Classroom teaching resources

Our Junior Collections contain resources suitable for classroom use by children.

  • At both Epsom and Tai Tokerau, Māori resources are on the ground floor in the Māori Collections. Refer also to the Māori tab.
  • At Epsom, Pacific resources are on the ground floor in the Pacific Island Collection. At Tai Tokerau, Pacific resources are integrated into the collections.
  • At Epsom all other junior resources are on the first floor. At Tai Tokerau, all resources are on one level.

To find resources use the Catalogue:

  • Enter keyword/s plus search term relevant to the type of resource.
  • The world juvenile is used instead of junior.
  • Note both Location and Call Number of the resource.
  • Introduction to the Catalogue
Type of resource Search term to add to your keywords in the Catalogue Possible locations

Big books (J O/S)
Picture books and readers in large format suitable for reading to groups

juvenile big books

Examples:
counting maori juvenile big books
reo maori juvenile big books
sea juvenile big books
joy cowley juvenile big books

EPSOM Māori Junior Oversize (Māori Collection, Ground floor, low metal racks)

EPSOM Pacific Junior Oversize (Pacific Collection, Ground Floor)

EPSOM Junior Oversize (First floor, wooden bins)

TAI TOKERAU Māori Junior Oversize

TAI TOKERAU Junior Oversize

CDs DVDs
Audiobooks or songs on CD, and films or documentaries on DVD.

juvenile sound recording

Example:
waiata juvenile sound recording

juvenile videorecording

Example:
dance juvenile sound recording

Any of the Junior Non-Fiction and Fiction collections depending on content. Use the Catalogue and note carefully both Location and Call Number.

Graphic novels
Book written in visual format.

graphic novels

Examples:
maori graphic novels
shakespeare graphic novels

Any of the Junior Non-Fiction and Fiction collections depending on content. Use the Catalogue and note carefully both Location and Call Number.

Junior fiction (JF)
Story and chapter books for newly independent to advanced primary and intermediate level readers.

juvenile fiction

Examples:
maori juvenile fiction
adventure zealand juvenile fiction

EPSOM Māori Junior Fiction (Ground floor)

EPSOM Pacific Junior Fiction (Ground floor)

EPSOM Junior Fiction (First floor)

TAI TOKERAU Māori Junior Fiction

TAI TOKERAU Junior Fiction

Junior non-fiction (JNF)
Factual resources for preschool, primary school through to junior secondary level

juvenile literature

Examples:
recycling juvenile literature
sustainable living juvenile literature

Tip for finding Māori resources: do two searches -
one using Māori term, one using English term

Examples:
whakairo juvenile
maori carving juvenile

EPSOM Māori Junior Non-Fiction (Ground floor)

EPSOM Pacific Junior Non-Fiction (Ground floor)

EPSOM Junior Non-Fiction (First floor)

TAI TOKERAU Māori Junior Non-Fiction
 
TAI TOKERAU Junior Non-Fiction

Picture books (JPB)
For pre-schoolers and junior classes, includes stories without words as well as alphabet and counting books.

picture books

Examples:
family life maori picture books
samoa picture books
shadows picture books

EPSOM Māori Junior Picture Books (Ground floor)

EPSOM Pacific Junior Picture Books (Ground floor)

EPSOM Junior Picture Books (First floor)

TAI TOKERAU Māori Junior Picture Books

TAI TOKERAU Junior Picture Books

Picture sets (J O/S)

juvenile picture sets

Examples:
maori picture sets
trees juvenile picture sets

EPSOM Māori Junior Oversize (Ground floor)

EPSOM Pacific Junior Oversize (Ground floor)

EPSOM Junior Oversize (First floor)

TAI TOKERAU Māori Junior Oversize

TAI TOKERAU Junior Oversize

Posters, pictures, charts, maps

juvenile posters

Examples:
maori counting posters
sea posters

EPSOM Māori Pictures (Ground floor, poster racks)

EPSOM Pacific Pictures (Ground floor, poster racks)

EPSOM Pictures (First floor, grey metal cabinets)

TAI TOKERAU Māori Pictures

TAI TOKERAU Pictures

Short stories
 

juvenile short stories

Examples:
friendship juvenile short stories
young adult short stories
maori short stories

Any of the Fiction collections depending on level.
Use the catalogue and note carefully the location and call number.

Sophisticated picture books (SPB)
Picture book format with content and/or style suitable for older children

sophisticated picture books

Examples:
refugees sophisticated picture books

EPSOM Māori Sophisticated Picture Books (Ground floor)

EPSOM Sophisticated Picture Books (First floor)

TAI TOKERAU Māori Sophisticated Picture Books

TAI TOKERAU Sophisticated Picture Books

Young adult fiction (YA)
Fiction for readers between ages 13-18

young adult fiction

Examples:
maori young adult fiction
dystopia young adult fiction

EPSOM Māori Young Adult Fiction (Ground floor)

EPSOM Pacific Young Adult Fiction (Ground floor)

EPSOM Young Adult Fiction (First floor)

TAI TOKERAU Māori Young Adult Fiction

TAI TOKERAU Young Adult Fiction

Top of page

Educational resources with Māori themes, written in te reo Māori or English language or both languages, are available from He kohikohinga pukapuka e pa ana ki te iwi Māori (the Māori collections) at Te Herenga Whakaakoranga (Sylvia Ashton-Warner Library).

Start with the Catalogue to find the location and call number of the resources you need:

 
   
  • Search with both Māori and English keywords.
    Search: whakairo
    Search also: Maori carving
  • The Catalogue uses the word juvenile instead of junior. To find junior material, add the word juvenile to your search.
    Search: rongoa juvenile
    Search also: Maori medicine juvenile
  • There is more information on how to search in our junior collections guide.

Māori Junior Non-fiction

Covers a wide range of topics for pre-school, primary and junior secondary: society and culture, mythology, language learning, maths, science, technology, health, wellbeing, natural world, arts and crafts, sport, history, Te Tiriti o Waitangi | Treaty of Waitangi.

To find only non-fiction resources, include the words Maori juvenile literature in your search.

Examples:
Maori juvenile literature Maui
Maori juvenile literature games
Maori juvenile literature legends

Also in the non-fiction collection:

  • Myths and legends at 398.20993
  • Māori language readers at 499.3 can be useful sources on Māori topics in addition to language learning, and will be retrieved in your junior non-fiction searches.

Useful articles and stories on Māori topics are also available in:

Māori Fiction

The Māori fiction collections include:

  • Picture Books (for pre-schoolers and junior classes)
    Search: Maori picture books
  • Junior Fiction (story and chapter books for newly independent to advanced primary and intermediate level readers)
    Search: Maori juvenile fiction
  • Young Adult Fiction (fiction for 13 -18 year olds)
    Search: Maori young adult fiction
  • Fiction (although aimed at adults, many short stories and novels are also useful for older children and adolescents).
    Search: Maori fiction

Top of page

English | Māori | Pacific languages

English language readers

Levelling

English language readers are levelled for literacy instruction according to the Colour Wheel classification.

Emergent readers     Magenta
Early readers            Red  Yellow  Blue  Green
Fluent readers          Orange  Turquoise  Purple  Gold

Online access

Ready to Read resources are online at Literacy Online: Instructional Series

Location of print copies

428.6 in the Junior Non-Fiction Collection. All readers at a particular level are grouped together. Their shelving sequence is alphabetical not in Colour Wheel sequence, e.g., Gold readers come before Magenta readers on the shelves.

Call number elements Call number elements explained Example
428.6 MAG REA ICA
Stands for
428.6 Dewey classification for English language readers 428.6 English language reader
XXX First three letters of colour wheel level MAG Magenta (emergent)
YYY First three letters of series title REA Ready to read
ZZZ First three letters of individual title ICA I can write

Searching by level

To find by level in the Catalogue, search on 428.6 plus first three letters of the appropriate colour.
e.g., 428.6 MAG to find emergent (Magenta) readers or 428.6 GOL to find fluent (Gold) readers.

Searching by topic

To find by topic in the Catalogue, search on keywords plus readers
e.g., seashore readers OR shopping readers

Top of page

Māori language readers

Levelling

Readers in te reo Māori are levelled for literacy instruction according to Ngā Kete Korero Framework which comprises four broad levels: Kete Harakeke, Kete Kiekie, Kete Pingao, Miro, then subdivided by a, e, i, o.

For more information refer to: Berryman, M., Rau, C. & Glynn, T. (2001). Ngā Kete Kōrero: A framework for assigning levels of difficulty to existing and new Māori reading resources. Set: Research Information for Teachers, 2, 9-13.

Location

499.3 in Māori Junior Non-Fiction.

Call numbers begin with 499.3 then abbreviate level, series and title.
e.g., 499.3 K-Ha PUR IKA for a reader at Harakeke A level, part of series Purapura, first word of title IKA.

Reading Stage Kete, Sublevels, Abbreviation To search the Catalogue for all readers at a level, use the abbreviated level with the hyphen
Ata pō

Emergent
Harakeke A = KHa

Harakeke E = KHe

Harakeke I = KHi
499.3 K-Ha

499.3 K-He

499.3 K-Hi
Ata puao

Early
Kiekie A = KKa

Kiekie E = KKe

Kiekie I = KKi
499.3 K-Ka

499.3 K-Ke

499.3 K-Ki
Ata tū

Early Fluency
Pingao A = KPa

Pingao E = KPe

Pingao I = KPi

Pingao O = KPo
499.3 K-Pa

499.3 K-Pe

499.3 K-Pi

499.3 K-Po
Awatea

Fluency
Miro 499.3 K-RMiro
He pukapuka kaiako

Teacher handbooks
  499.3 K-T

Searching by level

Use the table above, e.g., 499.3 K-Ke to find all readers at "Kiekie e" level.

Searching by topic

To find in the Catalogue, search on search on your keywords (if any) plus Maori language plus readers.
e.g., Maori language readers OR tangi Maori language readers

Top of page

Pacific language readers

Levelling

No levelling framework applies.

Location

499.4 in the Pacific Junior Non-fiction collection at Epsom.

Call numbers include an abbreviation for the language plus first three letters of the authors last name.
e.g., 499.4 S TUI is a Samoan reader written by an author whose last name starts with the letters Tui.

C   Cook Islands Maori (Rarotongan)
N   Niuean
S   Samoan
T   Tongan
TK   Tokelauan

Searching by language and/or topic

To find in the Catalogue, search on keywords (if any) plus language plus readers.
e.g., Tokelauan readers OR families Tongan readers

Teacher support material

For further support on teaching Pacific languages, use TKI.

Top of page

Junior Journal | School Journal | Connected | School Journal Story LibraryJournal Surf (Online search) | About Journal Surf

Since 1907, the School Journal has been an important resource for children and teachers in New Zealand schools. It has a special focus on content directly relevant to the lives of students in Aotearoa New Zealand. The School Journal and other related resources such as the Junior Journal, Connected and the School Journal Story Library are instructional series published for the Ministry of Education and widely distributed to New Zealand schools.

To find journal articles in School Journal, Connected and School Journal Story Library from 1978 onwards, use the Journal Surf database.  Some recent issues are also available online on TKI Literacy Online.

Top of page

Junior Journal (JJ) and School Journal

Content

  • ​Stories, articles, plays and poems suitable for use across various curriculum areas.

Searching

  • Search the Journal Surf database by topic for stories, articles, plays and poems at different literacy levels, or by author or illustrator.

Access

  • From 1986 onwards - shelved along the wall next to Junior Non-fiction.
  • Before 1986 - in Epsom Stack collection. Ask at Lending Desk.
  • Recent School Journals (from 2014 onwards) on the Literacy Online website.
  • Historical School Journals (1907-1985).

Levelling

Reading Age
(Old system)
Up to August 2011   Curriculum Level
(after August 2011 )
Guided Reading
Level (GRL)
Reading Year
Level (RYL)
6-8 years Junior Changes
t
o
Level 2 <8 3
7-8 years Part One Level 2 8-9 4
8-9 years Part Two Level 3 9-10 5
9-11 years Part Three Level 3 10-11 6
11-13 years Part Four Level 4 11-13 7
      Level 4 12 + 8

Teacher support material

Top of page

Connected (CN)

Content

  • Literacy learning resources with mathematics, science and technology focus.
  • Issues from 1998-2001 are also published in te reo Māori under series title Tuhono.

Searching

  • Search the database Journal Surf by topic or author.
  • Tuhono is not directly searchable in Journal Surf.

Access

  • Connected is shelved at the end of the School Journal sequence.
  • Issues from 2013 onwards, including teacher support material, are available on TKI Literacy Online
  • Tuhono is shelved in Māori Junior Non-fiction at 500 CON.

Levelling

Reading Age Up to 2011   After 2011 Curriculum levels
6-8 Connected 1 (Years 3-4) Changes
to
Connected 2 (Years 3-4) 1-2
8-11 Connected 2 (Years 4-6) Connected 3 (Years 5-6) 1-3
11-13 Connected 3 (Years 5-8) Connected 4 (Years 7-8) 2-4

Teacher support material

Top of page

School Journal Story Library (SL)

Content

  • For Year 5-8 students reading 1-2 years below expected levels.
  • Some titles were translated into te reo Māori in the late 1990s under the series title Kawenga Kōrero.

Searching

  • Use the database Journal Surf to search by topic or author.
  • Māori translations are not directly searchable in Journal Surf.

Access

  • Shelved in Junior Non-fiction 428.6 SCH
  • Some issues, including teacher support material, are available on TKI LIteracy Online.
  • Te reo Māori versions (series title Kawenga Kōrero), shelved in Māori Junior Non-Fiction at 499.3 KAW

Teacher support material

Top of page

Journal Surf: Online search for literacy materials and related resources

Content

  • Search engine for content of School Journal, Junior Journal, Connected and School Journal Story Library from 1978 to the present.

Access

  • Journal Surf
    From Library website > Databases > type Journal Surf in search box > Direct Connect.
    This is a subscription database requiring a special username and password sign on. These details are displayed after you access the database from the Connect page.

Searching

  • Journal Surf Help
  • Search results include Reading Year Level and issue information.
  • Most items are from the School Journal and include Part/Level.
    Where the item is in another series, Part/Level is replaced with abbreviations.
Publication name Shelved
Junior Journal At the start of each School Journal sequence
Connected After the School Journal sequence
School Journal Story Library Junior Non-fiction 428.6 SCH
Journal of Young People's Writing [discontinued] Junior Non-Fiction 820.8 JOU
Journal of Secondary Students Writing [discontinued] Junior Non-fiction 820.809203 JOU NZ

Top of page

Reading aloud

Authors

New Zealand Book Council

Storylines Children's Literature Charitable Trust

Most authors have websites or blogs - just google their names.

Award winners

Blogs and reviewing sites

Specialists

  • Getting Kids into Books
    Rosemary Tisdall
  • New Zealand Picture Book Collection
    University of Waikato. To provide a set of quality New Zealand English picture books reflecting diversity in New Zealand society which can be used in New Zealand classrooms with specially designed, curriculum-linked classroom activities. Provides activities and outlines curriculum links.
  • Storylines
    Children's Literature Charitable Trust

Stories to listen to online

Teacher guides and resources

Many publishers and authors provide resources for teachers to use. Look up the author's or publisher's website.

Top of page

Early Childhood

Primary

Secondary

Explore TKI Te Kete Ipurangi for teacher support material and numerous ideas for unit and lesson planning.

Search the library Catalogue for recently published books on lesson planning.

Borrow teacher support material from the library, or purchase your own copies from Kohia Centre.

Buy yourself a planner, e.g., Essential planner 2018 or Primary school daily planner.

The Faculty of Education and Social Work uses the American Psychological Association APA 6th style.

APA 6th

Support

  • Referencing
    Access a range of tools and support material to assist your referencing work.
  • Referencing: The basics
    An introduction to the principles of referencing and reference management.

Examples

  • Quick©ite
    Use this interactive tool to view examples of references.
    Covers a range of styles used at the University of Auckland.

Last updated : 7 May 2019
Creative Commons License CC BY 4.0 Tautohu Matatiki 4.0 ā-Ao