European Union legal resources
Use the Catalogue to find material in the University of Auckland Library’s collection of law reports, books, journals, theses and dissertations.
Key databases
- Westlaw International
Includes European Union legislation, cases, treaties, OJC series, and legal journals (Explore Westlaw International > International Materials > European Union). - Lexis Advance
Explore US Research > International > View All Countries > European Union to find the European Union legal resources.
Full list of library databases for Law.
Key databases | Case law online
Key databases
Use the following databases when you are looking for European Union cases:
- Westlaw International
Explore Westlaw International > International Materials > European Union > All European Union Cases to find:- decisions from Court of Justice of the European Communities from 1954
- decisions from Court of First Instance of the European Communities from 1989
- judgments and orders of the Court of Justice covered by the Official Journal of the European Community, C Series from 1985
- Lexis Advance
Explore US Research > International > View All Countries > European Union > All European Union Cases. - Court of Justice of the European Union (CURIA)
Access to judgments and decisions from the Court of Justice of the European Union. - EUR-Lex - Case Law
- Europa - European Union Case Law
- European Court of Human Rights
Access to judgments and decisions from the European Court of Human Rights and case-law analysis.
Case law online
- All England Law Reports European Cases
Also available in Lexis Advance from 1995 (not currently updated): Explore US Research > International > View All Countries > European Union > All European Union Cases > All England Law Reports European Cases (Archive). - Common Market Law Reports
Also available in Westlaw from 1963. Full-text decisions from the Court of Justice of the European Communities, the Court of First Instance of the European Communities, the European Free Trade Association Court, and the Commission of the European Communities, as well as national courts and tribunals of European Union member states. - Entertainment and Media Law Reports
Also in Westlaw from 1993. Full-text decisions from the Copyright Tribunal, the High Court of Justice, and other United Kingdom appellate courts, and the Court of Justice and Court of First Instance of the European Communities that relate to entertainment and media law, including libel, publishing contracts, breach of confidence, and copyright. - Environmental Law Reports
Also available in Westlaw from 1993. Full-text decisions related to environmental law from courts in the United Kingdom and the Court of Justice of the European Communities. Editorial commentary examines issues raised in significant cases. - European Commercial Cases
Available in Westlaw from 1978. Selected full-text decisions related to international commercial trade from courts in the United Kingdom and the European Union, as well as the domestic courts of European Union member states, Australia, and the United States. - European Copyright and Design Reports
Available in Westlaw from 2000. Full-text case law reports from European Copyright and Design Reports, which covers copyright decisions from many European courts. - European Human Rights Reports
Also available in Westlaw from 1979. Full-text decisions from the European Court of Human Rights and selected reports and decisions from the European Commission of Human Rights, as well as settlements and resolutions of the Committee of Ministers. - European Patent Office Reports
Available in Westlaw from 1979. Full-text decisions of the European Patent Office and its boards of appeal, including cross-references to rules of the European Patent Convention, as reported in European Patent Office Reports. - European Trade Mark Reports
Available in Westlaw from 1996. Full-text trademark decisions of the Court of Justice of the European Communities, the Court of First Instance of the European Communities, designated trademark courts, and domestic courts, as well as trademark applications submitted to and decisions of the Office for Harmonization in the Internal Market (Opposition Division and boards of appeal). - Fleet Street Reports
Also available in Westlaw from 1966. Full-text decisions from courts and tribunals in the United Kingdom, Ireland, the Commonwealth, and the European Union related to intellectual and industrial property, including litigation in areas such as software, computer contracts, biotechnology, pharmaceuticals, and merchandising.
- Westlaw International
-
Lexis Advance
Explore US Research > International > View All Countries > European Union > All European Statutes & Legislation. -
Council of Europe
Includes the treaties of the Council of Europe. - EUR-Lex
Access to European Union law including:- Treaties
- Legal acts
- International agreements
Covers all the instruments produced by the EU in the exercise of its international responsibilities. - Preparatory documents
Includes documents used to prepare EU legislation, produced during the various stages of the legislative and budgetary process. - EFTA documents
Covers the full text of acts adopted by the EFTA institutions (Surveillance Authority, Standing Committee, Court) and published in the Official Journal from 1994 onward. - Lawmaking procedures
Includes materials documenting the life cycle of a legislative proposal from the moment it is launched until the final law is adopted.
- EUROPA
A portal to European Union resources including European Union Law. Provides access to the European Commission, the Council of the European Union, the European Parliament including the daily Parliamentary agenda, the President's website.
Use the Catalogue to find European Union legal journals in the University of Auckland Library. Or search the following databases when you are looking for European Union legal journal articles:
Key databases
- Westlaw International
Explore Directory > International/Worldwide Materials > European Union. - Lexis Advance
International legal content. - HeinOnline
Legal databases including the full text of key American, Canadian and international law reviews and journals. - Index to Foreign Legal Periodicals
Indexes selected international and comparative law journals, including many materials covering the European Union. - ProQuest Central
A wide variety of business journals covering European affairs.
Law journals online
- Common Market Law Review
- EU Focus
Available in Westlaw from 2001 (Iss 47). Offers impartial and reliable 'Euro' intelligence in the area of European Law, highlighting the areas and issues of importance to the professional. - European Business Organization Law Review
Also available in Westlaw and Lexis.com from 2000. A leading European publication addressing all legal aspects of business organisation. - European Competition Law Review
Also available in Westlaw from 1986 (vol 7). Covers antitrust and related trade regulation issues in the European Union and its member states, as well as in major European Union trading nations such as the United States, Australia, and Japan. Articles provide analysis on important cases and legislative developments. - European Constitutional Law Review
Also available in Westlaw and Lexis.com from 2005. Contains articles on doctrine, scholarship and history, plus jurisprudence and book reviews. Its scope is European law and constitutional law, history and theory, comparative law and jurisprudence. - European Human Rights Law Review
Also available in Westlaw from 1996. Articles and other materials which analyze and report on European human rights law. Provides a forum for debate on the European Convention of Human Rights. - European Intellectual Property Review
Also available in Westlaw from 1986 (vol 8). Covers intellectual property issues, as well as analysis of relevant court decisions, legislation, and regulation in the United Kingdom and the European Union, including news from the World Intellectual Property Organisation. - European Journal of International Law
Also in available in Westlaw from 2002 (vol 13). - European Law Review
Also available in Westlaw from 1986 (vol 11). Covers legal developments in the European Union, member states of the European Union, and the Council of Europe. Also includes reports of new case law and commentary on European Union legislation. - European Public Private Partnership Law Review
Also available in Westlaw from 2013. - European Union Global Competition & Antitrust - Journals and Law Reviews
Available in Westlaw. Combination database that includes global competition and antitrust-related articles from European Union publications. Coverage varies by publication. - European Union International Commercial Arbitration - Journals and Law Reviews
Available in Westlaw. Combination database that includes articles from legal periodicals from European Union countries. Coverage varies by publication.
- EUR-Lex
Access to European Union Law. - EUROPA
Access to official European Union resources including European Union law. - European Commission
Access to the policies and information of the European Commission including its justice and fundamental rights. - EUObserver
An independent news service. - EURActive
A news portal dedicated to EU affairs, funded by sponsorship. - EuroStat
An official portal for EU data, maintained by the Statistical Office of the European Communities. - HccH
Hague Conference on Private International Law. - RAPID
A searchable database of press release information. - European Union Law Guide
A guide created and maintained by Bodelian Law Library. - European Union Research Guide
A guide created and maintained by Georgetown Law Library.
New Zealand Law Style Guide
All written work completed for the Faculty of Law must comply with the New Zealand Law Style Guide (See rules 10.5.1, 10.5.3 and 10.5.4 for citing cases and rule 10.5.2 for citing legislation).
For further guidance on the citation of European Union legal sources not covered by the New Zealand Law Style Guide, see the latest edition of Guide to Foreign and International Legal Citations, published by New York University School of Law.
Support
- Referencing
Access a range of tools and support material to assist your referencing work.
Examples
- Quick©ite
Use this interactive tool to view examples of references.
Covers a range of styles used at the University of Auckland.
Last updated : 25 November 2022
