New Zealand legal resources

Use the Catalogue to find material in the University of Auckland Library’s collection of law reports, books, journals, theses and dissertations.

Full list of library databases for Law.

Case law online | Case law by topic | Case citators | Abbreviations | Web resources | Historic law reports

Case law online

Use the following databases when you are looking for New Zealand cases:

Top of page

Case law by topic

Administrative Law

Commercial

Company and Securities

Criminal

Employment

Environmental

Family

Insurance

Land

Local Government

Practice and Procedure

Taxation

Tort Law

Trusts and Succession

Top of page

Case citators

  • New Zealand Case Citator
    A comprehensive case citator of reported New Zealand case law and subsequent histories, available in LexisNexis NZ.
  • CaseBase
    CaseBase is a comprehensive case citator in LexisNexis NZ covering more than 60 Australian and overseas report series, including New Zealand, and the unreported decisions of the High Court, the Federal Court and the Supreme Courts of all Australian states and territories and other selected jurisdictions. See online CaseBase User Guide.
  • BriefCase - FindCase in Westlaw NZ includes the CiteCase function.
  • Australian and New Zealand Citator to UK Reports
    Open International Cases in LexisNexis NZ and select Australian & New Zealand Citator to UK Reports in the Sources drop down box. Finds UK cases cited in Australia or New Zealand law reporting series.

Top of page

Finding law report abbreviations

Top of page

Selected web resources

Top of page

Historic law reports

Unreported historic decisions and judgments

New Zealand Legal Information Institute (NZLII) includes many historic collections of decisions from Tribunals, Boards and Authorities.

Top of page

Official legislation | Compiled legislation | Assent legislation | Bills | Historical legislation | Finding legislation

Official legislation

Top of page

Compiled legislation

The following sources provide compiled legislation, that is, all amendments are incorporated:

Top of page

Assent legislation

The following sources provide legislation as it was passed, that is, with no later amendments incorporated:

Top of page

Bills

Top of page

Historical legislation

Top of page

Finding legislation

New Zealand Statutes and Statutory Regulations in print are located on Level 2, Davis Law Library or use these finding tools:

Top of page

Legal commentaries and encyclopedia | Law dictionaries

Legal commentaries and encyclopedia

The Laws of New Zealand is a legal encyclopedia available in LexisNexis NZ, providing commentary on a wide range of topics.

Arbitration

Building and Construction

Commercial and Consumer

Company and Securities

Civil Procedure

Criminal

Employment

Environment and Local Government

Family

Fisheries

Information Technology

Insurance

Intellectual Property

Land

Taxation

Transport

Trusts and Succession

Other

Law dictionaries

Top of page

Journal indexes | Law journals | Indexes to newspapers

Journal indexes

Use the following databases when you are looking for journal articles:

  • Linxplus
    Content available from 1986, accessed on LexisNexis NZ and created by the New Zealand Law Society Library. Indexing to New Zealand legal writing and selected international law journals.
  • AGIS Plus Text
    Index of Australian, New Zealand, and Pacific law journals, including selected articles from the United States, Canada and the United Kingdom from 1975.
  • HeinOnline
    Full-text law reviews and journals, with selected New Zealand content.
  • Index to Legal Periodicals and Books
    Authoritative index of articles from law journals, law reviews, and yearbooks from United States, Canada, United Kingdom, Ireland, Australia and New Zealand from 1981.

Top of page

Law journals online

Use the Catalogue Advanced Search and select Journals as Material Type to check availability and years available of all legal journals located in print in the Davis Law Library.

See also: E-journals - electronic journals held by the library.

Top of page

Indexes to newspapers / journals

  • Index New Zealand (INNZ)
    Indexes selected New Zealand newspapers and journals about New Zealand and the South Pacific.
  • Newztext Plus
    A combined database of daily newspapers (including the New Zealand Herald), magazines (including selected law reviews), Newzindex, and Radio New Zealand's Newswire.
  • New Zealand Index
    A combined database of indexes to Newzindex, Newspaper Index, NZ Science, Auckland Index and Index New Zealand (INNZ).
  • FindNZArticles
    An index of New Zealand periodicals and newspapers. It combines indexes from a number of New Zealand libraries and scientific organisations. Content includes news, arts and humanities, and science and technology.

Top of page

Parliament | Government | Treaties | Law Societies | Law Directories | Other

Parliament

Top of page

Government

Top of page

Treaties

  • New Zealand Treaties Online
    Ministry of Foreign Affairs and Trade treaties database including treaties published in the New Zealand Treaty Series (NZTS).
  • Treaty Series
    Treaties and National Interest Analysis documents presented in Parliament from August 2002.

Top of page

Law Societies

Top of page

Law directories

Top of page

Other materials

Top of page

New Zealand Law Style Guide

All written work completed for the Faculty of Law must comply with the New Zealand Law Style Guide.

Support

  • Referencing
    Access a range of tools and support material to assist your referencing work.

Examples

  • Quick©ite
    Use this interactive tool to view examples of references.
    Covers a range of styles used at the University of Auckland including the NZLSG.

Last updated : 22 August 2017
Creative Commons License CC BY 4.0 Tautohu Matatiki 4.0 ā-Ao