Employment law
Use the Catalogue to find material in the University of Auckland Library’s collection of law reports, books, journals, theses and dissertations.
Key databases
- Lexis Advance
Includes core legislation and commentary on employment (for example Mazengarb's Employment Law) and the New Zealand Employment Law Reports (NZELR). - Westlaw NZ
Contains employment legislation, cases and commentaries. - IntelliConnect
Contains core legislation, case law and commentary on employment.
Case law databases | Key law reports
Case law databases
Use these databases for cases on employment law:
- Westlaw NZ - Employment Law Cases
- Linxplus
- Employment Law Database
Includes cases from the Employment Relations Authority (ERA), Employment Court and related jurisdictions since 1976. - Employment Court of New Zealand cases from 1988
- Accident Compensation Cases from 1899
- New Zealand Accident Compensation Appeal Authority Decisions from 1978
- New Zealand Accident Compensation Appeals - ACC Appeal Decisions from 1993
Key law reports
- Employment Reports of New Zealand (ERNZ) available in Westlaw NZ
- Judgments of the Arbitration Court of New Zealand (ACJ)
- New Zealand Industrial Law Reports (NZILR)
- New Zealand Employment Law Cases (NZELC) available in IntelliConnect (CCH)
- New Zealand Employment Law Reports (NZELR) available in Lexis Advance
- New Zealand Law Reports (NZLR) available in Lexis Advance
Official report series of New Zealand. It includes decisions of the Supreme Court of New Zealand, Court of Appeal and High Court. - District Court Reports (DCR) available in Lexis Advance
Official employment legislation | Employment legislation in legal databases
Official employment legislation
Statutes
See also the Versions and amendments tab for reprints at different times.
Legislative instruments
Employment legislation in legal databases
Westlaw NZ
Access to Weslaw NZ - Legislation and Westlaw NZ - Bills including core legislation and amendments on employment. Click the Citing References to find cross references to other resources including journal articles.
- Employment Relations (Prescribed Matters) Regulations 2000 and other related amendment acts.
- Holidays Act 2003 and other related acts and amendment acts.
- Health and Safety at Work Act 2015 and Regulations and other related acts and regulations.
- Westlaw NZ - Employment Legislation select Historic Law to find repealed acts.
- Access to New Zealand Statutes and New Zealand Regulations including core legislation and amendments on employment.
- Click on View Legislation Citator in a particular part of an act for cross references to cases and commentary.
- Access to assent acts, repealed acts, as-made regulations and revoked regulations.
- Use Index to New Zealand Statutes to find legislation by topic.
IntelliConnect (CCH)
Access to a variety of legal resources on employment law including cases, legislation and commentary.
- Employment Law Cases.
- Employment Law Legislation to find an act by heading or Legislation Index.
- Employment Law Commentary.
Legal encyclopedia | Legal dictionary | Commentaries | Key textbooks
Legal encyclopedia
- Laws of New Zealand
The legal encyclopedia of New Zealand includes Employment and other related topics.
Legal dictionary
- Dictionary of New Zealand Law
Definitions of words and phrases established in decided cases and legislation.
Commentaries
- Mazengarb's Employment Law (Lexis Advance).
- Employment Law (Westlaw NZ).
- NZ Employment Law Commentary (CCH IntelliConnect).
- Personal Grievances (Lexis Advance).
Key textbooks
- Richard Rudman New Zealand Employment Law Guide: 2020 Edition (CCH New Zealand, Auckland, 2020).
- Gordon Anderson and John Hughes Employment Law in New Zealand (LexisNexis NZ, Wellington, 2014).
- Linda Pattullo Top 100 Questions and Answers on Employment Law (CCH New Zealand, Auckland, 2012).
- Erling Rasmussen (ed) Employment Relationships: Workers, Unions and Employers in New Zealand (2nd ed, Auckland University Press, Auckland, 2010).
Search for titles in the Catalogue. The Davis holds a selection of titles on employment law at KN190.
Key databases | Key journals online
Key databases
- Linxplus available in Lexis Advance
Index of New Zealand and selected international legal journals. - AGIS Plus Text
Index of Australian, New Zealand, and Pacific law journals, including selected articles from the United States, Canada and the United Kingdom. - Index to Legal Periodicals and Books
Authoritative index of articles from law journals, law reviews, and yearbooks from United States, Canada, United Kingdom, Ireland, Australia and New Zealand from 1978. - LegalTrac
Index of law reviews, international law journals, bar association journals and legal newspapers from the United States and a few publications from Canada, United Kingdom and Australia. Coverage from 1980.
For more article databases, see International legal journals.
Key journals online
- ABA Journal of Labor & Employment law from 1985
- American University Labor & Employment Law Forum from 2011
- British Journal of Industrial Relations from 1963
- Canadian Labour & Employment Law Journal from 1992
- Employment Law Bulletin 1997- also available in Lexis Advance
- The Industrial Law Journal from 1972
- Journal of Industrial Relations 1959-1991 also available in Sage Journals
- New Zealand Journal of Employment Relations from 2004
- New Zealand Law Journal from 1928 also available in Lexis Advance from 1925
- Safeguard from 1988 also available in Westlaw NZ from 2009
Use the Catalogue Advanced Search and select Journals as Format to view availability of all legal journals located in print in the Davis Law Library.
New Zealand
- Accident Compensation Appeal Authority
Explains the operation, relevant legislation of the court, and also includes the decisions from the Authority since 2010. - Bills Digests
Summary materials published by New Zealand Parliament. - Employment Court
Explains the operation, practice direction, legislation and rules of the court, and also includes the judgments from the court since 2006. - Employment Relations Authority
An independent body set up under the Employment Relations Act 2000 which helps to resolve employment relationship problems. - Hansard
For Parliamentary Debates concerning employment amendment bills. - Human Rights Commission
Includes a summary of human rights legislation in New Zealand, information on the complaints process, sexual harassment and discrimination. - Ministry of Business, Innovation and Employment
Access to information, law and policy as well as publications and research papers on employment from the department. - Parliamentary Business
The business of Parliament, including Bills, Supplementary Order Papers, Order Papers, debates, oral and written questions, daily progress (summary of business of the House for the most recent week), Journals, papers, petitions presented, Standing Orders, Speakers' Rulings, and sessional orders. Select Committees Membership, Bills before committees, select committee reports. Bills Digests Summary materials published by the Parliamentary Library.
International
- Australian Treaties Series: Subject - Labour (AustLII)
- Emplaw online
British employment law. - Eurofound (European Foundation for the Improvement of Living and Working Conditions)
The tripartite EU agency providing knowledge to assist in the development of social and work-related policies. - International Labour Organisation (ILO)
An international organisation which aims to ensure that it serves the needs of working women and men by bringing together governments, employers and workers to set labour standards, develop policies and devise programmes. - Legal Information Institute - Employment
Created and maintained by Cornell University Law School. - NATLEX (International Labour Organisation)
Database of national labour, social security and related human rights legislation covering 196 countries and over 160 territories. - World Legal Information Institute (WorldLII) - Employment Law
New Zealand Law Style Guide
All written work completed for the Faculty of Law must comply with the New Zealand Law Style Guide.
Support
- Referencing
Access a range of tools and support material to assist your referencing work.
Examples
- Quick©ite
Use this interactive tool to view examples of references.
Covers a range of styles used at the University of Auckland.
Last updated : 6 December 2022
