Zealand Coroners Inquest
  • Index New Zealand
    Allows a search of the articles within New Zealand magazines and newspapers. The database is not full-text. Try a truncated search for these keywords: coroner? inquest? These search terms will look for coroner or coroners and inquest or inquests.
  • Newztext Plus
    Allows for full-text search of several New Zealand newspapers.

Coroner's reports

  • Archives New Zealand
    Holds the reports from about 1840 to 1992. However, their Coroner's Report page states that access to Coroner's Inquest reports (files) is restricted for 50 years from the date of death. Access permission can be obtained from Coronial Services of the Ministry of Justice.

Australian resources

Legislation (New Zealand)

Top of page

Plan your search strategy

  • Write your topic as a sentence or question, e.g.,
    Chemical enhancement of footwear impressions in blood.
  • Identify the main concepts in your research question, e.g.,
    chemical enhancement, footwear impressions, blood.
  • Brainstorm synonyms and related terms for the main concepts.
  • Construct a concept map or table as below:
    Concept 1 Concept 2 Concept 3
    chemical enhancement footwear impression blood
    ninhydrin shoe print blood stain
    amido black footmark  
    leuco crystal violet footwear  
    luminol foot impression  
  • Compose your search by selecting a word from each column.
  • Try searching various combinations of the keywords/synonyms, e.g.,
    chemical enhancement, footwear, blood
    leuco crystal violet, footmark, blood stain
    luminol, footwear impression, blood
  • In some databases combine your different concepts using the Boolean operator AND, combine your synonyms using the Boolean operator OR, and exclude terms using the Boolean operator NOT or AND NOT, e.g.,
    (chemical enhancement OR leuco crystal violet OR luminol OR ninhydrin OR amido black) AND (footwear OR footmark OR shoe print OR footwear impression) AND (blood OR blood stain) AND NOT fabric.
  • In some databases truncation symbols (*, ?, $) and wildcards can also be used in combination with Boolean operators to find more results, and speechmarks used to search phrases e.g.,
    ("chemical enhancement*" OR "leuco crystal violet" OR luminol OR ninhydrin OR "amido black") AND (footwear OR footmark* OR "shoe print*" OR "footwear impression*") AND (blood* OR "blood stain*") AND NOT fabric.

Note that you will need to check which specific symbols are used in each database you search. The use of Boolean operators also varies.

  • Google Scholar does not use the Boolean operator AND NOT or NOT, but a minus sign (e.g., to exclude the word fabric you would write -fabric).

Where to search?

  • The Catalogue finds books, encyclopedias, journal titles, theses, multimedia and images.
  • Encyclopedias and books are a good starting point if you are unfamiliar with your topic.
  • Use Articles and more, Google Scholar or Databases to search for articles.
  • OpenDOAR is a good source of 'grey literature'.

Building on your research

Use a literature-searching strategy that builds on information that you already have. Start with a book or article and try some of the following:

  • Look at the reference list for more material.
  • Take note of the words used in the text of your book or article. They may provide useful new search terms to use.
  • Find your book or article in the Catalogue or a database. Use the subject headings (sometimes referred to as descriptors or keywords) in the Catalogue or database record to find similar material.
  • Look up other works by the author(s).
  • Search for citations to your book or article on Google Scholar, Scopus or Web of Science.

Literature review

You may be asked to write a literature review. Here are some tips:

Top of page

APA 6th guides

Law Styles

Support

  • Referencing
    Access a range of tools and support material to assist your referencing work.

Examples

  • Quick©ite
    Use this interactive tool to view examples of references.
    Covers a range of styles used at the University of Auckland.

Last updated : 20 July 2018
Creative Commons License CC BY 4.0 Tautohu Matatiki 4.0 ā-Ao