Chemical and Materials Engineering

Database search tips

Web resources | Professional societies

Web resources

Top of page

Professional societies

Top of page

Encyclopedias  |  Handbooks

Encyclopedias

  • Encyclopedia of Agricultural, Food, and Biological Engineering
    From Marcel Dekker, covers the development and design of procedures, equipment, and systems utilised in the production and conversion of raw materials into food and nonfood consumer goods.
  • Encyclopedia of Biological Chemistry
    Comprises more than 500 entries encompassing all aspects of biochemistry, as well as the extensions of this subject into the related fields of molecular biology, cell biology, genetics and biophysics.
  • Encyclopedia of Dairy Science
    Addresses the main topics of milk production and dairy technology, with due recognition accorded to nutritional and public health issues.
  • Encyclopedic Dictionary of Genetics, Genomics and Proteomics
    25,000 entries describing terms and concepts in cell and developmental biology, immunology, hereditary diseases, and molecular evolution, as well as the state of the art in genomics and proteomics.
  • Encyclopedia of Food Sciences and Nutrition
    Covers all aspects of the field, including many new topics of interest, such as functional foods, genetically modified foods, and food security.
  • Encyclopedia of Food Microbiology
    Comprises 400 articles, each approximately 4000 words in length and contains tables, line drawings, black-and-white photographs, or electron micrographs.
  • Encyclopedia of Genetics
    One of the most comprehensive reference works in the field of genetics. Includes over 1700 entries, covering all aspects of the field.
  • Encyclopedia of Industrial Biotechnology
    Offers extensive coverage of industrial biotechnology, with a focus on industrial biological processes, techniques, equipment, products, as well as ethical and regulatory issues.
  • Reviews in Cell Biology and Molecular Medicine
    Formerly called Encyclopedia of Molecular Cell Biology and Molecular Medicine. Articles representing a detailed treatment of the molecular and cellular basis of life.

Top of page

Handbooks

  • BIOSCIENCEnetBASE
    Over 90 handbooks and monographs in the biosciences, including biochemistry, bioinformatics, biomedical engineering, biostatistics, biotechnology, epidemiology, immunology, microbiology, neuroscience, pharmacology, and toxicology.
  • Comprehensive Natural Products II
    Focuses on trends in natural products research.
  • FOODnetBASE
    A food research reference collection from CRC Press.
  • Handbook of Biosensors and Biochips
    Describes many of the applications used in medical diagnostics, environmental control and pharmaceutical and food industries.
  • NUTRITIONnetBASE
    Over 70 handbooks and monographs on food and nutrition science from Taylor and Francis.
  • Protein Science Encyclopedia
    ​Focuses on the function of proteins, analytical methods, the engineering of proteins, and medical aspects. The encyclopedia comprises 160 articles in 14 subject areas.

Top of page

Handbooks | Encyclopedias | Reference works

Handbooks

  • ASM Handbooks Online
    All current handbooks published by ASM International, the society for materials engineers and scientists.
  • ATSDR's toxicological profiles
    A searchable collection of toxicological profiles from the US. The profiles cover the effects of hazardous substances, chemicals, and compounds and contain over 40,000 pages of data from the printed version, including information on mitigation of health effects, data gaps, and all available health data.
  • Comprehensive Biomaterials
    On the ScienceDirect platform, describes the current status of most biomaterials.
  • MATERIALSnetBASE 
    Handbooks on materials science published by CRC Press.
  • NANOnetBASE
    Handbooks on nanoscience and nanotechnology published by CRC Press.
  • Nanotechnology
    A comprehensive overview of nanotechnology and nanoscience using a cross-disciplinary approach. Fundamentals and applications are covered in almost a hundred contributions by leading professionals in this field.

Top of page

Encyclopedias

  • Comprehensive Composite Materials
    Covers all aspects of composites, from theory to practical applications.
  • Encyclopedia of Polymer Science and Technology
    Covers all areas of polymer science, including nanotechnology, new imaging and analytical techniques, new methods of controlled polymer architecture and biomimetics.
  • Encyclopedia of Smart Materials
    From Wiley, designed for material scientists, chemists, chemical engineers, process engineers, consultants, patent attorneys.
  • Encyclopedia of Spectroscopy and Spectrometry
    Covers all aspects of spectroscopy, mass spectrometry and scattering phenomena.
  • Encyclopedia of Surface and Colloid Science
    Includes recent developments in drug delivery, enzyme behavior, and protein adsorption; the current utilization of colloids, emulsions, foams, gels, and fine particles; chemical behavior at electrochemical, fluid-fluid, polymer, soil, mineral, and atmospheric boundaries; mechanisms of catalysis, transport, and adsorption; characterization of fatty acids and lipids; commercial uses for membranes.
  • Merck Index
    An encyclopedia of organic and inorganic chemicals, including naturally-occurring substances, laboratory reagents, pharmaceuticals and drugs.
  • POLYMERSnetBASE
    Provides access to the Polymer Materials Encyclopedia, Polymers (a property database) as well as books on polymer science published by Taylor and Francis.​

Top of page

Reference works

Top of page

Referencing styles used for Engineering

Common reference styles for engineering at the University of Auckland:

LaTeX and BibTeX web resources

LaTeX is a typesetting program, which is useful for writing papers which require mathematical symbols. LaTeX can be downloaded free of charge and is available for Mac, and PC (for Windows and Linux). There are several websites that will be useful for those learning LaTex, including:

Support

  • Referencing
    Access a range of tools and support material to assist your referencing work.

Examples

  • Quick©ite
    Use this interactive tool to view examples of references.
    Covers a range of styles used at the University of Auckland.

Last updated : 20 August 2018
Creative Commons License CC BY 4.0 Tautohu Matatiki 4.0 ā-Ao