Māori land law

Case law databases

  • Linxplus available in Lexis Advance (select the Cases option)
    Summaries and full-text reported and unreported judgments from the District Court (selected cases only), High Court, Court of Appeal, Supreme Court, Privy Council and other selected judicial bodies.
  • BriefCase-FindCase (in Westlaw NZ)
    Case law, both unreported judgments and some full-text law reports, on all legal topics including: from the District Court (selected cases only), High Court, Court of Appeal, Supreme Court, Privy Council and other selected judicial bodies.
  • Environmental Cases (in Westlaw NZ)
    Decisions relating to the Resource Management Act 1991. These cases are sourced from the Environment Court, Court of Appeal, High Court, District Court and some older decisions from the Planning Tribunal.
  • Māori Cases (in Westlaw NZ)
    Decisions relating to Māori legal topics from a range of courts and specialist tribunals including the Māori Land Court and the Māori Appellate Court.

Law reports

  • New Zealand Law Reports
    New Zealand's official reporting series from 1881. Keywords to search include: "Māori Land", alienation, customary Māori rights, jurisdiction of the Māori Appellate Court, succession and Treaty of Waitangi.
  • Waitangi Tribunal Reports
    Reports from the Waitangi Tribunal to the Minister for Māori Development and the claimants explaining its claim inquiry findings and recommendations. The Waitangi Tribunal also includes information on the structure and role of the tribunal and information on the claims settlement process.
    See Referencing for guidance citing Waitangi Tribunal Reports.
  • Environmental Cases (in Westlaw NZ)
    Decisions relating to the Resource Management Act 1991. These cases are sourced from the Environment Court, Court of Appeal, High Court, District Court and some older decisions from the Planning Tribunal.

Open access decisions

Historic resources

Texts

Legal commentary

Government inquiries and Waitangi Tribunal reports

New Zealand journals

  • Linxplus
    Index of legal journal articles created by the New Zealand Law Society covering selected New Zealand and overseas publications since the mid-1980s. Search tips: select the "Secondary Materials" option to search legal journal records. Keep keyword searches simple - example relevant subject headings include: "Māori land", "Māori Land Court", "tikanga Māori", "customary law".
  • New Zealand Legal Writing Index
    Index of legal journal articles and also incorporates and builds on the Legal Research Foundation's publication titled Index to New Zealand Legal Writing published in 1986 which covered legal writing and theses from 1954-1986.
  • Māori Law Review
    Monthly review of law affecting Māori.
  • Māori Bibliography
    An excellent resource for Māori perspectives on issues relating to land and customary law. Choose 'Māori Bibliography' from the drop-down menu under the search box.
  • New Zealand Law Journal
    A general law journal aimed at keeping legal practitioners and researchers current on legal topics. Search the full-text of the New Zealand Law Journal and the former titles of this publication since 1925.
  • New Zealand Universities Law Review
    Important scholarly peer-reviewed legal articles written by academics, judiciary, and legal researchers.
  • New Zealand Law Review
    Scholarly legal articles and reviews of legal topics, e.g. resource management, local government, Treaty of Waitangi, and Māori land law.
  • New Zealand Recent Law Review
    Scholarly legal articles from 1989-1994 - this journal title was superseded by the New Zealand Law Review.
  • Auckland University Law Review
    Legal scholarly articles by Auckland Law School students since 1967.
  • Te Ao Hou
    ​Three Māori journals published between 1952-1975: Te Ao Hou, Te Māori and Te Kaunihera Māori.
  • Journal of the Polynesian Society
    An important scholarly journal that began in 1892 and includes early scholarship on Māori issues. When searching historic issues also search Māori spelling variants, e.g. Ngaati Toa AND Ngati Toa.

Top of page

Newsletters

Top of page

Newspapers and magazines

Modern and historical news sources discussing legal topics can provide insight into the context and viewpoints across society.

Top of page

International journals

For in-depth legal research include searches of overseas legal journals for comparative law discussion of indigenous topics.

  • Informit
    Includes indexed abstracts and full-text journals from Australian and New Zealand sources. Search across a range of legal, indigenous and social sciences Informit collections including AGIS Plus Text.
    Search: when keyword searching capitalise the boolean connectors AND, OR, e.g. Maori AND land. Use quotation marks for phrase searching, e.g. ("customary law" OR "indigenous law") AND land.
  • AGIS Plus Text
    One of the Informit database collections that indexes selected Australian and New Zealand legal journals with many also available full-text.
  • Westlaw International
    Select the World Journals source to search across the full-text of a wide range of English language law journals and reviews from multiple jurisdictions.
  • Index to Legal Periodicals
    Indexes legal journals from a range of jurisdictions including some New Zealand journals. Recommended searches: Māori AND land, Māori AND "customary law".
  • LegalTrac
    Includes legal journals and other materials from a range of jurisdictions including some New Zealand journals. Recommended search Māori AND land

Top of page

New Zealand

  • Searching for land records
    Information from Land Information New Zealand.
  • He Tirohanga ō Kawa ki te Tiriti o Waitangi
    Guide to the principles of the Treaty of Waitangi as interpreted by the Waitangi Tribunal and the Courts - presentation from Te Puni Kokiri.
  • Te Manutukutuku
    Newsletter of the Waitangi Tribunal.
  • Māori Law Review
    Monthly review of law affecting Māori.
  • Te Tai Haruru
    Te Tai Haruru - Journal of Māori and Indigenous Legal Writing (formerly Journal of Māori Legal Writing).
  • Te Kooti Whenua Māori - Māori Land Court
    Provides a court service for owners of Māori land and their whānau and hāpu. See Contact Us for online Māori Land Court office locations.
  • Te Arawhiti - Office for Māori Crown Relations
    Te Arawhiti provides support and guidance for relationships between the Māori and the Crown and including - Te Kāhui Whakatau (Treaty Settlements), Te Kāhui Whakamana (Settlement Commitments), and Te Kāhui Takutai Moana (Marine and Coastal Area) to complete historical Treaty settlements, ensure the commitments made in Treaty settlements endure and process applications under the Marine and Coastal Area (Takutai Moana) Act 2011.​

Top of page

Historical resources

Top of page

Research centres

Top of page

International indigenous resources

Top of page

New Zealand Law Style Guide

All written work completed for the Faculty of Law must comply with the New Zealand Law Style Guide.

Additional guidance for citing Māori legal sources

  • Citing decisions from the Māori Land Court and Māori Appellate Court, and Māori Land Court Minute Books
    New Zealand Law Style Guide Rule 3.5. The Māori Land Court provides further explanation and a guide to Minute Book abbreviations
  • Citing Waitangi Tribunal reports - New Zealand Law Style Guide Rule 3.6
    Example: Waitangi Tribunal Ko Aotearoa Tēnei: A Report into Claims Concerning New Zealand Law and Policy Affecting Māori Culture and Identity (Wai 262, 2011) vol 2 at 500.

Support

  • Referencing
    Access a range of tools and support material to assist your referencing work.

Examples

  • Quick©ite
    Use this interactive tool to view examples of references.
    Covers a range of styles used at the University of Auckland including the NZLSG.

Last updated : 7 December 2022
Creative Commons License CC BY 4.0 Tautohu Matatiki 4.0 ā-Ao