Indigenous law

Databases

• AGIS Plus Text
  Australian database. Source documents include Australian, New Zealand and Pacific law journals, and selected articles from major law journals from the United States, Canada and the United Kingdom.
• EbscoHost Academic Search Premier
  4000 scholarly journals covering wide range of subject areas.
• Index to Legal Periodicals and Books
  Index of articles, case notes, legislation notes, book reviews, conference reports from the United States, Puerto Rico, Great Britain, Ireland, Canada, Australia, and New Zealand.
• HeinOnline
  Archival collection of US and selected international law journals.
• Index New Zealand
  Indexes over 300 journals and magazines. Coverage primarily New Zealand, but some comparative content in articles.
• Lexis Advance
  See US Research option for international resources.
• Linxplus (in Lexis Advance)
  An index of journal articles from New Zealand law journals. Selected coverage of Australia, UK and Canadian titles.
• Westlaw International
  US database. Use the World Journals tab to search across all journals.

Conventions and treaties

• United Nations Convention on the Rights of the Child
• United Nations Declaration on the Rights of Indigenous Peoples
• United Nations Universal Declaration of Human Rights
• United Nations - Documents relating to Indigenous Issues
• ILO Convention No. 169 Indigenous and Tribal Peoples
• Mataatua Declaration on Cultural and Intellectual Property Rights of Indigenous Peoples
• Mana Tangata: draft Declaration on the Rights of Indigenous Peoples 1993: background and discussion on key issues: an explanatory document (Te Puni Kokiri, 1994)

Web resources

• Background paper No. 15, 1997-98
  Indigenous Affairs in Australia, New Zealand, Canada, United States of America, Norway and Sweden (briefing paper to Senators and Members of the Australian Parliament).
• Briefing Paper on the Rights of Indigenous Peoples in International Law
  Fergus MacKay, B.A., J.D.
• Center for World Indigenous Studies
  CWIS aims to foster better understanding between peoples through the publication and distribution of literature written and voiced by leading contributors from Fourth World Nations.
• Indian Law Resource Center
  Focus on the Americas, but some Pacific rim content. Topics include indigenous rights and international human rights, land rights, environmental protection, sovereignty and self-governance.
• Indigenous and Tribal Peoples
  Information on the ILO's involvement in indigenous issues. Includes a bibliography of publications.
• Indigenous Law Portal
  Open source material for Indigenous law topics across the globe.
• Office of the United Nations High Commissioner of Human Rights
• Researching Indigenous Peoples Rights under International Law
  Steven C. Perkins, 1999.
• Rights of Indigenous People in International Law: an annotated bibliography
  Roy and Miller, 1985 University of Saskatchewan Native Law Centre.
• UNHCR - Indigenous Peoples
  Link to fact sheet on indigenous rights, information on the international decade of the world's indigenous people, documents and working groups.
• United Nations Permanent Forum on Indigenous Issues
• WorldLII: Indigenous Law
  Indigenous legal resources from a variety of countries.

Databases

Commentary on indigenous issues in English and Māori

• Hansard
  New Zealand Parliamentary Debates (Hansard) with written and oral questions.
• Te Ao Hou Periodical
  Three Māori periodicals: Te Ao Hou, Te Māori and Te Kaunihera Māori.
• Index New Zealand
  Indexes over 300 journals and magazines. Coverage includes some pan-tribal and iwi specific publications.
• NewzText Plus
  Magazines and newspapers. Search help
• Newzindex
  Index of magazines, journals and newspapers.
• Niupepa
  Māori newspapers from 1842-1933.
• Waitangi Tribunal Reports
  Information on the structure and role of the Waitangi Tribunal, English and Māori versions of the Treaty of Waitangi, Tribunal reports, and information on the claims settlement process.

New Zealand case law and commentary on indigenous issues

Resources available in Westlaw NZ.

• DSL Environmental Law Handbook
  Information related to Māori and the Resource Management Act.

Resources available in Lexis Advance.

• Linxplus
  Reported and unreported judgments. An index of journal articles from New Zealand law journals. Some international coverage.
• Laws of New Zealand
  New Zealand's legal encyclopedia. Includes topics about Māori Affairs and Māori Land.

Web resources

• He Pātaka Kupu Ture / Legal Māori Archive
  Documents reflecting the bilingual nature of New Zealand's legal history.
• Māori land law
  Compiled by the University of Auckland. Print and web resources relating to Māori land.
• Takoa | Māori Directory
  Directory of iwi and organisation contacts, links to law and land resources, and links to other Māori and indigenous websites.
• Māori Studies guide
  Compiled by the University of Auckland. Topics include Māori land, material culture, Māori views and perspectives, Treaty of Waitangi and Waitangi Tribunal materials.

Databases

• AGIS Plus Text
  Australian University law journals, Indigenous Law Bulletin and Land, Rights, Laws: Issues of Native Title.
• AUSTLII
  Australian case law from a variety of courts.
• CINCH-ATSIS
  Index of articles on the involvement of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples in the Australian justice system. Subject coverage includes all aspects of crime and criminal justice including corrections, crime, crime prevention, criminal law, criminology, juvenile justice, law enforcement, police and victims of crime.
• Indigenous Australia
  Index of articles, book chapters, parliamentary information, case law, audiovisual materials and internet resources on Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander life. Compiled by the Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Commission Library.

Web resources

• Agreements, Treaties, and Negotiated Settlements Project
  This resource examines treaty and agreement-making with Indigenous Australians and the nature of the cultural, social and legal rights encompassed by past, present and potential agreements and treaties. Index of agreements with links to related agreements and legislation, seminar papers and a bibliography. Some items are full text.
• ATSIC: Law and Justice
  Links under Publications to the Royal Commission into Aboriginal Deaths in Custody report, Stolen Generations report and submissions on the Senate Inquiry into the Human Rights (Mandatory Sentencing of Juvenile Offenders) Bill 1999). This site is now no longer active and is only available in archive form. Date of archive is 2006.
• Indigenous Portal
  Links to Government resources specific to indigenous Australians. See Justice & Law, Land & Native Title.
• INFOKOORI
  State Library of New South Wales. Index of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander newspapers and magazines reporting on people, issues and events that affect Indigenous peoples from all over Australia from an Indigenous perspective.
• Wik: the Aftermath and Implications
  Articles on the Wik decision from the University of New South Wales Law Review.
• WWW Virtual Library: Aboriginal Studies
  Native title resources.
• Yorta Yorta Native Title Case
  Article briefly reviewing judgment.

Databases

• Index to Legal Periodicals and Books
  Index of articles, case notes, legislation notes, book reviews, conference reports from the United States, Puerto Rico, Great Britain, Ireland, Canada, Australia, and New Zealand.
• HeinOnline
  Full text archival collection of US and selected international law journals. Use the search options to locate articles on Canadian issues in other journals.
• Lexis Advance
  Legislation, case law, and journal articles.
• Westlaw International
  Directory > International / Worldwide Materials > North America > Individual Country Materials > Canada - legislation, case law and journal articles. Also try the World Journals tab for journal articles.

Case law

• CANLII
  Cases by region. Includes Nunavut Court of Appeal and Nunavut Court of Justice.
• Canadian Native Law Reporter
  Available in print in the Davis Law Library.
• Delgamuukw v British Columbia
  [1997] 3 S.C.R 1010 decisions.
• Indigenous Law Centre
  University of Saskatchewan. Provides a searchable database of legal briefs, pleadings and opinions on Native cases.
• Nunavut Courts
  Click here for judgments.
• Sparrow v The Queen
  [1990] 1 S.R.C 1075. The Sparrow case was the first in which the Supreme Court of Canada dealt with section 35 of the Constitution Act 1982 which recognizes and affirms "the existing aboriginal and treaty rights of the aboriginal peoples of Canada".

Web resources

• A Brief Introduction to Aboriginal Law in Canada
  Bill Henderson.
• CBC Archives: The Creation of Nunavut
  Canadian Broadcasting Corporation's coverage of the Nunavut settlement. Includes TV footage and radio interviews.
• Crown Indigenous Relations and Northern Affairs
  Contemporary, historical and treaty specific information. Bibliographies on treaty and aboriginal issues, research reports on treaty issues, timelines and historical maps, treaty guides and final agreements.
• Law Society of Nunavut
  See Polar Barristers Newsletter for discussion of recent legal issues.
• Legislative Assembly of Nunavut
  See Hansard for debates.
• Nunavut Government
  View Acts and Regulations.
• Nunavut: Inuit regain control of their lands and their lives
  IWGIA report 102.
• WORLDLII - Indigenous Law - Canada
  Links to websites providing full text cases, commentary on legal issues, directories of contacts.

Alaska

• Alaska Native Issues
  Compiled by Tribal Clearinghouse.
• Alaska Native Knowledge Network
  Articles and guides on various topics including cultural and intellectual property rights, heritage protection.
• Stock, Corporations and the Native Land Claims Settlement
  This booklet is one of a collection of articles written by people who are interested in Native land claims produced by the University of Alaska and Alaskan Department of Education. See also Environmental Issues in Land Claims, New Tribes for New Times, Politics and Alaska Natives
• Alaska Native Claims Settlement Act
  Full text of the Act, an electronic book, newspaper and journals articles, Alaska Native Commission Reports.
• Turtle Island Native Network
  Land rights resources. Links to Aboriginal title, treaties and self-governance.

North America

Databases

• HeinOnline
  Archival collection of US law journals. Full coverage of the American Indian Law Review. Use the search options to locate articles in other journals.
• Index to Legal Periodicals and Books
  Index of articles, case notes, legislation notes, book reviews, conference reports from the United States, Puerto Rico, Great Britain, Ireland, Canada, Australia, and New Zealand.
• Westlaw International
  Practice Areas > Native American Law. Also try the World Journals tab for journal articles.

Internet resources

• Findlaw: Indian and Native Peoples Law
  Directory of contacts, legislations, case law, journals and other documents.
• Indian Affairs: Laws and Treaties
  Compiled and edited by Charles J. Kappler, is an historically significant, 7-volume compilation of US treaties, laws and executive orders pertaining to Native American Indian tribes.
• International Indian Treaty Council
  An organization of Indigenous Peoples from North, Central, South America and the Pacific working for the Sovereignty and Self-Determination of Indigenous Peoples and the recognition and protection of Indigenous Rights, Traditional Cultures and Sacred Lands.
• Legal Information Institute - Indian Law
  Links to the US Constitution, relevent titles in the US Code and case law from various courts.
• Native American Law - New England School of Law
  Primary material, bibliographies, collections of Internet resources, cultural property organizations, individual Indian nations,other Aboriginal and Indigenous Peoples' sites.
• The Harvard Project on American Indian Economic Development
  Topical reports covering issues such as tribal courts and alternative dispute resolution, indigenous people in international law, intellectual property rights, and resource management.
• Tribal Court Clearinghouse - a project of the Tribal Law and Policy Institute
  Tribal, federal and state legislation and case law, directory of contacts, resources by topic and a section on emerging issues.

Latin America - South and Central

• Indigenous people, Law and Politics in Peru
• International Indian Treaty Council
  An organization of Indigenous Peoples from North, Central, South America and the Pacific working for the Sovereignty and Self-Determination of Indigenous Peoples and the recognition and protection of Indigenous Rights, Traditional Cultures and Sacred Lands.
• WORLDLII - South America
  Each country listed contains categories for indigenous law and human rights.

Asia

• Asian Law Online
  Keyword: Indigenous retrieves articles on indigenous populations. Keyword: Ainu retrieves articles on human rights and constitutional protection.
• Asian Indigenous Law in interaction with received law
  Masaji Chiba, 1986.
• Bibliography of Asian Studies
  Western-language articles and book chapters on all parts of Asia published since 1971. Try advanced search: keywords Ainu AND law, Indigenous AND law
• Foundation for Ainu Culture 
• IWGIA publications
• Report on a new policy for the Ainu: A critique
  Report from HURIGHTS Osaka on the pros and cons of the 1996 report from the Japanese government recognising the Ainu as a distinct and separate ethnic group. For more information search the UN website.

Europe

• Báiki: The North American Sámi Journal
  A current affairs and indigenous issues magazine. Contents of back issues are also available.
• Dam a river, damn a people? : Sámi (Lapp) livelihood and the Alta/Kautokeino Hydro-Electric Project and the Norwegian Parliament
  IWGIA report 45.
• Do Fences Make Good Neighbors - The Influence of Territoriality on Sámi-State Relations
  Land and resource rights and state responses to Sámi self determination.
• Historical Synopsis of the Sámi / United Nations Relationship
  Paper by Christian Jakob Brumeister Hicks discussing relationships with the ILO and World Council of Indigenous Peoples.
• Land Rights, Linguistic Rights, and Cultural Autonomy for the Finnish Sámi People
  The Finnish Sámi Parliament, 1997.
• Regnor Jernsletten "The Land Sales Act of 1902 as Means of Norwegianization" (1986) 3(1) Acta Borealia 3
• IWGIA publications
  See Saamiland/Sampi for Sámi articles in Indigenous Issues journal.
• Sámi Movement, Norwegian Labour Party and Sámi Rights
• Self determination and indigenous peoples: Sámi rights and northern perspectives
  IWGIA report 58.
• The Sámi Council
• The Sámi of Lapland
  Minority Rights Group Report No. 55, London. 1982.

Pacific Islands

Databases

• Linxplus
  An index of journal articles from New Zealand law journals. Some international coverage. Good source of information on Pacific law. Select Analytical Materials to limit search to articles.
• Index New Zealand
  Indexes over 300 journals and magazines. Coverage includes some pan-tribal and iwi specific publications.
• Newztext Plus
  Full-text magazines and newspapers. Will provide commentary on events in the Pacific.
• Newzindex
  Index of magazines, journals and newspapers. Will provide commentary on events in the Pacific.

Web resources

• Legal Foundation for Hawaiian Independence
  Part of Hawai'i Independent and Sovereign. This section provides constitutions of the Kingdom of Hawai'i, annexation and overthrow documents.
• PACLII
  An initiative of the University of the South Pacific School of Law to promote access to Pacific law. Resources listed by country, links to recent cases, articles from the Journal of South Pacific Law, and conference information.
• University of the South Pacific
  Primary and secondary legal materials from around the Pacific.
• WORLDLII - Pacific Law Sites
  Legal resources listed by country.

New Zealand Law Style Guide

All written work completed for the Faculty of Law must comply with the New Zealand Law Style Guide.

Support

• Referencing
  Access a range of tools and support material to assist your referencing work.

Examples

• Quick©ite
  Use this interactive tool to view examples of references.
  Covers a range of styles used at the University of Auckland including the NZLSG.