Māori and Indigenous Education

Databases | Journals | Theses | Reports and centres | Conferences

Databases and portals

• Alaska Native Knowledge Network
  Includes various material on Indigenous education worldwide.
• First Nations and Indigenous Studies
  University of British Columbia Library.
• Hei Hauhake Whakaaro
  Kaupapa Māori literature collected by Te Kupenga Hauora Māori - University of Auckland.
• Indigenous Collection
  Many results for keyword Maori.
• iPortal: Indigenous Studies Portal Research Tool
  University of Saskatchewan Library.
• Kōmako: A bibliography of writing by Māori in English
  Lists hundreds of Māori writers and their works; includes biographical information.
• Learning Ground: Indigenous Education Research Database
  Many results for keyword Maori.
• Māori Bibliography
  National Library of New Zealand | Te Puna Mātauranga o Aotearoa.
• National Indian Education Association - for Educators
  Tools > databases and reports.
• Northern Arizona University: Teaching Indigenous Languages
  Tabs for books, articles, links.

Top of page

Journals

Top of page

Theses

• NZresearch.org
  Recommend searching by topic, then limiting results to theses.
• Te Puna: New Zealand National Union Catalogue
  Recommend including Maori thesis education as keywords in Advanced search.
• Open Access Theses
• Education theses written in te reo Māori
  • RefWorks list compiled by Liz Wilkinson (Change View to APA 6th)
  • Writing in te reo at university / Georgina Stewart (17 doctoral theses listed)
• International
• Pacific Islands Dissertations and Theses from the University of Hawai'i 1923-2008

Top of page

Reports and centres

• Ako Aotearoa
• Ako Aotearoa. Maori learner success in tertiary education 
• Community Research: Māori
• Education Counts research publications Statistics
• New Zealand Council for Educational Research (NZCER): Māori research publications
• Ngā Pae o te Māramatanga media centre (videos)
• Ngā Pae o te Māramatanga project reports and working papers
• Starpath research reports
• Statistics New Zealand | Tatauranga Aotearoa: Māori
• Te Hononga Mātauranga post-graduate resource portal
• Te Hononga Pūkenga (Māori and Indigenous researcher directory)
• Te Kotahitanga publications, papers, research reports
• Te Māngaroa: Māori achieving success as Māori - Research and Evaluation
• Te Puni Kokiri | Te Whakahura a Kupe: Iwi and Rohe Profiles
• Te Puni Kōkiri Education publications
• Te Wāhanga publications
• TLRI Māori Projects

• Australian Council for Educational Research (ACER): Indigenous education (Research reports)

Top of page

Conferences

Conference papers are often listed in databases or may not be published at all.

• Kei Tua o te Pae papers [2011] [2013]
• Te Puna o te Kī 2015 (Te Ipukarea - AUT)
• Upcoming Indigenous Education and Language Related Conferences

Top of page

Use the Catalogue to find material in the University of Auckland Library’s notable collection of books, journals, theses, television programmes and conference proceedings on Māori and Indigenous education.

International

• Google Scholar
  Discover a significant volume of literature to do with Māori and Indigenous education in Google Scholar - sort results by date for most recent material.
• Education Research Complete
  Includes Māori and Indigenous research published in a range of international journals.
• ERIC
  A key education database, which includes Māori and Indigenous research published in a range of international journals
• Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts
  Includes material on language policy and revitalization, second language acquisition and language pedagogies
• Oxford Bibliographies
  Excellent review articles across education, language and linguistics - including indigenous, bi-cultural and multicultural perspectives, and citing many key sources in those fields.
• SAGE Research Methods
  Researching in the social sciences? Methods, methodologies and much more.

New Zealand, Pacific and Australia

• Index New Zealand : INNZ
  Essential for local coverage of Māori and Pacific education, listing journals, magazines and some government publications.
• nzresearch.org.nz
  A gateway to open access research documents, including theses, produced at universities, polytechnics, and other research institutions in New Zealand.
• Te Puna Search
  Aotearoa New Zealand's catalogue of library catalogues; includes books, theses and journal titles - best discovered in the Advanced search.
• A Plus Education
  Lists hundreds of items relating to Māori, Pacific and Indigenous research.

Kaupapa Māori methodologies

• Hei Hauhake Whakaaro
  Kaupapa Māori literature collected by Te Kupenga Hauora Māori - University of Auckland.
• Te Kōtahi Research Institute 
  Kaupapa Māori institute - Waikato University

Indigenous methodologies

• Bibliography of indigenous research methodologies
  By Dr Lorelei A. Lambert. [Copyright American Indigenous Research Association 2013].
• Library Catalogue
  Keywords: indigenous methodologies.
• Pacific Studies: Research
  Includes conceptual frameworks and methodologies
• SAGE Research Methods
  Keywords: indigenous...

Evaluating sources

• Rauru Whakarare Evaluation Framework

Keywords | Strategic searching | Finding full text

Keywords

Indigenous literature is a fast-growing body of work. It is often advisable to go beyond one Indigenous group to find relevant material. Here are some suggestions.

Maori, Pacific, Pasifika, Polynesian. Māori and Pasifika peoples may be associated in local research.
Indigenous, Aboriginal, Native, First Peoples, First Nations, Khoe-San.
Fijian, Iroquois, Sami, Saami, Ngai Tahu, and other particular groups or individual tribes.
Linda Smith, Bagele Chilisa or other key authors.

Notes:

• Aboriginal may refer to Indigenous peoples in Australia, Canada or elsewhere.
• Native may discover some material relating to people born in but not necessarily indigenous to a place.
• Macrons may disrupt the search function in some databases.

Top of page

Strategic searching: Tabulate concepts

Listing possible key terms by concept enables you to systematically construct multiple searches.
From the table below, you would enter one keyword from each column/concept in successive combinations.

Maori education assessment, Maori school assessment, Maori education testing, Indigenous education assessment etc.

Top of page

Finding full text

If full text is not immediately available, try the following:

• Catalogue
  Enter journal, thesis or book title, NOT article or chapter title - locate articles and chapters subsequently with citation details.
• Google Scholar
  Enter an article title or DOI
• Find full text flowchart

If still not accessible use Interlibrary Loan.

Top of page

The Faculty of Education and Social Work uses the American Psychological Association APA style.

APA

• Publication manual of the American Psychological Association (7th edition)
• APA Style blog

Support

• Referencing
  Access a range of tools and support material to assist your referencing work.

Examples

• Quick©ite
  Use this interactive tool to view examples of references.
  Covers a range of styles used at the University of Auckland.