Australian legal resources

Use the Catalogue to find material in the University of Auckland Library’s collection of law reports, books, journals, theses and dissertations.

Full list of library databases for Law.

Authorised (official) report series | Case law online | Case citators | Law report abbreviations

Australian authorised (official) report series

Authorised reports have been officially approved by the Council of Law Reporting. Judgments reproduced in authorised reports have been approved by a judge or their associate.

Commonwealth

South Australia

Australian Capital Territory

Tasmania

New South Wales

Victoria

Northern Territory

Western Australia

Queensland

 

 

Top of page

Case law online

Use the following databases to locate Australian cases:

See Also

  • ACT Supreme Court for Supreme Court judgments from 1963 and Court of Appeal judgments from 2002.
  • AustLII for Commonwealth, State and Territory case law.
  • Federal Court of Australia e-Search
    Online case information system containing selected information on cases initiated in the Federal Court of Australia and in the federal law jurisdiction of the Federal Circuit Court of Australia (formerly the Federal Magistrates Court of Australia).
  • BarNetJade
    Legal judgments and decisions from Australian and international courts and tribunals.
     

Top of page

Case citators

  • CaseBase (in Lexis Advance).
    Covers over 60 Australian and overseas report series and the unreported decisions of the High Court, the Federal Court and the Supreme Courts of all Australian states and territories and other selected jurisdictions.

Top of page

Law report abbreviations

Top of page

Australian legislation

For access to Commonwealth materials:

  • Federal Register of Legislation
    Previously called COMLAW. Provides access to Australian Government Legislation and related documents managed by the Office of the Parliamentary Counsel.
  • Parliament of Australia ParlInfo Search
    Search Australian Parliamentary collections including Hansard, senate journals, notice papers and much more.
  • Explanatory Memoranda Index
    Indexes all items identified as Explanatory or Comparative Memoranda for Bills introduced into the Commonwealth Parliament from 1901-1982.

For access to individual state and territory materials: 

Top of page

Legal encyclopedia | Legal commentaries | Legal dictionaries

Australian legal encyclopedia

  • Halsbury's Laws of Australia
    This is an Australian legal encyclopedia available in Lexis Advance, providing commentary on a comprehensive range of topics.
  • Laws of Australia
    Not held at the Davis Law Library.

Australian legal commentaries

Top of page

Australian legal dictionaries

Top of page

Journal indexes

Use the following databases when looking for journal articles:

  • AGIS Plus Text
    Index of Australian, New Zealand, and Pacific law journals from 1975.
  • AustLII - Journals
    Searches over 40 academic law journals from Australia.
  • CaseBase Journal Articles (in Lexis Advance)
    Index of legal journal articles from Australia and some overseas jurisdictions.
  • Westlaw NZ (Brookers Online)
    Access to selected full text Australian journals.
  • HeinOnline
    Full text law reviews and journals, with selected Australian content.
  • Index to Legal Periodicals and Books
    Index of articles from law journals, law reviews, and yearbooks from 1981, including some Australian titles.
  • Lexis Advance
  • Westlaw International
    Explore the Australia tab at the top OR explore Directory > International/Worldwide Materials > Asia and the Pacific Rim > Individual Country Materials > Australia > Bar Journals and Legal Periodicals.

Parliament | Parliamentary debates | Government websites | Law reform agencies | Other materials

Parliament

Top of page

Parliamentary debates

Top of page

Government websites

Top of page

Law reform agencies

Top of page

Other materials

  • Australian Government Web Archive
    A collection of Commonwealth Government websites that complements the PANDORA Archive.
  • Australia's Legal System
    Information on Australia's legal system, produced by the Australian Government Attorney-General's Department.
  • The Australian Treaties Database
    Online resource for researching treaties to which Australia is a signatory, or where Australia as taken other treaty action.
  • Federal Court of Australia - Publications
    A comprehensive list of publications provided by the Federal Court of Australia.
  • FindLaw Australia
    Free legal information including a directory for finding lawyers and law firms and a starting place for understanding the law.
  • Foolkit
    Collection of legal resources, for lawyers and the public, for each State of Australia.
  • GovPubs: the Australian Government Publications Guide
    A guide to selected types of Australian government publications located in Australia's National, State and Territory libraries or available on the internet. Although this database is no longer maintained, much of the information is historical in nature and the links are still functional.
  • GlobaLex - Australia
    A guide to the Australian Federal legal system online research resources, with some reference to the state level.
  • PANDORA (Preserving and Accessing Networked Documentary Resources of Australia) - Government and Law
    Provides links to over 6,000 government and law related items.
  • Parliament of Australia - Library
    Use the Library research tools to locate resources including radio and TV broadcasts, political press releases and party documents. Some publications are available online.

Top of page

New Zealand Law Style Guide

All written work completed for the Faculty of Law must comply with the New Zealand Law Style Guide.

For further guidance on the citation of Australian legal sources not covered by the New Zealand Law Style Guide, refer to the Australian Guide to Legal Citation, and cite as consistently as possible to the New Zealand Law Style Guide.

Support

  • Referencing
    Access a range of tools and support material to assist your referencing work.

Examples

  • Quick©ite
    Use this interactive tool to view examples of references.
    Covers a range of styles used at the University of Auckland including the NZLSG.

Last updated : 8 July 2019
Creative Commons License CC BY 4.0 Tautohu Matatiki 4.0 ā-Ao