Geospatial data

Geospatial, spatial or location-based data

Maps, aerial and satellite images, GIS (Geographic Information Systems) layers or files, LiDAR (Light Detection and Ranging) and some forms of tabular data, e.g., census statistics, are common types of geospatial data. In the broadest terms, geospatial data or information identifies a location on earth.

Finding more databases

  1. Go to Library Databases.
  2. Search for geospatial to find all Library databases with significant amounts of this type of data.
    OR
  3. Refine a subject search by selecting Geospatial data as the Database type (far right of screen).
    E.g., search for planning, then refine by Geospatial data.
 

Image: StatsMaps, developed by Statistics NZ to support the release of 2013 census data.

What is geospatial data?  |  Library resources  |  New Zealand resources  | International resources  |  Internet search tips

What is geospatial data?

Also known as location-based or spatial data, geospatial data comes in a range of forms including maps, aerial and satellite images, GIS (Geographic Information Systems) layers or files, LiDAR (Light Detection and Ranging) and some forms of tabular data, e.g., census statistics. Regardless of the type, format, or purpose of the data or information, geospatial data always has a location or place in the real world.

Top of page

Library resources

  • Library databases
    Search for geospatial to find all Library databases with significant amounts of this type of data.
    OR
    Refine a subject search by selecting Geospatial data as the Database type (far right of screen). E.g., search for planning, then refine by Geospatial data.
  • Use the Catalogue to find datasets (CD-ROM), maps and aerial photographs in the University of Auckland Library’s notable collection.
  • Visit the General Library Map Room for access to sheet maps (including, historic, geological, property, etc.) atlases and aerial photographs.

Top of page

New Zealand resources

Top of page

International resources

Many online GIS, notably ArcGIS Online and Google Earth, have significant data resources/GIS layers/base maps available within the application.

 Top of page

Internet search tips

Significant national, regional, international or subject-based sources of geospatial data are available. Your Subject Librarian or the Curator Cartographic and Geospatial Resources may assist you.

Top of page

 

Image: 1940 and 2008 aerials side by side, Auckland Council GIS Viewer.

About imagery  |  New Zealand resources  |  International resources

About imagery

Satellite, including Landsat, and aerial photographs are collectively known as 'imagery'.

Top of page

New Zealand resources

  • Auckland Council GIS Viewer
    Open Map Contents: select Aerial Photos to view current imagery as basemap; select More data to add and view historic (Raster) aerial layers - 1940, 1959, 1996, 2001, 2006 to current. Only current aerial imagery is available for download through this facility.
  • GeoDataHub
    • Aerial imagery - regional (historic and current Auckland, Waikato)
    • KiwImage (pansharpened) - 2008-2012 satellite imagery of approximately 74% of New Zealand and Offshore Islands, tiled to NZTopo50 sheets. See KiwImage coverage.
    • NZ Aerial Mapping (Piha, Waihiki, plus)
  • LINZ Data Service - Aerial photos
    Current and some older aerial photographs are available by region. Search by location or Browse Data by Category - Aerial Photos; add (+) to preview, crop and download. For further information, go to Getting started.

For help with these resources or finding additional imagery, contact the Curator Cartographic and Geospatial Resources.

Top of page

International resources

  • ArcGIS Gallery - Imagery
  • EarthExplorer, USGS
  • Landsat, USGS
    40+ years of continuously acquired collection of space-based moderate-resolution land remote sensing data. Provides a unique resource for those who work in agriculture, emergency response, geology, forestry, regional planning, education, mapping, global change research.

Top of page

 

Image: ArcGIS Online, a user-friendly GIS or web mapping tool.

About GIS  |  GIS at the University of Auckland  |  GIS on the web  |  International inspiration  |  Map making without GIS

About Geographic Information Systems (GIS)

Top of page

GIS at the University of Auckland

GIS are used widely across the University of Auckland, notably within the Schools and Departments of Environment, Architecture and Planning, Anthropology, Civil and Environmental Engineering, Property, Population Health and Biological Sciences and by individuals in further areas.

GIS and GIScience, the study of GIS, is taught in the School of Environment.

ArcGIS for desktop

ArcGIS Online 

Story Maps, which utilises ArcGIS Online, offers a Gallery of story map apps, examples and step-by-step templates to create your own web map.

Google Earth

  • Google Earth is a free online GIS that has been downloaded for use in the Information Commons facilities, the Map Room in the General Library and specific computer labs. A user-friendly GIS better suited to more straightforward functions and the inexperienced GIS user than ArcGIS for desktop. It supports .kml files.

Top of page

GIS on the web

In addition to Google Earth and ArcGIS Online several open source and/or free GIS software options are available, including those more suitable for inexperienced GIS users. Online GIS have increasing amounts of data, e.g., base maps and GIS layers, available for use within the application.

List of GIS software

Top of page

International inspiration

Top of page

Map making without GIS

Tools used to make maps and geovisualisations that are not GIS:

  • Adobe Photoshop and Illustrator
    Available in the Information Commons facilities.
  • Autodesk 3D MAX
  • Google Fusion Tables
  • R Statistical Package 3
    Available in the Information Commons facilities. Search Google for 'making maps with R' for advice.

Top of page

Geospatial resource referencing

Support

  • Referencing
    Access a range of tools and support materials to assist your referencing work.

Examples

  • Quickcite
    Use this interactive tool to view examples of references.
    Covers a range of styles used at the University of Auckland.

Last updated : 2 December 2016
Creative Commons License CC BY 4.0 Tautohu Matatiki 4.0 ā-Ao