United States legal resources

Use the Catalogue to find material in the University of Auckland Library’s collection of law reports, books, journals, theses and dissertations.

Full list of library databases for Law.

Case law online

  • Westlaw International
    • Access to Federal Cases which includes Federal case law with coverage beginning with 1790.
    • Access to State Cases which includes case law from state jurisdictions with coverage beginning with 1658.
  • Lexis Advance
    United States legal resources include: Federal and State legislation, case law, Shepard's citator, Restatements of the Law, a wide range of legal commentary and treatises, and full-text law reviews and journals.
  • Supreme Court of the United States
    Contains various United States Supreme Court documents including oral arguments, court opinions, and orders and journals.
  • Legal Information Institute
    Created by Cornell University Law School. Includes recent decisions, as well as an archive of historic decisions of the United States Supreme Court.
  • Caselaw Access Project
    Digitised collection of the Harvard Law Library. Includes all official US court cases published in books from 1658 to 2018.

Case citators

Update case law by using these citators:

Law report abbreviations

Use the Catalogue to find United States legal journals in the University of Auckland Library. Or search the following databases when you are looking for legal journal articles from United States:

Full list of library databases for Law.

New Zealand Law Style Guide

All written work completed for the Faculty of Law must comply with the New Zealand Law Style Guide.

For further guidance on the citation of United States of America legal sources not covered by the New Zealand Law Style Guide, see the latest edition of The Bluebook: A Uniform System of Citation, published by the Harvard Law Review Association.

Support

  • Referencing
    Access a range of tools and support material to assist your referencing work.

Examples

  • Quick©ite
    Use this interactive tool to view examples of references.
    Covers a range of styles used at the University of Auckland including the NZLSG.

Last updated : 25 February 2019
Creative Commons License CC BY 4.0 Tautohu Matatiki 4.0 ā-Ao