Asia-Pacific legal resources

Use the Catalogue to find material in the University of Auckland Library’s collection of law reports, books, journals, theses and dissertations.

• Westlaw International
  Includes legal resources from China, Hong Kong, India, Iran, Israel, Japan, Korea, Kuwait, Lebanon, Russia, Singapore, Saudi Arabia, Taiwan, United Arab Emirates and Vietnam (Explore Westlaw International > International Materials > Other International Jurisdictions).
• Lexis Advance
  Explore US Research > International > View All Countries to find legal resources from Asia Pacific countries.
• HeinOnline
  Legal databases including the full text of key American, Canadian and international law reviews and journals.

Full list of library databases for Law.

China | Hong Kong | India | Korea | Malaysia | Pacific Island nations | Singapore

China

• World Legal Information Institute (WorldLII) - China Courts & Case Law
• China Guiding Cases Project
  By Stanford Law School.
• Judicial Transparency of Chinese Courts
  A white paper provided by the Supreme People's Court of the People's Republic of China.

Top of page

Hong Kong

• Westlaw International
  Explore Westlaw International > International Materials > Hong Kong > All Hong Kong Cases
• Lexis Advance
  Explore US Research > International > View All Countries > China & Hong Kong > All Hong Kong Cases
• Hong Kong Legal Information Institute (HKLII)
• World Legal Information Institute (WorldLII) Databases - Hong Kong
• Judiciary of the Hong Kong Special Administrative Region (HKSAR)
  Including judgments and legal reference.

Top of page

India

• World Legal Information Institute (WorldLII) - India Courts & Case Law
• Indian Kanoon
  A collection of judgments from various courts in India.

Top of page

Korea

• Westlaw International
  Explore Westlaw International > International Materials > Korea > All Korea Cases - from 2000 to find the Supreme Court Reports, Appellate Court Reports and cases from the Constitutional Court.

Top of page

Malaysia

• Lexis Advance
  Explore US Research > International > View All Countries > Malaysia > Malayan Law Journal & Malayan Law Journal Unreporteds
• World Legal Information Institute (WorldLII) - Malaysia Courts & Case Law
• Commonwealth Legal Information Institute (CommonLII) - Malaysian Federal Court
• Commonwealth Legal Information Institute (CommonLII) - Malaysian Court of Appeal
• High Court of Malaya Decisions
• High Court of Sabah and Sarawak Decisions

Top of page

Pacific Island nations

• Pacific Islands Legal Information Institute (PacLII)
  Case law for American Samoa, Cook Islands, Federated States of Micronesia, Fiji Islands, Kiribati, Marshall Islands, Nauru, Niue, Papua New Guinea, Pitcairn Island, Samoa, Solomon Islands, Tokelau, Tonga, Tuvalu, and Vanuatu.

Top of page

Singapore

• Singapore Law Reports in vLexjustis
• Asian Legal Information Institute (AsianLII) - Singapore
• World Legal Information Institute (WorldLII) - Singapore Courts & Case Law

Top of page

China | Hong Kong | India | Korea | Malaysia | Pacific Island nations | Singapore

China

• Westlaw International
  Explore Westlaw International > International Materials > Other International Jurisdictions > China.
• Lexis Advance
  Explore US Research > International > View All Countries > China & Hong Kong > LexisNexis® China Law Database.
• LawInfoChina
  Access to English translations of selected Chinese legislation.
• Asian Legal Information Institute (AsianLII) - Laws of the People's Republic of China
• Asian Legal Information Institute (AsianLII) - Constitution of the People's Republic of China
• CHINA.ORG.CN - Biz Laws and Regulations
• Database of Chinese Laws and Regulations
• Database of National Labour, Social Security and Related Human Rights Legislation (NatLex) - China
  International Labour Organization website includes the national labour, social security and related human rights legislation of China, Taiwan and Hong Kong Special Administrative Region.
• Employment Protection Legislation Database (EPlex) - China
  Includes the employment protection legislation of China.
• Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations (FAO) - China
  Provides a national aquaculture legislation overview of China.
• State Intellectual Property Office of the People's Republic of China (SIPO)
• World Intellectual Property Organization (WIPO Lex) - China
  Includes the intellectual property (IP) laws and treaties of China.
• World Legal Information Institute (WorldLII) - China Legislation

Top of page

Hong Kong

• Westlaw International
  Explore Westlaw International > International Materials > Hong Kong > Hong Kong Legislation to find Hong Kong Special Administrative Region Ordinances, Subsidiary Legislation and selected constitutional documents currently in force.
• Lexis Advance
  Explore US Research > International > View All Countries > China & Hong Kong > All Hong Kong Statutes & Legislation > Laws of Hong Kong.
• Hong Kong Legal Information Institute (HKLII)
  All Case Law Database WorldLII Databases - Hong Kong Legislation.
• Hong Kong e-Legislation
  A database of Hong Kong legislation established and maintained by the Department of Justice of Hong Kong. It provides current and past versions of consolidated legislation dating back to 30 June 1997 and PDF copies marked “verified copy” have official legal status.
• Legislative Council of the Hong Kong Special Administrative Region (HKSAR)

Top of page

India

• World Legal Information Institute (WorldLII) - India Legislation
• Asian Legal Information Institute (AsianLII) - Indian Acts 1836-

Top of page

Korea

• Westlaw International
  Explore Westlaw International > International Materials > Korea > Korea Legislation

Top of page

Malaysia

• Lexis Advance
  Explore US Research > International > View All Countries > Malaysia > Statutes of Malaysia (English).
• World Legal Information Institute (WorldLII) - Malaysia Legislation

Top of page

Pacific Island nations

• Pacific Islands Legal Information Institute (PacLII)
  Access to legislation for American Samoa, Cook Islands, Federated States of Micronesia, Fiji Islands, Kiribati, Marshall Islands, Nauru, Niue, Papua New Guinea, Pitcairn Island, Samoa, Solomon Islands, Tokelau, Tonga, Tuvalu, and Vanuatu.

Top of page

Singapore

• Singapore Statutes Online
• World Legal Information Institute (WorldLII) - Singapore Legislation

Top of page

Use the Catalogue to find Asia Pacific legal journals in the University of Auckland Library’s collection. There are some journals freely available online on:

• Pacific Islands Legal Information Institute (PacLII)
• Asian Legal Information Institute (AsianLII)

Or use the following databases when you are looking for Asia Pacific legal journals:

Indexing databases

• AGIS Plus Text
  Covering over 30 years of authoritative and peer reviewed legal research from the Australasia and Asia-Pacific regions as indexed by the Commonwealth Attorney-General’s Department.
• Index to Foreign Legal Periodicals
  Multilingual index focusing on non-Anglo-American legal jurisdictions, including journal articles, reports, collections of essays and books, covering public and private international law, comparative and foreign law topics.
• Index to Legal Periodicals and Books
  Including international scholarly articles, symposia, jurisdictional surveys, court decisions, legislation, books, book reviews and more.
• LegalTrac
  Indexing for more than 1,400 titles including major law reviews, legal newspapers, bar association journals and international legal journals - all articles have been published since 1980.

Full-text databases

• Westlaw International
  Access to legal journals from different countries including Asia-Pacific countries (Explore Westlaw International > International Materials > Journals or World Journals).
• Lexis Advance
  Explore US Research > International > View All Countries to access the law reviews and journals from Asia Pacific countries.
• HeinOnline
  Legal databases including the full text of key American, Canadian and international law reviews and journals.

Law journals online

• AsiaLaw
• Asian international arbitration journal
• Asian Pacific American law journal
• Asia Pacific journal of environmental law
• Asia-Pacific journal on human rights and the law
• Asian-Pacific law and policy journal
• Asia Pacific law review
• China-EU law journal
• China law and practice
• China law reporter
• China law review
• China legal science
• Chinese journal of international law
• Chinese law and government
• Chinese law and policy review
• Chinese law and religion monitor
• Chinese (Taiwan) yearbook of international law and affairs
• City University of Hong Kong law review
• Columbia journal of Asian law
• East Asia law review
• Hong Kong law journal
• The Indian journal of law and technology
• Journal of Chinese law
• LAWASIA journal
• National Law School of India review
• NUJS law review (India)
• Peking University journal of legal studies
• Peking University transnational law review
• Singapore Academy of Law annual review of Singapore cases
• Singapore Academy of Law journal
• Singapore journal of legal studies
• Singapore law review
• The Singapore year book of international law
• Socio-legal review (India)
• Tsinghua China law review
• University of Malaya law review
• US-China law review

Top of page

• Association of Southeast Asian Nations (ASEAN)
  Contains country information via World Legal Information Institute (WorldLII).
• Asian Legal Information Institute (AsianLII)
  Developed by Australian Legal Information Institute (AustLII) in cooperation with partner institutions from several Asian countries and other legal information institutes.
• Asian Legal Information Institute (AsianLII) - China
• Asian Legal Information Institute (AsianLII) - Japan
• Asian Legal Information Institute (AsianLII) - India
• Asian Law Online
  Established by the Asian Law Centre, University of Melbourne.
• China Legal Information Center
  Legal information provided by the Ministry of Justice, People's Republic of China.
• A Complete Research Guide to the Laws of the People's Republic of China (PRC) (LLRX)
  Provides an overview of Chinese legal resources and links to primary and secondary sources.
• Food and Agriculture of the United Nations - China
• GlobaLex > China, Hong Kong, India, Korea, Japan, Malaysia, Singapore, South Pacific, Taiwan
• GlobaLex > Guide on Researching Chinese Mass Media Law
• Guide to Law Online
  Links to legal information on individual nations of the world provided by the Library of Congress, including China, Hong Kong, India, Japan, Korea, Malaysia, Singapore, Taiwan.
• Judicial Reform in China 
  A white paper issued by the Information Office of the State Council, The People’s Republic of China in October 2012.
• Law of the Pacific Islands: A Guide to Web Based Resources (LLRX) by Ruth Bird, 2008 with updates
• Legal Research Guides on China, Hong Kong, India, and Japan
  created and maintained by the Library of Congress.
• Official Publications of the Chinese Government
  Includes the white papers, budget, work and plan reports produced by the Central People's Government of the People's Republic of China.
• Pacific Islands Legal Information Institute (PacLII)
  An initiative of the University of the South Pacific School of Law.
• South Pacific selected country information via WorldLII
• White Papers of the Chinese Government
  A list of the white papers produced by the Information Office of the State Council, The People’s Republic of China.
   

New Zealand Law Style Guide

All written work completed for the Faculty of Law must comply with the New Zealand Law Style Guide.

For further guidance on the citation of Asia Pacific legal sources not covered by the New Zealand Law Style Guide, see the latest edition of Guide to Foreign and International Legal Citations, published by New York University School of Law.

Support

• Referencing
  Access a range of tools and support material to assist your referencing work.

Examples

• Quick©ite
  Use this interactive tool to view examples of references.
  Covers a range of styles used at the University of Auckland.