Food Science

Full list of library databases for Food Science.

Food standards

  • Food Standards Code
    A collection of individual food standards developed by Food Standards Australia New Zealand (formerly ANZFA). As food standards are given legal effect through Australian and New Zealand laws, it is important to read the Food Standards Code in conjunction with relevant food legislation.
  • Food Standards Australia New Zealand database NUTTAB 2010 online searchable database

General resources

  • Food composition database
    Designed to assist food manufacturers in estimating nutritional information panels (NIPs) for their products, the NZFCD-NIP database presents seven core nutrients for more than 2,700 foods and ingredients. Registration and login required.
  • Google calculator function
    Solves math problems involving basic arithmetic, more complicated math, units of measure and conversions, and physical constants.
  • Cereal Chemistry
    Articles from the journal Cereal Chemistry.
  • US Code of Federal Regulations
    Search across the general and permanent rules published in the Federal Register by the Executive departments and agencies of the Federal Government.

Plan your search strategy

  • Analyse your research question. Consider rewriting your topic into a sentence or question to make it more manageable.
  • Identify the words that convey the main ideas or concepts in your research question.
  • Think of synonyms and related terms for the main concepts. Try searching various combinations of the keywords/synonyms.

Where to search?

Building on your research

Use a literature-searching strategy that builds on information that you already have. Start with a book or article relevant to your research topic and try some of the following:

  • Look at the reference list for more material on your topic.
  • Take note of the words used in the text of your book or article. They may provide useful new terms to use when searching for more literature.
  • Find your book or article in the Catalogue or a database. Use the subject headings (sometimes referred to as descriptors or keywords) in the Catalogue or database record to find similar material.
  • Look up other works by the author(s) to check if they have written more on your topic.
  • Search for citations to your book or article on Google Scholar or another database.

Finding full text

If the full text is not immediately available, use one of the following:

If it is still not accessible, request an Interlibrary Loan.

Harvard referencing style

Support

  • Referencing
    Access a range of tools and support material to assist your referencing work.

Examples

  • Quick©ite
    Use this interactive tool to view examples of references.
    Covers a range of styles used at the University of Auckland.

Last updated : 20 March 2019
Creative Commons License CC BY 4.0 Tautohu Matatiki 4.0 ā-Ao