Environmental law
Use the Catalogue to find material in the University of Auckland Library’s collection of law reports, books, journals, theses and dissertations.
New Zealand
- Westlaw NZ
Includes the practice area Environment & Resources which contains New Zealand legal resources on resource management and environmental law. - Lexis Advance
Access to New Zealand Statutes and Regulations including core legislation and commentary on resource management and environmental law, and cases from the New Zealand Resource Management Appeals.
International
- Westlaw International
Legislation, case law, commentary and law reviews and journals from the United States, United Kingdom, Canada, Australia, European Union and other jurisdictions (Explore Westlaw International > Directory > Topical Practice Areas > Environmental Law). - Lexis Advance
Explore US Research > Browse > Sources > By Practice Area > Environmental Law to find legal information on environmental law. - HeinOnline
Includes the Foreign & International Law Resources Database, Index to Foreign Legal Periodicals (IFLP) and United Nations Law Collection databases where the international environmental law is also covered.
New Zealand
Use these databases for cases on resource management and environmental law:
- Westlaw NZ - Cases
- Linxplus available in Lexis Advance
- New Zealand Law Reports (NZLR) 1883-
Official report series of New Zealand. It includes decisions of the Supreme Court of New Zealand, Court of Appeal and High Court. - District Court Reports (DCR) 1980-
Environmental |
Resource management |
|
|
Land use |
Fisheries |
|
|
Māori land law |
Local government |
|
|
International
- Westlaw International
Includes some United Nations resources and judgments of international courts. - Lexis Advance
Includes some International Court of Justice resources.
International environmental case law |
|
New Zealand
- New Zealand Legislation website
New Zealand official legislation. Includes core legislation on resource management and environmental law. - Westlaw NZ
Select Environment & Resources under Practice Area to view the Resource Management Acts and regulations, National Environment Standards, Policy Statements. Fisheries Law includes all legislation on fisheries. - These are the core Acts:
- Lexis Advance
Access to New Zealand Statutes and New Zealand Regulations including core legislation on resource management and environmental law. The View Legislation Citator link provides references to case law and other commentaries.
International
- United Nations Treaty Collection
Bilateral and multilateral treaties where the topic environment is covered. The UN Official Document System has background information. - WorldLii - International Treaties & Agreements - Environment
Bilateral and multilateral treaties by the subject - environment.
Legal encyclopedia | Key textbooks | Commentaries | Legal dictionaries | Reference materials
Legal encyclopedia
- Laws of New Zealand
The legal encyclopedia of New Zealand includes the topics of Environment and Resource Management.
Key textbooks
- Environmental and Resource Management Law Derek Nolan (ed)
- Environmental Law in New Zealand Peter Salmon and David Grinlinton
- Focus on Resource Management Law Ceri Warnock and Maree Baker-Galloway
Search for titles in the Catalogue. Davis Law Library holds a selection of titles on Environmental and Resource Management Law at KN94.
Commentaries
Environmental |
Resource management |
|
|
Land use |
Fisheries |
International
Environmental |
|
Legal dictionaries
- New Zealand Law Dictionary
This legal dictionary provides definitions of words and phrases established in decided cases and legislation. Online version: Dictionary of New Zealand Law.
Reference materials
- Atlas of New Zealand Boundaries Jan Kelly and Brian Marshall
- Dictionary of Environment and Conservation Chris C Park
- Dictionary of Environmental and Climate Change Law
- Dictionary of Natural Resource Management (4th ed) JA Dunster
- Encyclopedia of Energy
Covers all forms of energy, the interplay between energy use and the environment, the effect of energy on history and society, a glossary of energy terms and a chronology of important events. - The NZ Infrastructure, Water & Environment Directory
- Place Names of New Zealand AW Reed and Peter Dowling
Key databases
- Linxplus available in Lexis Advance
Index of New Zealand and selected international legal journals. - AGIS Plus Text
Index of Australian, New Zealand, and Pacific law journals, including selected articles from the United States, Canada and the United Kingdom. - Index to Legal Periodicals and Books
Authoritative index of articles from law journals, law reviews, and yearbooks from United States, Canada, United Kingdom, Ireland, Australia and New Zealand from 1978. - LegalTrac
Index of law reviews, international law journals, bar association journals and legal newspapers from the United States and a few publications from Canada, United Kingdom and Australia. Coverage from 1980.
For more article databases, see the guide to International legal journals.
Key journals
New Zealand
- Brookers Resource Management Gazette: The Weekly Digest 1994-2004
- Butterworths Resource Management Bulletin 1994-2002
- MAF RM update 1999-2006
- New Zealand Environmental Law Reporter 1994-1996
- New Zealand Journal of Environmental Law 1997-
- Pacific Ecologist 2002-
- Pacific World: An International Quarterly on Peace & Ecojustice 1986-2001
- Planning Quarterly 1982-
- Resource Management Act: Two-yearly survey of local authorities 1998-2008
- Resource Management Bulletin 2002- (previously Butterworths Resource Management Bulletin)
- Resource Management Journal 1999-
- YourEnvironment (current awareness) 2005-
International
- Asia Pacific Journal of Environmental Law 2009-
- The Australasian Journal of Natural Resources Law and Policy 1995-
- Australian Journal of Environmental Management 1994-
- Environmental and planning law journal 1984- also available on Westlaw NZ
- Environmental Law Review 1999-
- European energy and environmental law review 1992-
- European Environmental Law Review 1992-
- International and comparative environmental law 2000-
- Journal of Environmental Law 1989-
- Journal for European Environmental & Planning Law 2004-
- Macquarie Journal of International and Comparative Environmental law 2004-
- Review of European Community & International Environmental law: RECIEL 1992-
- Review of European, comparative & International Environmental Law 1998-
- Traditional Marine Resource Management and Knowledge Information Bulletin 1992-
- Yearbook of European Environmental Law 2000-2007
- Yearbook of International Environmental Law 1991-
New Zealand
- Biodiversity NZ
Aotearoa New Zealand’s native biodiversity, both its conservation and its management. - Building Research Association of New Zealand (BRANZ)
Resources for the building industry and building environment. - Department of Conservation (DOC)
Government agency charged with conserving New Zealand’s natural and historic heritage. Includes science publications such as stand-alone books, reports, science posters, factsheets and government information on conservation. - Department of Internal Affairs (DIA)
Government resources from the DIA such as government reports, research reports and consultation documents. Available under the Publications and Reports tab. - Energy Efficiency and Conservation Authority (EECA)
Information about supporting and promoting energy efficiency, energy conservation, and the use of renewable sources of energy in New Zealand. - Environmental Protection Authority (EPA)
Government information on resource management and a variety of the EPA publications and resources. - Heritage New Zealand
Resources for the conservation of New Zealand heritage such as magazines, research papers, guides, and annual reports. - LINZ Data Service
Geospatial data and maps: topographic, geodetic, hydrographic, property, roads, and other areas. Preview GIS layers; download for use in ArcGIS, Google Earth, and CAD. - Land Information New Zealand (LINZ)
Corporate Publications including government reports and policy documents. The Knowledge Base has detailed information around the property transaction and survey process, and the Landonline application. - Landcare Research
Resources for landcare research. The Landcare Research Digital Library has scanned versions of reports from the Department of Scientific and Industrial Research (DSIR) and the Forest Research Institute (FRI). - Local Government NZ
A list of completed and upcoming submissions, and publications. - Māori Land Online
Current ownership, trustee, memorial and block information for land that falls within the jurisdiction of the Māori Land Court under Te Ture Whenua Māori Act 1993 and other legislation. - Ministry of Agriculture and Forestry (MAF)
Government information and resources for climate change, forestry, sustainable farming and other areas. MAF's regular specialist publications can be found under the Publications tab. - Ministry of Business, Innovation and Employment (MBIE) - Building Performance
Directs and supports people through the building process to achieve compliance with building regulations. - Ministry for Primary Industries (MPI) - Fisheries
Government information and resources for New Zealand fisheries. - New Zealand Centre for Environmental Law (NZCEL)
The NZCEL is a specialist research centre hosted by the Faculty of Law at the University of Auckland with resources for New Zealand Environmental Law, Comparative Environmental Law, Global Environmental Law. - New Zealand Ministry for the Environment (MFE)
The Publications tab contains MFE materials on various topics related to the environment and resource management. - New Zealand Petroleum & Minerals (NZP&M)
Rules and regulations for prospecting, exploration and mining Crown-owned minerals in New Zealand, and a number of publications about the oil, gas and mineral industries in New Zealand. - Parliamentary Commissioner for the Environment
Website of the Commissioner who provides independent advice to Parliament on matters concerning the environment. - Resource Management Law Association of New Zealand Inc (RMLA)
The Case Law tab contains case summaries from recent years. The Publications tab provides access to journals, newsletters and other publications of the Association. - Quality Planning (QP)
Information on Resource Management Act processes and environmental policy for resource management practitioners. - Te Ohu Kaimoana
The Maori Fisheries Trust website.
International
- American Society of International Law (ASIL) Electronic Resources Guide (ERG)
Click on the appropriate link for International Environmental Law. - European Commission - Environment
Policy and legal resources on the environment in the European Union. - OECD - Environment
Environment focussed reports, guidelines and working papers from the OECD. - United Nations Environment Programme (UNEP)
UN resources on the environment. - WorldLII - Environment
New Zealand Law Style Guide
All written work completed for the Faculty of Law must comply with the New Zealand Law Style Guide.
Support
- Referencing
Access a range of tools and support material to assist your referencing work.
Examples
- Quick©ite
Use this interactive tool to view examples of references.
Covers a range of styles used at the University of Auckland.
Last updated : 6 December 2022
