Electrical and Electronic Engineering

Database search tips.

Full list of library databases for Electrical and Electronic Engineering.

The Library's e-books can be searched for in the Catalogue using Refine your results to select e-books.

Information about using them is available from the e-books web page.

From the Library

On the Web

  • All about circuits
    Provides a series of online textbooks covering electricity and electronics. Good for both students and hobbyists who are looking to expand their knowledge in this field.
  • Classical electrodynamics
    Covers advanced electrodynamics intended for the advanced undergraduate or graduate student.
  • Computers and internet books
    Divided into subject categories, including Hardware, Operating systems and Software.
  • Digital book index
    A list of e-books on EEE engineering, some of which are free.
  • Electrical and electronic engineering books
    Divided into subject categories including power engineering, electronics and control systems.
  • Information theory, inference, and learning algorithms
    Covers information theory, inference, error correcting codes, arithmetic coding, data compression, inference techniques and turbo codes.
  • University of Pennsylvania online books listing
    Books from a broad range of topics within EEE. They offer a wealth of information, but do not have a publication dates attached to them.Search under subsections of the Q or T classification symbols for EEE books.
  • Wikibooks
    Try searching for engineering and look under the Electrical Engineering heading, or search for more specific keywords.

Top of page

Do you need to find a definition, a fact, a figure, a formula, a diagram, or something similar?

Recommended

The Library's books on software can be searched for in the Catalogue.
Useful databases for software information are SpringerLink and Safari.
In addition the following sites contain textbooks, guides, tutorials, examples, and the software itself.

General | Altium Designer | C, C+, C#, etc | Gnuplot | JabRef | JML | LASI | Linux | LTSpice | LyX | NS2 | PSpice | Python | Quartus | R | Scheme | Snack | Tcl | Xfig

General

  • Operating systems, software information
    Search thousands of mirrored tutorials, lecture notes and online books: on Ada - Assembly - C / C++ - CSS - HTML - Java - JavaScript - LISP - Perl - Prolog - Python - XHTML, XML Algorithms - Compilers - Communications - Dictionaries - Graphics - Operating Systems - OOD.
  • Programming resources
    A directory of links to free programmer resources and free webmaster resources.

Altium Designer

C, C+, C#, etc

  • C++ In Action
    This is a 'web book' which also exists in printed form. It aims to help readers to be able to write reliable and maintainable code, easy to understand by other members of the team. The person should know advanced programming techniques such as synchronization in a multithreaded environment, effective use of virtual memory, debugging techniques, etc.
  • C Programming Language
    Links to free online books on C, standards, and other information.

Gnuplot

  • Gnuplot
    The software is copyrighted but freely distributed (i.e., you don't have to pay for it). It was originally intended as to allow scientists and students to visualize mathematical functions and data, but has grown to support many non-interactive uses, including web scripting and integration as a plotting engine for third-party applications like Octave. Gnuplot supports many types of plots in either 2D and 3D. It can draw using lines, points, boxes, contours, vector fields, surfaces, and various associated text. Gnuplot is easily extensible to include new devices.

JabRef

  • JabRef Reference Manager
    JabRef is an open source bibliography reference manager. The native file format used by JabRef is BibTeX, the standard LaTeX bibliography format.

JML

  • The Java Modeling Language (JML)
    This page contains links to articles and information about JML and how to use it and associated tools.

LASI

  • LAyout System for Individuals
    A general purpose IC layout and design system. It was not specifically intended for CMOS logic circuits, but most people use it for that purpose. LASI can also draw and analyze schematics and do an LVS and be used for PC boards, MEMS and project documentation drawings. It is however not really optimized for elaborate mechanical or architectural drawings. To use LASI, you need to know something about IC technology, the physics involved and have some circuit intuition, not just know how to run software.

Linux

  • The Linux Documentation Project
    Useful information on using Linux, including in depth books, guides, FAQs and recent news and upgrades.
  • Your Daily Source for Embedded Linux Information
    Good information on Linux including tutorials. Categories are: Linux Applications, Linux Companies, Linux Distributions, Linux Multimedia, Games, Linux Network Administration, Linux News, Media, Linux Software, Linux Support, Tutorial, Linux Security, Networking, X-Windows Systems.

LTSpice

  • Linear Technology
    Site for LTSpice with downloads, guides and demo circuits.
  • LTSpice user's group
    This Group will include relevant information about Berkeley Spice 3, which is a core element of the program. It will contain links to models, hints and kinks not contained in the program's Help or website.

Lyx

  • LyX LyX is a document processor that encourages an approach to writing based on the structure of your documents, not their appearance. It is released under a Free Software / Open Source license.

NS2

PSpice

  • PSpice tutorials
    These tutorials by the University of Texas at Arlington include examples of proper syntax (beginning with the basic notation used to describe connectivity within a circuit), various circuit elements, and the process of performing transient analysis.

Python

Quartus

  • Altera Quartus
    The Altera® Quartus® II design software is the most comprehensive environment available for system-on-a-programmable-chip (SOPC) design. This manual is designed for the novice Quartus II software user and provides an overview of the capabilities of the Quartus II software in programmable logic design.

R

Scheme

  • R6RS
    Reports and standardization information on the Algorithmic Language Scheme.
  • Also browse IEEE Xplore for the IEEE standard 1178, IEEE Standard for the Scheme Programming Language.

Snack

  • Snack Sound Toolkit
    Snack used with a scripting language enables the creation of sound tools and applications with a minimum of effort.

Tcl

  • Tcl Developer Site
    The content is a primary source of developer information about Tcl and Tk and is maintained by volunteers in the Tcl community. It contains advocacy, tutorials, documentation, links, news, and more.

Xfig

  • Xfig
    This site includes a user manual, Xfig/Transfig software, JPEG software, an artwork gallery, examples and much more.

Top of page

Directories and Databases | Circuits | Data

Directories and Databases

Top of page

Circuits

  • ChipDocs
    Datasheets for electronic components and semiconductors, especially for obsolete parts.
  • Printed circuit board design
    It contains layout guidelines, software, trace calculators, tutorials, assembly resources.

Top of page

Data sets

  • Analog devices
    The site includes data sheets, code examples, models, and much more.
  • Datasheet locator
    It enables you to locate product datasheets from hundreds of electronic component manufacturers worldwide.

Top of page

New Zealand

International

Select keywords for your search

Think about different terms to describe the topic you are researching. You may need to repeat your searches using different variations of a keyword.

  • What are possible keywords for this topic?
    Are there any solutions for the design of earthquake proof structured buildings?

Alternative keywords are:

  • earthquake, proof OR resistant OR resistance, building* OR structure*, design*

Concept mapping

List your alternative key terms by concept to systematically construct multiple searches.

Concept 1 Concept 2 Concept 3 Concept 4
earthquake* proof building* design
quake* resistant structure* designs
  resistance   designing
      designed
  • From this table, use one keyword from each column/concept and combine them with Boolean operators such as AND, OR, NOT/AND NOT.
  • Use " " for a phrase, e.g., "earthquake resistance".
  • Use the truncation symbols (*, ?, $) for various endings of a keyword to find more search results, e.g., design* for design, designs, designing, designed.

A suggested search strategy:
(earthquake* OR quake*) AND (proof OR resistan*) AND (building* OR structure*) AND design*

Where to search?

  • Articles and more
    Enter article title in quote marks, e.g., "Improved earthquake resistant design of eccentric steel buildings".
  • The Catalogue
    Enter title of journal, thesis or book with the surname of the author.
  • Databases
    Search for journal articles and conference papers on your research topics from database by titles or authors of articles or keywords.
  • Interlibrary Loan
    Use this service to obtain items not owned by the University of Auckland Library system.

Building on your research

Use a literature-searching strategy that builds on information that you already have. Start with a relevant book or article and try some of the following:

  • Look at the reference list for more material.
  • Take note of the words used in the text of your book or article. They may provide useful new terms to use, which you can add to your concept map, when searching for more literature.
  • Find your book or article in the library catalogue or a database. Use the subject headings (sometimes referred to as descriptors or keywords) in the catalogue or database record to find similar material.
  • Look up other works by the author(s).
  • Search for citations to your book or article on Google Scholar, Scopus or Web of Science.

Literature reviews

Additional resources

Top of Page

IEEE citation style information

LaTeX

LaTeX is a typesetting program, which is useful for writing papers which require mathematical symbols. LaTeX can be downloaded free of charge and is available for Mac, and PC (for Windows and Linux).

There are several websites that will be useful for those learning LaTex, including:

Support

  • Referencing
    Access a range of tools and support material to assist your referencing work.

Examples

  • Quick©ite
    Use this interactive tool to view examples of references.
    Covers a range of styles used at the University of Auckland.

Last updated : 28 November 2018
Creative Commons License CC BY 4.0 Tautohu Matatiki 4.0 ā-Ao