Earth Sciences, Geology and Geophysics


  • GeoRef
    Coverage of international research literature in geology and the geo-sciences including journals, books, maps, reports, all USGS publications and North American masters and doctoral theses.
  • Scopus
    The largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature; covers Sciences, Engineering and much more.
  • Web of Science
    Indexes journals, conference proceedings and books/chapters in the Sciences, Engineering, Medicine, Social Sciences and more.
    Useful for geobiology, palaeobiology, palaeontology and stratigraphy; includes coverage of Biological Abstracts. To pre-select subject categories, use the widget below to search the collections either separately or together:




New Zealand

  • GeoDataHub
    Campus access to geosciences resources such as GNS geological maps and KiwImage satellite imagery.
  • A comprehensive set of printed geological maps and resources with related themes (magnetic, gravity, tectonic and geophysical), together with the historic aerial photography archive for Northland and Auckland, is available in the Map Room.
  • Geological Map of New Zealand (QMAP), 1:250,000 - available in a variety of formats and resolutions, produced by GNS Science:
  • GNS Science
    Crown Research Institute and leading resource for Earth Science, Energy and Resources, Natural Hazards and Environment and Materials information.
  • Landcare Research: Resources
    • LRIS Portal
      Online GIS viewer for environmental data including rock and soil layers.
    • S-map Online 
      National soils database.
  • Online Exploration Database
    A resource from the Ministry of Economic Development, New Zealand Petroleum & Minerals.

Top of page


  • ASTER geoscience map of Australia
    Generated from satellite ASTER (Advanced Spaceborne Thermal Emission and Reflection Radiometer, 2012) data and sensitive to rock forming minerals. Scale: continent (1:2,500,000) down to mineral prospect (1:50,000).
  • Geoscience Australia
    Maps, data, GIS files and spatial metadata for AustralIan geoscience, including earth monitoring, observation and imagery, energy, greenhouse gas storage, groundwater, hazards (fires and earthquakes), marine and coastal, minerals and topogragraphic information.
  • Geoscience Portal
    Earth science information from State, Territory and Australian Government geoscience agencies compiled by the Australia Chief Government Geologists Committee.
  • GOCE (Gravity field and steady-state Ocean Circulation Explorer)
    Part of the European Space Agency's Earth Explorer satellite programme.
  • One Geology
    Dynamic digital geological map data for the world; basic map data is available online (WMS), detailed map data and information is available to be downloaded for use in a GIS.
  • US Geological Survey
  • Renewable Resource Data Centre
    National Renewable Energy Laboratory, US Government.
    Data, maps and tools for renewable energy sources, compiled by the US National Renewable Energy Laboratory.

Top of page

Theses recognised for excellence

Examples of theses acknowledged for excellence at School, Faculty and University level.

Science Faculty Dean's List (PhD theses)

School of Environmental Science Research Awards

Referencing for Geology and Earth Sciences

Specific journal styles may be recommended, such as the style used by Economic geology. Please consult your lecturer or department about which style to use, and your Subject Librarian for more details on a particular style.


  • Referencing
    Access a range of tools and support material to assist your referencing work.


  • Quick©ite
    Use this interactive tool to view examples of references.
    Covers a range of styles used at the University of Auckland.

Last updated : 19 December 2017
Creative Commons License CC BY 4.0 Tautohu Matatiki 4.0 ā-Ao