Dictionaries and encyclopedias
Learn about your topic
Dictionaries and encyclopedias can help you to find definitions and key information on a topic or concept.
They also suggest related concepts and further reading.
Find entries using the Catalogue
Search for topics or concepts in the Catalogue to find entries in online dictionaries and encyclopedias.
To do this:
- Enter your topic or concept in the Catalogue, e.g. ethnicity.
- On the results screen:
In the left hand section Refine My Results, under Format, select More options and tick Include: Reference entries - Your results list is refined, and now shows definitions for your topic or concept from a range of dictionaries and encyclopedias.
More help with defining your topic.
Try subject-specific sources
Search any of the following online collections to find subject-specific companions, handbooks, dictionaries and encyclopedias across different subject areas:
For recommended dictionaries and encyclopedias in your subject area, browse a list of databases by subject or consult a subject guide.
Dictionaries
- New Zealand Oxford dictionary
Dictionary of New Zealand words and their use, compiled by the New Zealand Dictionary Centre (a joint venture of Victoria University of Wellington and Oxford University Press).
Encyclopedias
- Te Ara: The encyclopedia of New Zealand
Comprehensive reference source on New Zealand topics from the Ministry of Culture and Heritage. - Dictionary of New Zealand biography (DNZB)
Part of Te Ara: Biographies, includes entries published DNZB series between 1990-2000 and in the Māori language series Ngā Tāngata Taumata Rau.
English | Māori | Pacific languages | European languages | Asian languages | Sign language
Use the Catalogue to find dictionaries for specific languages.
- e.g. to find a Russian dictionary, search for dictionaries russian
Key dictionaries by language are listed below.
English
- Oxford English dictionary
Comprehensive dictionary of the English language. - New Oxford American dictionary
American English.
Māori
- Wakareo
Compilation of Māori-English and English-Māori dictionaries, lexicons and word lists.
Pacific languages
- Cook Islands Maori dictionary
- Tohi vagahau Niue = Niue language dictionary
- Samoan language grammar and dictionary
- Tokelau dictionary
- Tongan dictionary
European languages
- Collins French dictionary and grammar
- Collins German dictionary
- Collins Italian dictionary
- Collins Portuguese dictionary
- Collins Spanish dictionary
- Diccionario de la lengua Española
Asian languages
- Tuttle concise Chinese dictionary
- JapanKnowledge
Includes both language dictionaries and encyclopedias. - Tuttle pocket Korean dictionary
Sign language
- Online dictionary of New Zealand sign language
A multimedia, multilingual reference tool created by the Deaf Studies Research Unit, Victoria University of Wellington.
Thesauri offer suggestions for similar words (synonyms) for an original word and often list words with oppositional meaning (antonyms).
They also include examples to show how words are used in context.
- Oxford paperback thesaurus
- Roget's thesaurus
American English.
These encyclopedias contain authoritative and accurate information:
Wiki encyclopedia
- Wikipedia
An encyclopedia written collaboratively and constantly updated by its readers.
Wikipedia is not an academic resource. Although you may find it useful for background information and entries may be very up to date, Wikipedia makes no guarantee of validity, and may contain significant misinformation, unencyclopedic content or vandalism.
Referencing styles often have guidelines for how to reference online encyclopedia and dictionary entries.
Guides for three popular styles and relevant sections:
- APA style guide to electronic resources (6th ed.)
Refer to sections 21-23 (p. 8) in the PDF version. - Chicago manual of style online
Search for dictionaries in the search box to find section 14.248: Dictionaries and encyclopedias online. - MLA handbook for writers of research papers (7th ed.)
See section 5.6.2 within the handbook.
Support
- Referencing
Access a range of tools and support material to assist your referencing work.
Examples
- Quick©ite
Use this interactive tool to view examples of references.
Covers a range of styles used at the University of Auckland.
