Pharmacy and Pharmacology

NZ Formulary | NZ Formulary for Children | MedSafe Medicine Data Sheets | NZ Pharmaceutical Schedule | NZ Universal List of Medicines | MIMS

New Zealand Formulary

Based on the latest version of the British National Formulary, adapted for New Zealand use.

Online: NZ Formulary
  • Click Connect, then Launch NZF
  • Browse for drugs via the broad Systems links (Gastro-intestinal System, Cardiovascular System)
    OR
  • Type a drug name (generic or trade) in the search box
  • The Monographs provide the best details; click the link, details include: indications; adverse effects; dose, pregnancy/breastfeeding; subsidy; legal classification; preparations

Top of page

New Zealand Formulary for Children

Complements NZ Formulary, designed to help New Zealand healthcare professionals select safe, effective medicines for children.

Online: NZ Formulary for Children
  • Click Connect > Accept the Terms & Conditions (if prompted)
  • Browse for drugs via the broad Systems links (Gastro-intestinal System, Cardiovascular System)
    OR
  • Type a drug name (generic or trade) in the search box
  • The Monographs provide the best details - including: indications; adverse effects; dose, pregnancy/breastfeeding; subsidy; legal classification; preparations

Top of page

MedSafe Medicine Data Sheets

MedSafe (NZ Medicines and Medical Devices Safety Authority) investigates and approves drugs for use in NZ. Manufacturers provide a detailed Data Sheet for each approved drug.

Online: MedSafe
  • Click I want to ... find data sheets/consumer medicine information (at right)
    • Follow the instructions to search by ingredient (generic name), trade name or company, click Search
  • Type an ingredient name: results show all trade names of products in NZ containing that ingredient; click one to reach its data sheet
  • Type a trade name: results show only products in NZ with that trade name; click one to reach its data sheet
  • Details include: Indications; Dosage; WAarnings and Precautions. May include details of excipients (inactive ingredients) and a structure diagram/chemical formula
  • If the drug is not available in New Zealand - "No Medicines were found ..."
  • Datasheet preparation date or last revision date is given at end

Top of page

New Zealand Pharmaceutical Schedule

Pharmac (New Zealand's Pharmaceutical Management Agency) decides whether a drug available in New Zealand will receive a full, partial or no subsidy. The Schedule lists only those drugs with a full or partial subsidy.

Online: Pharmac Schedule
Print: QV738 N532p
  • At the landing page, click link to Pharmaceutical Schedule
  • Either browse for broad classes of drugs using the headings under Section B - Community Pharmaceuticals
    OR
  • Type a drug name (generic or trade) in the search box, click Search
  • Type a generic name: shows all NZ formulations containing that ingredient
  • Type a trade name: shows NZ formulations with that trade name
  • Details include: Dosage forms/strengths; $NZ subsidy (with full price in brackets if only partially subsidised); number of doses supplied at that price (e.g., 30 = 30 tablets / capsules / other formulations); a tick next to drug name indicates full subsidy (no tick indicates partial subsidy - check difference between $NZ subsidised and full price)
  • A link to a PDF of the Schedule is at the right
  • Look up a drug (generic or trade/brand name) in the index
  • Details are the same as online

Top of page

New Zealand Universal List of Medicines

Covers all medicines approved in New Zealand, plus products listed in PHARMAC's Pharmaceutical Schedule which fall outside this category and medicines imported under Section 29 of the Medicines Act.

Online: NZ Universal List of Medicines
  • Type a drug name (generic or trade) in the search box (see the Search Tips at left)
  • Details include: Is medicine approved in NZ; restrictions and conditions; subsidy details

Top of page

MIMS

Lists drugs available in New Zealand.

Online: MIMS Gateway
Print: QV748 N532
  • Click Connect; enter drug name (generic or trade) in the search box
  • Type a generic name: all NZ-available products containing the generic ingredient are listed; click a product name to see brief details (indications, dosage, adverse reactions) and some NZ specific details (available dosage forms, NZ$ costs, Pharmac subsidy and restrictions)
  • Type a trade name: only products with that trade name are listed; click a product name to see details as above
  • Under Drug Interactions, click View more... for full interaction details
  • Links to other information sources are given, including: MedSafe Data Sheets; NZ Formulary and NZ Formulary for Children information on the generic ingredient; patient information leaflets
  • Also includes Company Index (details on local drug companies); Clinical Calculators
  • If drug is not available in New Zealand, there is no MIMS entry
  • Look up a drug (generic or trade/proprietary name) in the index
  • See How to use MIMS section in the book, some information in the print version differs from that in MIMS Gateway
  • Preliminary pages provide guidelines on a range of topics, e.g., Drugs in Sport, Travel Precautions

Top of page

Micromedex | Martindale | AHFS (American Hospital Formulary Service) | Australian Medicines Handbook | Australian Pharmaceutical Formulary and Handbook | BNF (British National Formulary) | RxList | DrugBank

Micromedex

Comprehensive international drug information; includes Drugdex (drug information) and Poisindex (toxicology).

Online: Micromedex
  • Click Connect: type a drug name (generic or trade) in the search box
  • Generic name: goes to the Quick Answers tab, click In-Depth Answers for complete information. Or, if the drug has different formulations (e.g., oral/intravenous; potassium/sodium salt) first goes to a page with links to each formulation, click the one of interest to go to the Quick Answers/In-Depth Answers tabs
  • Trade name: gives a trade name list with links to generic names; click a generic name to go to the Quick Answers/In-Depth Answers tabs
  • Left-hand menu in each tab includes:
    • Links to topics e.g.: Dosing/Administration; Medication Safety; Pharmacokinetics
    • An extensive References section
  • Toxicology/toxicity information is also available in Micromedex, see Toxicology under the Drug Properties tab in this Guide

Top of page

Martindale: The Complete Drug Reference

Comprehensive international drug information.

Online (1): Martindale via OvidSP (39th edition)
Online (2): Martindale via BMJ Best Practice (39th edition)
Print: QV738 M384 2014 (38th edition)
  • Click the Full text available at OVID e-Books link
  • Type a drug name (generic or trade) in the search box, click Current Book button
  • Result list shows occurrences of that drug name in Martindale
  • Click the Ovid Full Text link (at right) for any result showing the drug name you typed
  • Either: brief details appear, showing the generic name (under Active Ingredients); click the arrow and page icon for full details
  • Or: you may be taken straight to the full details
  • Details include: Adverse effects; absorption and fate; uses and administration; and selected references
  • Molecular structure diagram often included
  • Preparations section lists trade names for the drug in various countries
  • Click Connect
  • Clilck Drugs > Search Martindale (this opens Martindale via the Medicines Complete service on BMJ Best Practice)
  • Click Drugs & Ancillary Substances
  • Browse by broad classes of drug
    OR
  • Type a drug name (generic or trade) in the search box
  • A list of generic names appears, click the one you want
  • Same details as in the OvidSP version (see description at left)
  • Look up a drug (generic, trade, or broad drug class name) in the General Index (Volume B)
  • Generic name: the General Index gives the page/column number in Volume A where full details appear
  • Trade name: the General Index gives a page/column number in Volume B's Preparations index where you find the generic name and the page/column number in Volume A where full details appear
  • Details are the same as online

Top of page

AHFS Drug Information (American Hospital Formulary Service)

Comprehensive information on drugs available in the USA

Online: AHFS
Print: QV740 A285 SHORT LOAN
  • Click Full text available at MedicinesComplete link
  • Type a drug name (generic or trade) in the search box
  • Generic name: results show the best generic name match first, click a link for full details
  • Trade name: the first use of that name in the generic document is highlighted, scroll up to the top of the document
  • Details include: Uses; dosage and administration; cautions; drug interactions; pharmacology
  • Look up a drug (generic or trade name) in the index
  • Details are the same as online

Top of page

Australian Medicines Handbook

Independent source of Australian drug information.

Online: ClinicalKey
Print: QV738 A938

Australian Medicines Handbook is the source of drug information (Drug Monographs) in ClinicalKey.

  • Click Connect (goes to ClinicalKey)
  • Click link to Browse - Drug Monographs (under the search box)
  • Browse alphabetically OR Type a generic drug name in the search box (do not use trade names)
  • Click the title of the appropriate drug
  • Links to any relevant Drug Monographs will display

 

  • Use the most recent issue (new issue every year) 
  • Look up drug name (generic or trade/proprietary) in the index
  • One or more page numbers are given
  • Details include: Mode of action; indications and contraindications; adverse effects; dosage; formulations available

Top of page

Australian Pharmaceutical Formulary and Handbook

From the Pharmaceutical Society of Australia.

Print: QV740 P536 2015
  • Look up a drug name (generic or trade/proprietary) in the index
  • One or more page numbers are given; lead to a clinical monograph
  • Details include: Advisory labels; dosage ranges; pharmacokinetics data

Top of page

British National Formulary (BNF)

Lists drugs available in the United Kingdom.

Online: BNF
Print: QV740 B862
  • Click Full text available at: MedicinesComplete
  • Type a drug name (generic or trade) in the Search box (at top)
  • Results are listed with best matches first - click the one you want
  • OR: at the first screen click the Drugs button to browse an alphabetical list
  • Details include: Indications; cautions; contra-indications; side effects; dose; availability and costs for trade names in the United Kingdom
  • Other buttons on the first page link to additional useful resources
  • Look up a drug name (generic or trade) in the index
  • Details are the same as online (see the How to use... section at front)
  • See Contents for: Prescribing guidance topics and other useful topics

Top of page

RxList

The Internet Drug Index.

Online: RxList
  • Click the Drugs A-Z link (at top) to browse for a drug name
    OR
  • Click the search icon (magnifying glass) at top right to open a search box
  • Type in a drug name (generic or trade)
  • Generic name: gives a list of trade names for formulations containing that generic ingredient
  • Trade name: gives a listing only for that version of the drug
  • Click on link(s) for the trade name(s) of interest
  • Details include: Drug description; indications; dosage and administration; side effects; mode of action; pharmacodynamics

Top of page

DrugBank

Chemical, pharmacological, pharmaceutic, sequence, structure and pathway information.

Online: DrugBank
  • Type a drug name in the search box; ensure the Drugs button under the box is highlighted, <enter>
  • Scroll down to see detailed information in sections: Identification (e.g., Chemical structure and formula, product images, product names); Pharmacology (e.g., pharmacodynamics, mechanism of action, absorption, elimination); Interactions; Pharmacoeconomics; Targets

Top of page

Books | Pharmacopoeias

Books

Selected core texts: Pharmacy | Pharmacology | Additional

Pharmacy
  • Aulton & Taylor (eds). Aulton’s pharmaceutics; the design... 5th ed. 2018
    QV785 A924 2018
  • Dipiro. Pharmacotherapy: a pathophysiologic approach. 10th ed. 2017
    WB330 D596 2017
  • Florence & Attwood. Physicochemical principles of pharmacy. 6th ed. 2016
    Online
  • Rees, Smith & Watson (eds). Pharmaceutical practice. 5th ed. 2014
    QV778 W768 2014
  • Sinko (ed). Martin’s physical pharmacy and pharmaceutical sciences... 7th ed. 2017
    QV744 M379 2017
  • Wells (ed). Pharmacotherapy handbook. 10th ed. 2017
    WB39 W453 2017
Medicines Complete
Online database of 9 well-known pharmacy books (plus some others to which Philson does NOT subscribe).
Search all 9 books together or individually.
  • Click Connect to get to Medicines Complete, then:
  • Type search words in the box, select All Publications OR the specific book you want
  • OR click on the icon for the specific book you want and search/browse its contents
  • Each book can also be searched for and accessed via the Catalogue
Pharmacology
Additional
  • Other e-book collections
  • Many books and e-books are listed under other tabs in this guide
  • Use the Catalogue to find books and e-books on a drug or class of drugs
  • At Philson Library, books with call numbers at QV cover pharmacology and pharmacy; those at WB330 cover therapeutic use of drugs

Top of page

Pharmacopoeias

 
British Pharmacopoeia

Monographs giving legal standards for the quality of United Kingdom medicinal, herbal and homeopathic substances, excipients and formulated preparations, plus all monographs of the European Pharmacopoiea. Includes supporting General Notices, Infrared Reference Spectra, and Appendices (reagents, full range of test methods).

Online: British Pharmacopoeia
Print: QV738 B862
  • Click Connect to access, then click Browse Publications
  • To Browse - click a section heading (centre of page)
    OR
  • To Search - type a drug /substance name (generic is best) in search box, then click a result to see details
  • Details include: definition; characters; identification; tests; assay; storage requirements; molecular structure diagrams; etc
  • Click Help for more details
  • Look up a drug/substance name in the index to find volume/page numbers
  • Details are the same as online
European Pharmacopoeia

Monographs from the European Pharmacopoiea provide recognised common standards for the quality of medicines and their components across the 37 member states of the Council of Europe. The monographs are also included in British Pharmacopoeia.

Print: QV738 E897 2017
  • Look up a drug/substance name in the index to find page numbers
International Pharmacopoeia

WHO recommendations aimed at global uniformity of quality specifications for selected pharmaceuticals, excipients, and dosage forms.

Online: International Pharmacopoeia
  • If looking for a drug: click Monographs link (top of page)
  • Choose the drug of interest from one of the dropdown lists
  • The Monograph (details) of that drug appears
United States Pharmacopeia

Establishes standards for US medicines, food ingredients, dietary supplements and ingredients.

Print: QV738 U58
  • Look up a drug/substance name in the index to find volume/page numbers
  • Includes the National Formulary for the US

Top of page

Full list of library databases for Pharmacy and Pharmacology.

Side Effects | Drug Interactions | Mode Of Action | Toxicology | Chemical Structure Diagrams

  • Resources listed under Key NZ and Key international may also contain information on these drug properties
  • You may search a database to find journal articles on these drug properties - see Key databases under Articles

Side Effects

Also called adverse effects or adverse reactions.

Meyler's Side Effects of Drugs
Online: Meyler's 16th ed 2016
  • Click link to Full text available at: ClinicalKey e-Books
  • Browse the Contents
    OR
  • Type a generic name, trade name or drug class name in the Search in this publication box, click any result that looks relevant
  • Details may include: general information; effects on organs and systems; effects of route of administration; interactions with other drugs; list of references

Top of page

Drug Interactions

 
Stockley's Drug Interactions
Online: Stockley's
Print: QV38 S865 2016
  • Click link to Full text available at: MedicinesComplete
  • Click Interaction Monographs
  • Click the name of a drug class to drill down for interactions
    OR
  • Type a drug name in the search box to see all results where that name is mentioned
    OR
  • Click Stockleys Drug Interactions Checker (top right)
  • Read Before using this publication (p. vii), and details at the top of the Index (p. 1473)
Stockley's Herbal Medicines Interactions
Online: Stockley's Herbal Medicines Interactions
  • Click link to Full text available at: MedicinesComplete
  • Click Herbal Medicines; select from the alphabetical list to get details about the herb, including an interactions overview
    OR
  • Click Herbal Interactions to browse lists of specific herb/drug interactions
Australian Medicines Handbook (AMH)
Online: via ClinicalKey
Print: QV738 A938

Australian Medicines Handbook is the source of drug information (Drug Monographs) in ClinicalKey.

  • Click Connect (goes to ClinicalKey)
  • Click link to Browse - Drug Monographs (under the search box)
  • Browse alphabetically OR Type a generic drug name in the search box (do not use trade names)
  • Click the title of the appropriate drug, look for a note near the top saying For drug interactions see [drug name] (not always available)
  • Look up drug name (generic or trade/proprietary) in the index
  • When you reach the drug details, check beneath the drug name - For drug interactions see [drug name page no.]
  • You may also browse Appendix B (where interactions are listed)
Drug Interaction Facts
Print: QV38 T219
  • Read How to use... section at front, and details at the start of the Index at the back of the volume
  • Interactions are given a significance rating (1-5)
Cytochrome P450 Drug Interactions
Online: via Indiana University Department of Medicine website
  • Scroll to bottom of page, click on P450 Cytochrome Drug Interactions (under Quicklinks)
  • Check the overview, then click the link (at top) to Cytochrome P450 Drug Interaction Table

Top of page

Mode Of Action

Also called mechanism of action or pharmacological action.

Micromedex
Online: Micromedex
  • Clilck Connect
  • Type a drug name (generic or trade) in the search box
  • Generic name: if there is only one form of the drug, goes to the Quick Answers tab; click In-Depth Answers tab and click the link to Mechanism of Action/Pharmacology (in menu at left). If there is more than one form of the drug, they are listed; select the one you want (goes to Quick Answers) click In-Depth Answers tab and click the link to Mechanism of Action/Pharmacology
  • Trade name: gives a list with links to the generic name; click a generic name to reach Quick Answers > In-depth Answers tab > Mechanism of Action/Pharmacology
MedSafe Medicine Data Sheets
Online: MedSafe
  • Click I want to ... find data sheets/consumer medicine information
  • Follow the instructions to search by ingredient (generic name), trade name or company, click Search
  • Type an ingredient name: results show all trade names of products in NZ containing that ingredient; click one to reach its Datasheet
  • Type a trade name: results show only products in NZ with that trade name; click one to reach its Datasheet
  • Look for headings such as Action, Mechanism of Action, Pharmacodynamics
RxList
Online: RxLis
  • Click Search icon (top right) to open search box
  • Type a drug name (generic or trade)
  • Generic name: gives a list of trade names for formulations containing that generic ingredient
  • Trade name: gives a listing only for that version of the drug
  • Click on link(s) for the trade name(s) of interest
  • Scroll down to Clinical Pharmacology section
  • Look for subheadings such as Actions, Mechanism of Action, Pharmacodynamics
Australian Medicines Handbook (AMH)
Online: ClinicalKey
Print: QV738 A938

Australian Medicines Handbook is the source of drug information (Drug Monographs) in ClinicalKey.

  • Click Connect (goes to ClinicalKey)
  • Click link to Browse - Drug Monographs (under search box)
  • Browse alphabetically; OR Type a generic drug name in the search box (do not use trade names)
  • Click on an appropriate Drug Monograph in the results
  • Look for the heading Mode of Action
  • Look up drug name (generic or trade/proprietary) in the index
  • One or more page numbers is given
  • Details include mode of action

Top of page

Toxicology

Micromedex

Micromedex includes information to help identify, manage, and treat toxicological exposures, providing information on clinical effects and a range of toxicity and treatment protocols.

Online: Micromedex
  • Click Connect
  • Click Toxicology link (above search box); Type a product/chemical name (generic or trade) in the search box
  • Generic name: goes to the Quick Answers tab - click links at left; or click In-Depth Answers tab and click links at left for full details
  • Trade name: may go to a list with links to the generic ingredient name; click a generic name to see the Quick Answers/ In-Depth Answers tabs
  • You can also search products via the Tox and Drug Product Lookup tab at the top of the landing page

Top of page

Chemical Structure Diagrams

Also known as molecular structure diagrams.

British Pharmaceopoeia
Online: British Pharmacopoeia
Print: QV738 B862
  • Click Connect to access, then click Browse Publications
  • To browse - click a section heading (centre of page) OR
  • To search - type a drug/substance name (generic is best) in search box, then click a result to see details including a structure diagram
  • Look up a generic drug name in the index to find volume/page numbers
  • Details include chemical structure diagram
Merck Index
Online: Merck Index
Print: QV772 M555 2013
  • Click Connect
  • Type drug name (generic or trade) in the Quick Search box
  • Generic name: brief details show, including chemical structure. For more, click drug name
  • Trade name: Click drug name for details including chemical structure
  • Look up a drug name (generic or trade) in the index
  • Chemical structure diagram is included with each entry

Note: Structure diagrams are also available in: Martindale, MedSafe Data Sheets, RxList.

Top of page

Dispensing Guide (Pharmaceutical Society of NZ)

Print: QV735 D857 2004
  • Information for the safe and effective dispensing of prescribed medicines

Paediatric Pharmacopoeia (Royal Children's Hospital, Melbourne)

Print: WS366 R888 2002
  • Dosage guidelines and practical notes to aid prescribing for children     

AMH Children's Dosing Companion

Print: WS366 A93 2018
  • Always check for and use the most recent edition
  • Australia's dosing guide for prescribing and administering medicines to children 0-18 years
  • Complements the Australian Medicines Handbook, which gives a complete review of a drug's contraindications, precautions, adverse effects and drug interactions
  • Dosing is specified by indication; doses usually expressed for specific age ranges or, occasionally, by weight

PharmInfoTech

PharmInfo Tech
  • A pharmaceutical consultancy service providing access to: Formulation in Pharmacy Practice; eMixt (information on pediatric oral liquids and other practical formulation issues)
  • Browse to find the drug you want
  • A New Zealand standardised formula and batch sheet are included when available

Australian Medicines Handbook

Print: QV738 A938
  • Use the most recent version available
  • Prescribing advice is given in the Preliminary information section

Australian Pharmaceutical Formulary and Handbook

Print: QV740 P536 2015
  • Notes with each drug give prescribing/dispensing tips
  • Also see Table of Contents sections, e.g., Section A: Dispensing and advice to consumers; Section D: Clinical and therapeutic information

British National Formulary (BNF)

Online: BNF
Print: QV740 B862
  • Click Full text available at MedicinesComplete link
  • Click the Guidance button on the landing page
  • See the Guidance on prescribing section
  • Pharmacy Council of New Zealand
    The Council is established under the Health Practitioners Competence Assurance Act 2003, with the primary role to protect the public and promote good pharmacist practice.
    • Provides a range of regulatory information; includes a Code of Ethics (linked under the Professionalism heading)
    • Also publishes regular Newsletters.
  • Medsafe
    The New Zealand Medicines and Medical Devices Safety Authority; it investigates and approves drugs and medical devices for use in New Zealand.
    • Provides guidance on a range of regulatory, compliance, quality and safety topics.
    • Use the tabs and menus to investigate, e.g., click Medicines > Classification to search for details on the classification of medicines in New Zealand, including pharmacist-only medicines.
    • Details on how to use Medsafe's Medicines Data Sheets are under the Key NZ sources tab.
  • New Zealand Legislation
    New Zealand Acts, Bills and Legislative Instruments, e.g., the Medicines Act 1981 (law relating to medicines in New Zealand).
    • In the Quick Search box, type a few words, e.g., medicines act (to find the Medicines Act 1981); click the full title to see the complete Act.​
    • See also the New Zealand legal resources guide.
  • FDA (US Food and Drug Administration)
    Responsible for protecting the US public health:
    • Rregulates the safety, efficacy and security of drugs, biological products, medical devices, the US food supply, cosmetics, and products that emit radiation.
    • Has a role in reducing tobacco and alcohol use.
    • Helps to speed innovations that make medicines more effective, safer, and more affordable.
    • Provides the public with accurate, science-based information needed to use medicines and foods to maintain and improve health.

Complementary and Herbal Medicines

Herbal Medicines
OnlineHerbal Medicines
PrintWB925 N532 2013
  • Click Full text available at: MedicinesComplete
  • Click Herbal Medicines button on landing page
  • Browse alphabetical list of herbal products, click the one you want for full details
  • Read the How to use... section
Natural Medicines
Online: Natural Medicines
  • Click Connect
  • Evidence based information on herbs, dietary supplements, complementary and alternative medicines and integrative therapies
  • Type a herb/supplement/other name in the search box
  • Look for the entry labelled Professional monograph
  • Details include uses. safety, effectiveness, dosing/administration, adverse effects, toxicology
Review of Natural Products
Print: QV752 D435r 2014
  • Look up a natural product name in the Primary Index
  • Look up a therapeutic use in the Therapeutic Uses Index
Stockley's Herbal Medicines Interactions
Online: Stockley's
  • Click Full text available at: MedicinesComplete link 
  • Click Herbal Medicines
  • Browse the alphabetical list > click the herb of interest > look for sections headed Interactions Overview; Interactions Monographs
    OR
  • Click Herbal Interactions > browse interactions of each herb with a variety of other substances
Dietary Supplements
Online: Dietary Supplements
Print: QU145.5 M411 2012
  • Click Full text available at MedicinesComplete
  • Click Dietary Supplements button
  • Browse the list of supplements, click the one of interest for details
  • Read the How to use this book section

AMED (Allied and Complementary Medicine)
Online: AMED
  • Click Connect
  • Indexes articles in journals covering allied health, complementary medicine, palliative care
  • For assistance with searching, contact library staff
About herbs, botanicals and other products
Online: Website
  • From the Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center
  • Type a herb name in the search box (top right), click on a result
  • Separate sections: For Patients and Caregivers; For Health Professionals
  • Evidence-based information about herbs, botanicals, supplements...

Support

  • Referencing
    Access a range of tools and support material to assist your referencing work.

Examples

  • Quick©ite
    Use this interactive tool to view examples of references.
    Covers several styles used at the University of Auckland.

Last updated : 1 May 2019
Creative Commons License CC BY 4.0 Tautohu Matatiki 4.0 ā-Ao