Property

Key databases | Handbooks and encyclopedias | Journals | Property news

Key databases

• ABI/INFORM
  International property and housing journals.
• Business Source Premier
  International scholarly journals covering property, housing, and facilities management.
• Emerald
  Books and peer-reviewed journals across all areas of business, including useful real estate content.
• IPD New Zealand Property Investors Digest
  Statistical data on property investment in New Zealand.
• IPD Australia Property Investors Digest
  Statistical data on property investment in Australia.
• Residential Property Sales Statistics
  Data files for New Zealand house sales including elements for geographic location (excluding house number), sale date and price, capital and land value, building floor area, land area, building type.
• Māori Land Online (MLOL)
  Current ownership, trustee, memorial and block (geospatial) information, supported by computer-generated map display, for land that falls within the jurisdiction of the Māori Land Court.
• Lexis Advance
  Extensive range of full text New Zealand and Australian legislation and legal resources, including Residential Tenancies Act, Resource Management Act, and the Property Law Act. Also includes LinxPlus with many unreported judgments and also indexes legal journal articles and books received by the Auckland, Wellington and Christchurch District Law Society libraries.

Top of page

Handbooks and encyclopedias

• The Sage Handbook of Housing Studies
• International Encyclopedia of Housing and Home

Top of page

Journals

• Australia and New Zealand Property Journal (Print version only)
  Flagship publication of the Australian Property Institute and the Property Institute of New Zealand.
• Commercial Investment Real Estate (CIRE) Magazine
  In-depth analyses of current industry trends, interviews with real estate professionals.
• Development Magazine
  Selected articles on commercial real estate development.
• Journal of Financial Management of Property and Construction
• Journal of Real Estate Finance and Economics
• The Journal of Sustainable Real Estate
• Landwrap
  Official client newsletter of Land Information New Zealand.
• Pacific Rim Property Research Journal
  The official quarterly refereed journal of the Pacific Rim Real Estate Society (PRRES) is intended to offer academics and practitioners a forum for the dissemination of the latest ideas in property research in the Pacific Rim region. The Library also holds this journal in print from 2000 (Vol. 6).
• Retail Traffic
  Now incorporated into the retail channel of the new NREIonline.com. Covers centre design and construction, property management and operations, shopping centre leasing and development, finance, and shopping centre marketing.

Top of page

Property news

• Australia/New Zealand Reference Centre
  A full-text collection combining content from Australian, New Zealand and overseas magazines, academic journals, newspapers, newswires, reference books and company information.
• Australia & New Zealand Newsstream
  A selection of newspapers and newswires from Australia and New Zealand covering regional and international topics.
• Bayleys Research
  Up-to-date, nationwide research on residential, apartment, commercial, industrial, rural, retail, waterfront, lifestyle, and South Pacific property markets.
• Factiva
  Includes full text of New Zealand Herald, Dominion Post, The Press, Otago Daily Times, NBR.
• Findata
  New Zealand property news.
• Global Property Guide
  A resource for international investors in residential real estate markets. Research focuses on gross rental yields, market structure and developments, landlord and tenant law, and tax rates. Has international data on over 100 foreign property markets.
• GoodReturns.co.nz
  News and statistical data on New Zealand's mortgage markets.
• Landlords
  New Zealand property investment site.
• Quotable Value (QV)
  Access up-to-date reports on New Zealand property.

Top of page

New Zealand | Australia | Canada | United Kingdom | United States | International

New Zealand

For help with statistics refer to the detailed guide on Finding Statistics about New Zealand.

• New Zealand Time Series
  Contains economic, financial and social statistics data drawn from Statistics New Zealand, the Reserve Bank of New Zealand and Treasury.
• Residential Property Sales Statistics
  A data file for New Zealand house sales from 2010. From PropertyIQ.
• Census statistics
  From Statistics New Zealand.

Top of Page

Australia

• Australian Bureau of Statistics: Housing
• Business Monitor International
  For Australian real estate reports.

Top of Page

Canada

• Canada Mortgage and Housing Corporation
  See housing market information.
• Economic Indicators, Construction, Housing
  From Statistics Canada.

Top of Page

United Kingdom

• Housing Research Summaries
• Business Monitor International
  For quarterly UK real estate reports.

Top of Page

United States

• EconData.Net
  Excellent collection of statistics and data, under Industry Sectors > Housing & Real Estate.
• HUD Data Sets
  US Dept of Housing and Urban Development. Includes access to the American Housing Survey.
• US Census Bureau Housing Data

Top of Page

International

• Investment Property Databank (IPD): National Indices
  Free downloads for UK, Ireland, the Netherlands, Sweden, South Africa, Germany and France.

Top of Page

Industry | Government | Auckland local government

Industry

• Building Research Association of New Zealand (BRANZ)
• Centre for Housing Research, Aotearoa New Zealand (CHANZ)
• Community Housing Aotearoa
• New Zealand Institute of Quantity Surveyors
• New Zealand Property Institute
  Formed in 2000 by the members of the New Zealand Institute of Valuers, the Institute of Plant & Machinery Valuers, and the Property & Land Economy Institute of New Zealand.
• New Zealand Property Investors Federation (NZPIF)
  A resource for NZPIF members, provides information for investors interested in joining.
• Pacific-Rim Real Estate Society
• Property Council of New Zealand
• Quotable Value New Zealand
  Valuation and property information provider.
• Real Estate Institute Of New Zealand (REINZ)
  Access to news, market trends, Housing Price Index, and Codes of Practice.

Top of page

Government

• Department of Conservation
• Environment Court of New Zealand
• Land Information New Zealand
• Department of Building and Housing
  Includes information on New Zealand housing reforms, and related legislation.
• New Zealand Ministry for the Environment
  Includes information on the Resource Management Act and other New Zealand planning related material.
• Local Councils New Zealand
• Local Government New Zealand
• New Zealand Local Government Online

Top of page

Auckland local government

Local government includes regional plans, transport plans, urban and retail development plans and strategies.

• Auckland Council
• Northland Regional Council
• Whangarei District Council

Top of page

Real estate and property | Housing and building | Valuation | Facilities | Land and development

Real estate and property

• American Real Estate and Urban Economics Association (AREUEA)
  Focus on information and analysis in real estate development, planning and economics.
• Australian Property Institute
• British Property Federation
• Counselors of Real Estate (CRE)
  Provides advisory services to clients on property and land-related matters in the United States.
• Institute of Real Estate Management (IREM)
  United States information, research, analysis, and advice for professionals managing all types of real estate.
• Pacific-Rim Real Estate Society
  Members from Australia, New Zealand, Fiji, Hong Kong, Singapore, China, Indonesia, Malaysia and Korea. PRRES provides a formal focus for property researchers, educators and practitioners in the Pacific-Rim region. PRRES, along with the American Real Estate Society (ARES), the European Real Estate Society (ERES), the Asian Real Estate Society (AsRES), the African Real Estate Society (AfRES), the Latin American Real Estate Society (LaRes) and the Middle East North Africa Real Estate Society (MENARES) form the network structure for the International Real Estate Society (IRES) in further developing international property research and education.
• Real Estate Research Institute
  United States research on investment performance and market fundamentals that affect real estate decision making.
• Real Property Institute of Canada
• Real Property Association of Canada
• International Council of Shopping Centers (ICSC)
  US based, global trade association of the shopping centre industry.

Top of page

Housing and building

• National Multi-Housing Council
  United States research on apartment market conditions, resident demographics, owning versus renting, and the impact of policy on market supply and demand.
• U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development (HUD)
  Includes an online library giving access to housing information and resources.
• Housing: Dept for Communities and Local Government (UK)
• BOMA (Building Owners & Managers Association) International
• Canada Green Building Council

Top of page

Valuation

• International Valuation Standards Council
• Appraisal Institute of Canada
• World Association of Valuation Organisations
• American Society of Appraisers

Top of page

Facilities

• International Facility Management Association (IFMA)
• British Institute of Facilities Management
• Facilities Management Resource Page
  Links to United States university, government and professional FM organisations, online publications, listservs and FM software and service providers.
• FacilitiesNet
  For United States professionals who design, construct, manage and maintain buildings.
• Property Mall
  British commercial property, news and companies.

Top of page

Land and development

• International Urban Development Association (INTA)
  Fosters initiatives in major urban programmes, regeneration schemes and development policies. A global organisation, based in France.
• Urban Land Institute (ULI)
  Provides leadership in the responsible use of land.
• Royal Institution of Chartered Surveyors (RICS)
  Covers commercial property, construction, land use planning, minerals, residential and rural property.

Top of page

Search strategy | Where to search | Building on your research

Search strategy

• Analyse your research question. Identify the important concepts within the topic.
• Use dictionaries or encyclopedias to help define these concepts or terms. Particularly useful for property are:
  • The Sage Handbook of Housing Studies
  • International Encyclopedia of Housing and Home
• Choose keywords that describe the concepts and/or terms.
• Determine whether there are synonyms and related terms that should be included in your search. A concept table can be a useful tool to assist with searching.

Search using various combinations of the keywords/concepts, synonyms and related terms.
For example: housing affordability in Auckland.

Concept table

Top of page

Where to search?

The Catalogue finds books, journal titles, theses, multimedia and images.

Use Databases or Google Scholar to search for articles.

For more detailed information on searching see the Business Information Skills Online Starting your search module.

Top of page

Building on your research

Here are some strategies that build on information you already have. Start with a book or article that is relevant to your research topic:

• Look at the list of references to find further relevant research.
• Search the Library databases for more publications by a particular author.
• Note any journals from the reference list that are likely to publish articles on your topic. Search within selected journals and set up an alert to be be notified of new issues of journals.
• Search for citations to your original book or article. You can do citation searching on:
  • Business Source Premier
  • Web of Science
  • Scopus
  • Google Scholar
  • Science Direct
• Some databases, such as Scopus, Science Direct and Google Scholar, also link to related article.

Top of page

APA

The Business School uses APA style for referencing.

• Publication manual of the American Psychological Association (7th edition)
• APA Style blog

Support

• Referencing
  Access a range of tools and support material to assist your referencing work.

Examples

• Quick©ite
  Use this interactive tool to view examples of references.
  Covers a range of styles used at the University of Auckland.