International legal journals

Legal journal indexes | Full-text law journals

Legal journal indexes

• Linxplus
  Index of New Zealand legal journals, law reviews and legal professional newsletters by the New Zealand Law Society Library. Includes indexing to some overseas journals. Coverage from 1986.
• AGIS Plus Text
  Index of Australian, New Zealand, and Pacific law journals, including selected articles from the United States, Canada and the United Kingdom from 1975.
• CaseBase Journal Articles
  Index of Australian legal journals, with indexing to some major New Zealand and overseas journals.
• Index to Legal Periodicals and Books
  Authoritative index of articles from law journals, law reviews, and yearbooks from United States, Canada, United Kingdom, Ireland, Australia and New Zealand from 1978.
• LegalTrac
  Index of law reviews, international law journals, bar association journals and legal newspapers from the United States and a few publications from Canada, United Kingdom and Australia. Coverage from 1980.
• Westlaw International
  Legal Journals Index includes indexing of United Kingdom and European legal journals from 1986.
• Index to Foreign Legal Periodicals
  Multilingual index focusing on non-Anglo-American legal jurisdictions, including journal articles, reports, collections of essays and books, covering public and private international law, comparative and foreign law topics. Coverage from 1985.
• Oxford Public International Law
  Includes the Oxford Law Citator which indexes commentary and analysis on international law topicss with links to important cases and international instruments.
• Oxford Bibliographies
  The International Law and International Relations bibliographies recommend leading articles and books on specific topics and are a good starting point for researchers.
• PAIS
  Multi-disciplinary index of public policy articles, books and government documents from 120 countries, since 1915 including policy topics from law, political science, public administration, international law and relations, demography, public health, education, economics, finance and the environment.

Top of page

Full-text law journals

• Westlaw International
  World Journals is one of the biggest collections of English language full-text legal journals from United States, Canada, United Kingdom, and some from Australia and New Zealand.
• HeinOnline - a multi-database with specialist legal and historical archive collections.
  Law Journal Library includes American, Canadian and international titles with page image versions of articles.
  Foreign & International Law Resources includes international, regional and topical yearbooks and journals.
• Oxford Scholarship Online
  Includes over 40 quality law journals on arbitration, intellectual property, criminal law, medical law, human rights, refugee law, and international law.
• Cambridge Core
  Includes 32 peer reviewed academic journals on international and comparative law, constitutional law, human rights, and healthcare law.
• Kluwer Law International - Journals
  Includes over 20 journals on law and arbitration, taxation, environmental law, competition law, global trade and aviation with a focus on European and International content.
• Lexis Advance
  Includes a range of law journals and reviews for New Zealand and overseas jurisdictions: Australia, United Kingdom, Canada, United States and China.
• AGIS Plus Text
  Includes full-text access to some of the indexed articles from Australia and New Zealand. Explore the list of full-text journal title coverage.
• Westlaw NZ
  Includes a range of full-text legal journals from Australia and New Zealand published by Thomson Reuters.

Top of page

• Index to Legal Periodicals Retrospective
  Archival index of legal journals and law reviews from United States, Canada, United Kingdom, Ireland, Australia and New Zealand covering 1908-1981.
• Current Index to Legal Periodicals
  Current awareness index arranged by subject headings by the Marion Gould Gallagher Law Library, University of Washington, covering the period 1936 - current. Available within HeinOnline - Law Journal Library.
• Index to Legal Periodical Literature, 1786-1937 (edited by Leonard Jones and Frank Chipman)
  Index of legal journals from the United States, England, Scotland, Ireland, and the English Colonies. Available within the Nineteenth Century Masterfile database, and within HeinOnline - Law Journal Library.
• Poole's Index to Periodical Literature (edited by William Poole)
  Index of general periodicals, including legal topics, published within the United States from 1802-1906.

• Australasian Legal Scholarship Library within Australasian Legal Information Institute AustLII.
  Academic law journals from Australia and New Zealand.
• International Legal Scholarship Library within World Legal Information Institute WorldLII.
  Academic journals from WorldLII and other Legal Information Institutes.
• Law Review Commons
  Journal articles from over 250 law reviews, mostly from the United States.
• Asian Law Online
  Index of Asian legal materials in English. Created by the University of Melbourne.
• Rule of Law Online
  Index of English language journal articles, books, chapters in books and theses on topics related to the rule of law. Created by the University of Melbourne.
• Islamic Law Online
  Index of English language journal articles, books, chapters in books and theses on Islamic legal topics. Created by the University of Melbourne.
• FindLaw: Academic Law Journals and Law Reviews
  Academic law journals and law reviews from America arranged by topic.
• FindLaw: Law Review Jounals
  Academic law review journals from America arranged alphabetically.
• Hieros Gamos Law Journals
  List of law related journals, reviews and newsletters.
• Web Journal of Current Legal Issues and pre-2013 index.
  Open access e-journal focusing on legal topics that contrast United Kingdom and Europe.
• Legal Scholarship Network part of Social Sciences Research Network
  Shared research database of academic and working papers. Many are unpublished papers and some are eventually published in scholarly legal journals.
• Legal Scholarship Blog - Law Review Companions
  Provides links to articles and essays that are within companions to United States law journals.

• New Zealand Legal Journals
  A comprehensive list of New Zealand law journals.
• Conflict of Laws in New Zealand
  News and scholarship on New Zealand conflict of laws and private international law theory and practice.
• Index to Common Law Festschriften
  Index of chapter contributions to legal festchriften books from around the world.
• Hague Academy of Collected Courses Online (Recueil des cours en ligne)
  Prestigious collection of lectures on private and public international law topics. Includes lectures in English or French language from 1923 to current.
• Web of Science Core Collection
  Includes the Social Sciences Citation Index. Coverage 1898 to current.
• JSTOR
  Includes page image access to over 900 full-text journals on law, criminology and criminal justice.
• ProQuest
  Provides a large multi-disciplinary collection of index and full-text databases which include law, international relations, politics, social sciences and humanities.

New Zealand Law Style Guide

All written work completed for the Faculty of Law must comply with the New Zealand Law Style Guide (NZLSG).

Support

• Referencing
  Access a range of tools and support material to assist your referencing work.

Examples

• Quick©ite
  Use this interactive tool to view examples of references.
  Covers a range of styles used at the University of Auckland.