Software Engineering

Database search tips.

Full list of library databases for Software Engineering.

The Library's e-books can be searched for in the Catalogue using Refine My Results to select e-books.

Information about using them is available from the e-books web page.

Recommended | Web resources | Additional

Do you need to find a definition, a fact, a figure, a formula, a diagram, some code, or something similar?

Recommended

While you can search the Catalogue for a topic, e.g., an operating system, these may also be useful:

Top of page

Web resources

Top of page

Additional

These databases also include useful resources:

The Library's books on software can be searched for in the Catalogue.
Useful databases for software information are SpringerLink and Safari.
In addition the following sites contain textbooks, guides, tutorials, examples, and the software itself.

General | Altium Designer | C, C+, C#, etc | Gnuplot | JabRef | JML | LASI | Linux | LTSpice | LyX | NS2 | PSpice | Python | Quartus | R | Scheme | Snack | Tcl | Xfig

General

  • Operating systems, software information
    Search thousands of mirrored tutorials, lecture notes and online books : on Ada - Assembly - C / C++ - CSS - HTML - Java - JavaScript - LISP - Perl - Prolog - Python - XHTML, XML Algorithms - Compilers - Communications - Dictionaries - Graphics - Operating Systems - OOD.
  • Programming resources
    A directory of links to free programmer resources and free webmaster resources.

Altium Designer

C, C+, C#, etc

  • C++ In Action
    This is a web book which also exists in printed form. It aims to help readers to be able to write reliable and maintainable code, easy to understand by other members of the team. The person should know advanced programming techniques such as synchronization in a multithreaded environment, effective use of virtual memory, debugging techniques, etc.
  • C Programming Language
    Links to free online books on C, standards, and other information.

Gnuplot

  • Gnuplot
    The software is copyrighted but freely distributed (ie, you don't have to pay for it). It was originally intended as to allow scientists and students to visualize mathematical functions and data, but has grown to support many non-interactive uses, including web scripting and integration as a plotting engine for third-party applications like Octave. Gnuplot supports many types of plots in either 2D and 3D. It can draw using lines, points, boxes, contours, vector fields, surfaces, and various associated text. Gnuplot is easily extensible to include new devices.

JabRef

  • JabRef Reference Manager
    JabRef is an open source bibliography reference manager. The native file format used by JabRef is BibTeX, the standard LaTeX bibliography format.

JML

  • The Java Modeling Language (JML)
    This page contains links to articles and information about JML and how to use it and associated tools.

LASI

  • LAyout System for Individuals
    A general purpose IC layout and design system. It was not specifically intended for CMOS logic circuits, but most people use it for that purpose. LASI can also draw and analyze schematics and do an LVS and be used for PC boards, MEMS and project documentation drawings. It is however not really optimized for elaborate mechanical or architectural drawings. To use LASI, you need to know something about IC technology, the physics involved and have some circuit intuition, not just know how to run software.

Linux

  • The Linux Documentation Project
    Useful information on using Linux, including in depth books, guides, FAQs and recent news and upgrades.
  • Your Daily Source for Embedded Linux Information
    Good information on Linux including tutorials. Categories are: Linux Applications, Linux Companies, Linux Distributions, Linux Multimedia, Games, Linux Network Administration, Linux News, Media, Linux Software, Linux Support, Tutorial, Linux Security, Networking, X-Windows Systems.

LTSpice

  • Linear Technology
    Site for LTSpice with downloads, guides and demo circuits.
  • LTSpice user's group
    This Group will include relevant information about Berkeley Spice 3, which is a core element of the program. It will contain links to models, hints and kinks not contained in the program's Help or website.

Lyx

  • LyX LyX is a document processor that encourages an approach to writing based on the structure of your documents, not their appearance. It is released under a Free Software / Open Source license.

NS2

PSpice

  • PSpice tutorials
    These tutorials by the University of Texas at Arlington include examples of proper syntax (beginning with the basic notation used to describe connectivity within a circuit), various circuit elements, and the process of performing transient analysis.

Python

Quartus

  • Altera Quartus
    The Altera® Quartus® II design software is the most comprehensive environment available for system-on-a-programmable-chip (SOPC) design. This manual is designed for the novice Quartus II software user and provides an overview of the capabilities of the Quartus II software in programmable logic design.

R

Scheme

  • R6RS
    Reports and standardization information on the Algorithmic Language Scheme.
  • Also browse IEEE Xplore for the IEEE standard 1178, IEEE Standard for the Scheme Programming Language.

Snack

  • Snack Sound Toolkit
    Snack used with a scripting language enables the creation of sound tools and applications with a minimum of effort.

Tcl

  • Tcl Developer Site
    The content is a primary source of developer information about Tcl and Tk and is maintained by volunteers in the Tcl community. It contains advocacy, tutorials, documentation, links, news, and more.

Xfig

  • Xfig
    This site includes a user manual, Xfig/Transfig software, JPEG software, an artwork gallery, examples and much more.

Top of page

General | Data sets | Organisations, societies, institutes

General

  • A Glossary of Electrical Engineering Terms
    From Dallas Semiconductors.
  • How Stuff Works
    Clear and reliable explanations of things from computer hard disks to batteries to fuses.
  • IET Computer Forum
    Now merged with Computing & Control Sector it still offers the latest products and applications of computer-based systems: articles, discussions, meetings, news and all latest job vacancies from IEE Recruitment.
  • NSDL
    Provides educational resources for science, technology, engineering and mathematics education. The NSDL mission is to both deepen and extend science literacy through access to materials and methods that reveal the nature of the physical universe and the intellectual means by which we discover and understand it.
  • Oaister
    Academic digital resources, freely available.
  • US Government Science 
    Information from US science agencies, including selected authoritative science websites and often hard-to-access scientific databases.
  • SearchLT Engineering
    Resources suitable for teaching and learning, with independently produced reviews.
  • Webopedia
    Online dictionary and search engine for computer and Internet technology.

Top of page

Data sets

  • ChipDocs
    Datasheets for electronic components and semiconductors, especially for obsolete parts, including technical documentation, application notes, pinouts, cross references and manufacturer listings.
  • Datasheet locator
    A tool for locating product datasheets from electronic component manufacturers worldwide.
  • MicroElectroMechanical Systems (MEMS)
    Covers a bibliography of current research, links to websites and a glossary. Examples of MEMS device applications include: inkjet-printer cartridges; accelerometers; miniature robots; microengines; locks; inertial sensors; microtransmissions; micromirrors; micro actuators; optical scanners; fluid pumps; transducers; chemical, pressure and flow sensors.

Top of page

Organisations, societies, institutes

Top of page

IEEE citation style information

LaTeX

LaTeX is a typesetting program, which is useful for writing papers which require mathematical symbols. LaTeX can be downloaded free of charge and is available for Mac, and PC (for Windows and Linux).

There are several websites that will be useful for those learning LaTex, including:

Support

  • Referencing
    Access a range of tools and support material to assist your referencing work.

Examples

  • Quick©ite
    Use this interactive tool to view examples of references.
    Covers a range of styles used at the University of Auckland.

Last updated : 26 April 2018
Creative Commons License CC BY 4.0 Tautohu Matatiki 4.0 ā-Ao