Management and International Business

Key databases

Full list of Library databases for Management and International Business.

Theses and other research

  • ResearchSpace
    A digital repository or online archive for the University of Auckland, containing full-text theses and other research outputs.
  • nzresearch.org
    A gateway to open access research documents, including theses, produced at universities, polytechnics, and other research institutions in New Zealand.
  • SSRN: Social Science Research Network
    A website devoted to the rapid dissemination of scholarly research in the social sciences and humanities.
  • Finding theses and dissertations
    Databases and websites for finding theses.

Conferences

Conferences are a valuable source of current research and new developments in a research area. Conference proceedings may be published as books or as a special issue of a journal. They may take several years to be published, and not all papers presented are published. Individual papers may also be published in a particular journal, or on an author or institutional website.

  • Search databases and the internet for conference information.
  • Search the Library Catalogue for the name of a conference and include the keywords conference or proceedings.

Key journals

  • The majority of the key academic journals in these subject areas are available (either in full text or indexed) on the Business Source Premier and ABI/Inform databases. If you know the name of a journal you can search for it under the Publications tab on the database. You can then search within that specific journal.
  • If you want to locate scholarly journals on a topic carry out a subject search of either of these databases and restrict your search to scholarly/peer reviewed material.
  • For information on a journal (for example publisher details, whether it is peer reviewed, where it is indexed), try checking Ulrichsweb.

Journal rankings

There are a variety of journal rankings systems in use. The Australian Business Deans Council ABDC Journal Quality list is often used as a guide by Australasian universities but there are many others. Anne Wil Harzing has complied a very comprehensive Journal Quality List with ratings for journals from 22 different lists.

See also the Library's web page on Journal Impact.

Organisations - New Zealand

  • Institute of Directors
    The IOD promotes excellence in corporate governance, represents directors’ interests and facilitates their professional development.
  • Institute of Public Administration New Zealand
    IPANZ is an organisation which promotes improvements in public policy and in administration and management across New Zealand's public sector.
  • New Zealand Council of Trade Unions
    The NZCTU brings together over 350,000 New Zealand union members in 40 affiliated unions.
  • BusinessNZ
    The leading national organisation representing the interests of New Zealand's business and employing sectors.

Government - New Zealand

Where to start

Keywords

  • Think about different ways to describe the topic you are researching. You may need to repeat your searches using different variations of the keywords or concepts. Try using synonyms and related terms.
  • A concept map is quite a good way of listing alternative terms to systematically construct multiple searches. For example, if your topic is "team work in a virtual workplace" you might map the key concepts as below.
    Concept 1 Concept 2 Concept 3
    teams virtual workplace
    teamwork telework workforce
      telecommuting employees
      mobile  

From this table, you would enter one keyword from each column/concept in successive combinations.

  • You can also use subject headings (sometimes referred to as descriptors or keywords) in many database searches to find relevant material. For example in the Business Source Premier database the subject heading virtual work teams would be a good one to use for this topic.

Where to search

  • Search the Catalogue for books and journal titles, but not article or chapter titles.
  • Search subject databases for journal and magazine articles. Articles and more can be a good place to carry out an initial search but does not offer the in-depth search options of the subject specific resources.
  • To find out whether an item is held elsewhere in New Zealand search Te Puna Search, a combined catalogue of New Zealand libraries.
  • For more on searching consult Business Information Skills Online and the Library's Workshops and Guides.

Building on your research

Below are some strategies you can use to build on information that you already have. Start with a recommended reading, or a book or article that is relevant to your research topic and try some of the following:

  • Look at the list of references to find more material on your topic.
  • Take note of the words used in the text of your book or article. They may provide useful new terms to use when searching for more literature.
  • An author will often have written extensively on a topic. Search databases for more of their publications.
  • Find your book or article in the library catalogue or a database. Use the subject headings (sometimes referred to as descriptors or keywords) in the catalogue or database record to find similar material.
  • An excellent way to find more recent articles on a topic is to search for citations to your original book or article. You can do citation searching on:
  • Some databases, such as Scopus, Science Direct and Google Scholar, also link to related articles which share common references.

APA Style

The Business School uses APA style for referencing.

Support

  • Referencing
    Access a range of tools and support material to assist your referencing work.

Examples

  • Quick©ite
    Use this interactive tool to view examples of references.
    Covers a range of styles used at the University of Auckland.

Last updated : 31 May 2019
Creative Commons License CC BY 4.0 Tautohu Matatiki 4.0 ā-Ao