Māori business

Selected readings | Recommended publications | Aotearoa New Zealand and Indigenous business sources | Theses and research | TV and news media

Selected readings

A selection of Māori business and economy literature, presented using RefWorks referencing software.

• Māori economy
• Indigenous economies
• Leadership and Governance
• Entrepreneurship and innovation
• Māori business development

Recommended publications

• Academy of Management Journal
• Asia Pacific Journal of Human Resources
• Australian Journal of Management
• Management (NZ)
• National Business Review
• New Zealand Herald
• New Zealand Journal of Business (hard copy only)
• The Harvard Business Review
• The University of Auckland Business Review

Aotearoa New Zealand and Indigenous business sources

• Independent Māori Statutory Board, Auckland Council
• Federation of Māori Authorities
• Poutama Trust
• Te Puni Kōkiri
• Harvard Project on American Indian Economic Development
• Native Nations Institute, University of Arizona, Tucson

Theses and research

• A selection of theses and dissertations relating to Māori business, management, and the economy. The list is available in a RefWorks shared folder. You can change the views so the full metadata, including abstract and keywords, will appear. Access to print and electronic copies are available to University of Auckland staff and students only, or may be requested through Interlibrary Loan.
• NZResearch.org.nz is a valuable source of theses, dissertations, and other scholarly research produced by tertiary institutions in New Zealand.

TV and news media

The TV and radio database has over 100,000 hours of archived television and radio dating from 1965 to the present day. This collection includes a wealth of news and current affairs programming including Māori television content.

These are key New Zealand databases that can be used to source a variety of Māori business content:

• Newztext Plus
  Full text of some of New Zealand's news and business publications.
• Factiva
  Global news, business news, company news and industry information content.

Top of page

Key databases

• Australia & New Zealand Newsstream
  A selection of full-text newspapers and newswires from Australia and New Zealand covering regional and international topics.
• Australia/New Zealand Reference Centre
  Academic journals, magazines, newspapers, newswires, reference books and company information from Australian, New Zealand and selected overseas magazines.
• ABI/INFORM
  In-depth coverage of a large number of business journals, magazines and newspapers.
• Business Source Premier
  An extensive business research database offering information in nearly every area of business including management, economics, finance, accounting and international business using both scholarly and popular sources.
• JSTOR
  Journals in most subjects, primarily archival coverage; JSTOR also contains selected e-books, including recently-published academic titles.

Business assistance | Government | Farming, forestry, and fisheries | Media and broadcasting | Tourism | Universities | Educational institutions

Business assistance

• Poutama Business Trust
  Poutama Business Trust seeks to facilitate economic growth for Māori.
• CommunityNet Aotearoa
  Māori organisational structures and getting started.
• Māori Business Networks
  A list of networks from around the country.
• Auckland Tourism, Events, and Economic Development (ATEED)
• Federation of Māori Authorities
  A network of Māori organisations comprising Māori Incorporations, Māori Land Trusts, Māori Trusts Boards and Runanga.
• Mahi.co.nz
  Provides Māori-focused employment opportunities.

Top of page

Government

• Te Puni Kōkiri
  Includes Māori Enterprise.
• Te Tumu Paeroa
  The Māori Trust Offices service the Māori Trustee's clients by collecting and distributing income for landowners.
• Ministry of Business, Innovation and Employment (MBIE)
  Information and resources supporting Māori business.
• Māori Business Identifier
  Businesses can  identify as a Māori business on the  New Zealand Business Number (NZBN) Register. The use of this identifier will lead to a better understanding of the role Māori businesses play in the New Zealand economy.

Top of page

Farming, forestry and fisheries

• Te Ohu Kai Moana The Māori Fisheries Trust
  Fisheries information, including news, policies, and education
• Crown Forestry Rental Trust
• Lake Taupo Forest Trust

Top of page

Media and broadcasting

• Kōkiri
  Magazine from TPK which celebrates Māori achievement, showcases Māori success and realises Māori potential.
• Mana Magazine
• Māori News Online
  Māori news bulletins, dictionaries, research, publishers and email lists.
• Māori Television
• TangataWhenua.com
  Indigenous centred Māori focused news and views.
• Tū mai: offering an indigenous New Zealand perspective
• TV1 Marae

Top of page

Tourism

• Tourism Export Council of New Zealand
• Journeys on the Whanganui River
• Māori Tourism (Ministry of Tourism)
• Tourism Industry Association of New Zealand

Top of page

Universities

• Auckland University of Technology (AUT)
  Faculty of Māori & Indigenous Development Te Ara Poutama
• Massey University
  Ngā Pae o te Maramatanga
  Te Au Rangahau: Māori Business Research Centre
• University of Auckland
  Mira Szászy Research Centre for Māori and Pacific Economic Development
  Te Puna Wānanga
• University of Waikato
  School of Māori and Pacific Development = Te Pua Wānanga Ki Te Ao - Centre for Māori and Pacific Development Research (CMPDR)
  Site includes the online journal He Puna Kōrero: Journal of Māori and Pacific Development. Also includes information on the National Māori Academic Excellence Awards.

Top of page

Educational institutions

• Te Whare Wānanga o Aotearoa
• Te Whare Wānanga o Awanuiārangi
• Te Wānanga o Raukawa
• The Māori Education Trust
  Provides education scholarships for Māori students.
• Scholarships
  From the Takoa rua mano site

Top of page

Where to start

Develop a search strategy before tackling the search tools. This will help you to locate relevant literature about your topic.

• Define the key concepts and key terms of your topic. This could include authors' names and recommended journals. To find Māori terms to use, try the Wakareo database. Or use the Ngā Upoko Tukutuku, Māori Subject Headings
• Compile a list of keywords, phrases, synonyms and subjects to use when you search the Library Catalogue, databases and the internet.
• Document the sources you find as you go along.
• Note all the details so you can cite and reference materials to avoid plagiarism.

To search for journal articles you will need to use the databases.

Top of page

APA

The Business School uses APA style for referencing.

• Publication manual of the American Psychological Association (7th edition)
• APA Style blog

Support

• Referencing
  Access a range of tools and support material to assist your referencing work.

Examples

• Quick©ite
  Use this interactive tool to view examples of references.
  Covers a range of styles used at the University of Auckland.