Hauora Māori (Māori Health)

Develop a search strategy

• Define the key concepts and key terms of your topic.
• Make a list of keywords, phrases, synonyms and subjects to use when searching.
• When you find sources, note down their details so you can cite them accurately later on. Further information on Referencing.

Use subject headings

To research subjects in the Library Catalogue, do a Subject Heading search. To find Māori terms to use, try the Wakareo database or the Ngā Upoko Tukutuku, Māori Subject Headings. For example: Community health services; Hauora; Hauora hinengaro; Hauora tinana; Hauora whānau

Use the Advanced Search option to combine more than one term.

Build on your research

• These tips work in most databases.
• More tips on Searching for information.
• More detailed help with research for Medical and Health subjects.

Key resources

• Reid, P., Paine, S. J., Curtis, E., Jones, R., Anderson, A., Willing, E., & Harwood, M. (2017). Achieving health equity in Aotearoa: strengthening responsiveness to Māori in health research. The New Zealand Medical Journal, 130(1465), 96-103.
• Responsiveness to Māori - from Te Kupenga Hauora Māori (TKHM).
  Covering information relating to the Treaty of Waitangi and support for researchers on Māori responsiveness.

International

• Google Scholar
  Search peer-reviewed journal articles, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports, with full text or access to content that the Library subscribes to.
• PubMed
  Journal articles in all fields of medicine, biomedicine, health sciences and allied health.

New Zealand

• Australia/New Zealand Reference Centre
  Academic journals, magazines, newspapers, newswires, reference books and company information from Australian, New Zealand and selected overseas magazines.
• Index New Zealand : INNZ
  Journals, newspapers and magazines about New Zealand and the South Pacific.

Māori Studies

• Māori Bibliography from Te Whare Wananga o Waikato
  An index of chapters and articles on all aspects of the Māori people.
• Iwidex
  An index of books, articles, chapters and sections of books that contain information about Māori waka, traditions, waiata, haka, tribal whenua, maunga, marae, carving, weaving, stories and whakapapa.
• Wakareo
  Compilation of Māori-English and English-Māori dictionaries, lexicons and word lists.
• Ngā Tipu Whakaoranga
  Database of Māori traditional uses of New Zealand native plants.
• TV and Radio
  The University of Auckland's archive of over 100,000 hours of television and radio content, including many items related to hauora Māori.

Government publications

• Health Research Council of New Zealand
  Guidelines and strategies for researching Māori health.
• Te Puni Kōkiri
  Publishes various documents on Māori public policy including some on Māori health.
• The Manatū Hauora| Ministry of Health library includes a number of relevant documents. They have a collection of statistical publications and data sets:
  • Māori health data and stats.
  • Health strategies:
    The New Zealand Health Strategy, 2000.
    He Korowai Oranga: Māori Health Strategy, 2002.
    Raranga Tupuake: The Māori Health Workforce Development Plan, 2006.
• Statistics New Zealand
  • Customised Data Services
    Statistics New Zealand will create customised data tables for researchers for a fee. The University of Auckland has a number of prepaid data hours available to researchers. 
  • Confidentialised Unit Record Files (CURFs)
    Unit record data that have been modified to protect the confidentiality of respondents.

Legislation

New Zealand Legislation can be searched online for references to Māori health.

• New Zealand Public Health and Disability Act 2000.

These sites may contain research or publications unavailable elsewhere.

Non-Governmental Organisations

• Hāpai Te Hauora: Māori Public Health
  Public health, policy, advocacy, and research, created to increase opportunities for Māori to enjoy good health and to be sustained by healthy environments. The result of a tripartite Memorandum of Understanding between Te Whanau o Waipareira Trust Board, Raukura Hauora o Tainui and Te Rūnanga o Ngāti Whātua.
• Te Rau Ora
  Coordinates a range of national programmes that contribute to Māori health, mental health, addiction, primary health and public health workforce priorities.
• Te Kāhui Rongoā Trust
  A national rongoā Māori charitable trust, established to safeguard, research and develop the science and knowledge of rongoā.

Māori health professionals

• Te Aō Marama - The NZ Māori Dental Association
  The professional association for Māori oral health professionals, advocating for better oral health for Māori.
• Ngā Kaitiaki o Te Puna Rongoā o Aotearoa - The Māori Pharmacists’ Association Inc.
  Works across government, public and private sectors, with iwi, hapū, marae and community groups, to increase Māori health outcomes.
• Māori Caucus of Te Ao Māramatanga (New Zealand College of Mental Health Nurses)
• Kia Ora Hauora
  A Māori health workforce development programme led by Counties Manukau District Health Board.
• Nga Maia Maori Midwives Aotearoa
  A national body representing Māori Birthing, promoting Matauranga Māori in pregnancy and childbirth.
• Te Ohu Rata o Aotearoa (Te ORA) - Māori Medical Practitioners Association
  Represents Māori medical students and doctors working as clinicians, researchers and teachers.
• Tae Ora Tinana
  The Māori partner of Physiotherapy New Zealand, and represents Māori physiotherapists, physiotherapy students and assistants.

Scholarships

Several organisations offer support to students and researchers in Hauora Māori.

• Māori Scholarships
  Scholarships available to Māori students at the University of Auckland.
• Nationwide Scholarships Database
  Administered by Kia Ora Hauora.

Research Collections

• Hei Hauhake Whakaaro
  A resource of Kaupapa Māori literature developed by Te Kupenga Hauora Māori at the University of Auckland, for students and Tōmaiora researchers.
• Māori Health Review
  Summaries of research published in global journals which is relevant to hauora Māori.

Theses

• University of Auckland Research Repository, ResearchSpace
  Full-text theses and other research outputs.
• NZResearch.org.nz
  Theses, dissertations, and other scholarly research produced by tertiary institutions in New Zealand.

University Research Centres

• Te Kotahi Research Institute
  A Kaupapa Māori institute at the University of Waikato.
• Te Pūmanawa Hauora (TPH)
  The Māori Health Research Programme within the Research Centre for Maori Health and Development at Massey University.
• Te Rōpū Rangahau Hauora a Eru Pōmare
  The Eru Pōmare Māori Health Research Centre at the University of Otago, Wellington. Committed to improving Māori health outcomes and eliminating inequalities through quality research.
• Te Rōpū Rangahau Hauora Māori o Ngāi Tahu
  Ngāi Tahu Māori Health Research Unit, a partnership between Te Rūnanga o Ngāi Tahu and the University of Otago’s Faculty of Medicine.
• Taupua Waiora Centre for Māori Health Research
  Part of the National Institue for Public Health & Mental Health Research at AUT.

Support

• Referencing
  Access a range of tools and support material to assist your referencing work.

Examples

• Quick©ite
  Use this interactive tool to view examples of references.
  Covers a range of styles used at the University of Auckland.