Energy and power

Database search tips.

• Compendex
  Indexes and abstracts the scientific and technological literature in all subject areas of engineering.
• Comprehensive Renewable Energy
  A reference work with a detailed description of energy sources seen as alternatives to fossil fuels.
• Energy & Power Source
  Indexed and extensive full-text coverage to publications relating to the energy and power industries.
• Google Scholar
  Search peer-reviewed journal articles, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports, with full text or access to content that the Library subscribes to.
• IEEE Xplore
  Full text and bibliographic information on electrical engineering, electronics and computer science.
• INSPEC
  Inspec is an abstract and index (A&I) database published by the Institution of Engineering and Technology (IET).
• OnePetro
  Full-text technical literature from the Society of Petroleum Engineers related to the oil and gas exploration and production industry.
• OSTI.GOV
  Full text and bibliographic records about energy-related research.
• ScienceCinema
  Videos describing research and development sponsored by the United States Department of Energy.
• Scopus
  The largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature; covers Sciences, Engineering, Medicine, Social Sciences and some Arts.
• SpringerLink
  Springer is the second largest publisher in Science, Technology, Engineering and Mathematics, and also provides substantial Social Science and Business content.
• Web of Science Core Collection
  Indexes journals, conference proceedings, and books/chapters in the sciences, engineering, medicine, social sciences, arts and humanities.

Full list of library databases for Energy and Power.

The Library's e-books can be searched for in the Catalogue using Refine My Results to select e-books.

Information about using them is available from the e-books web page.

Library resources

• EBSCO eBook Collection
  Over 10,000 scholarly, reference and professional books.
• IET Digital Library
  An unsurpassed body of work of more than 150,000 technical papers and around 6,000 e-book chapters from 1994 onwards for all IET journals, magazines, conference publications and seminar digests.
• OECD iLibrary
  Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Development (OECD) books, journal articles, papers and statistics, and the gateway to OECD's analysis and data.
• ScienceDirect
  Over 1,100 e-books in six subject collections.
• SpringerLink
  Springer is the second largest publisher in Science, Technology, Engineering and Mathematics, and also provides substantial Social Science and Business content.
• Taylor & Francis Online
  A collection of e-books.

Do you need to find a definition, a fact, a figure, a formula, a diagram, or something similar?

Recommended

• Handbook of energy-aware and green computing edited by Ishfaq Ahmad, Sanjay Ranka. Boca Raton, FL: CRC Press, 2012.
• Encyclopedia of energy Morris A. Pierce, general editor. Ipswich, Mass.: Salem Press, 2013.
• Handbook of energy Volume I, Diagrams, charts, and tables, edited by Cutler J. Cleveland, Christopher Morris. Oxford: Elsevier Science, 2013.
• Handbook of energy engineering calculations Tyler G. Hicks. New York: McGraw-Hill, 2012.

Additional

These databases also include useful resources:

• SpringerLink
  Springer is the second largest publisher in Science, Technology, Engineering and Mathematics, and also provides substantial Social Science and Business content.
• Taylor & Francis Online
  A collection of e-books.

E-journals

The Library's e-journals are available through the Catalogue and the journals web page.

Others are available in the Directory of Open Access Journals. This covers free, full-text, quality controlled scientific and scholarly journals.

Examples include:

• International journal of emerging electric power systems
• Wind power monthly news magazine

Websites

New Zealand

• Energy in New Zealand
• Energy Efficiency and Conservation Authority
• Ministry for the Environment
• Electricity Authority
• Ministry of Economic Development
• Renewable Energy Businesses in New Zealand
• Statistics New Zealand

International

• Electric Power Research Institute (EPRI)
• Energy--Core Reference Materials
• The National Biodiesel Board (NBB)
• NTIS
• U.S. DOE Energy Efficiency and Renewable Energy (EERE)

Referencing styles used for Engineering

The following reference styles are the ones commonly used for engineering at the University of Auckland:

• University of Auckland Engineering (Numbered) Style
• APA
• Harvard
• Chicago
• AIP Style
  Monash University Library website.

Other reference styles used at the University of Auckland.

LaTeX and BibTeX web resources

• LaTeXTemplates.com
  Website created by a PhD student of the University of Auckland.
• LaTex project
• TeX users group
• TeX resources on the web
• Using BibTex to create your bibliography

Support

• Referencing
  Access a range of tools and support material to assist your referencing work.

Examples

• Quickcite
  Use this interactive tool to view examples of references.
  Covers a range of styles used at the University of Auckland.