Use databases to find material in the University of Auckland Library’s collection of books, journals, theses, television programmes and conference proceedings.
- Ministry of Building, Innovation and Employment
Includes Building Code compliance documentation.
- Ministry for the Environment
Includes information on the Resource Management Act and access to the electronic version of the publication Resource Management Act: Two-yearly survey of local authorities.
- Ministry for Culture and Heritage
Includes information on Heritage New Zealand and national monuments.
- Department of Conservation
- New Zealand Legislation
- Statistics New Zealand
- Local Government New Zealand
Includes links to all local and regional authority websites.
- Local Councils New Zealand
Local government information and resources including published reports and data.
Auckland organisations and resources
- Auckland Council
- Auckland Unitary Plan
- Auckland Design Manual
A practical guide to implementing the rules of the Unitary Plan. The ‘Design for Auckland’ and ‘Design for Places’ sections are now live. The ‘Design Process’, ‘Design Thinking’ and ‘Resources’ sections will launch in February 2015.
- Auckland Libraries Heritage Images
Over 100,000 images from the photograph and map collections of Sir George Grey Special Collections.
- Auckland War Memorial Museum Pictorial Collection
Use the 'Advanced Search' option in the Auckland Museum Library catalogue to search for photographs, plans, maps and drawings.
New Zealand organisations and resources
- New Zealand Planning Institute
Includes the Code of Ethics and other professional information.
- Quality Planning
Information on the Resource Management Act.
- Transforming Cities: Innovations for Sustainable Futures
A thematic research initiative of the University of Auckland promoting interdisciplinary research about cities and the way they function.
- Urban Design Forum
- McGuinness Institute
Non-partisan think tank focusing on sustainable futures.
- Statistics New Zealand
International organisations and resources
- Planning Institute of Australia (PIA)
- Royal Town Planning Institute (RTPI)
- Canadian Institute of Planners (CIP)
- American Planning Association (APA)
- Commonwealth Association of Planners
- UN Sustainable Development Knowledge Platform
- UN Habitat
- Urban Land Institute (ULI)
- Center for International Environmental Law (CIEL)
- Planners Web
Create a search strategy
- Analyse your research question or assignment topic. Restate it in your own words if that helps you to understand it.
- Identify the keywords which represent the main ideas or concepts in your question or topic.
- Think of synonyms and related terms for the main concepts. Use a concept map or table, as below.
- Formulate your search by selecting a word from each column (or different concept).
- Try searching various combinations of the keywords/synonyms, eg, urban sustainability, environmental city planning.
My concepts are:
Searching multidisciplinary resources
Be aware that you may need to add qualifying words to a central concept when using a multidisciplinary resource to avoid getting irrelevant results.
If you do retrieve such results when using planning as a search term, add keywords which describe what you are looking for more clearly:
- "city planning"
Note: this is a phrase search using speech marks " "
- "urban planning"
- "regional planning"
Two referencing styles commonly used in the School of Architecture and Planning are APA 6th and Chicago 16th using footnotes.
- Use Quick©ite to see examples of how to reference using these styles.
Print manuals of both styles are also available in the Architecture and Planning Library Reference Collection:
- Publication manual of the American Psychological Association, 6th edition
- Chicago manual of style, 16th edition
Please be aware of the copyright implications of using images from other sources such as websites, databases, books or journals in your work.
Student work made available on the internet, e.g., the digital version of a MUrbPlan thesis is considered to be published.
The following information should be included when citing an image:
- The name of the creator of the image.
- The title of the image.
- The owner of the image, e.g., library, museum, estate, individual, photographer, publisher.
- The material or medium of the image, e.g., digital, photograph, sketch.
- The source of the image, e.g., website, database, book. If the source is a website or database, include the date you accessed it.
Devitt, Simon. The north-west façade of the first Merwood House in 2011. Photograph. In: Julia Gatley, Athfield Architects (Auckland, N.Z.: Auckland University Press, 2012), 22.
Access a range of tools and support material to assist your referencing work.
Use this interactive tool to view examples of references.
Covers a range of styles used at the University of Auckland.