Globalisation, trade and investment

Key resources | Indices | Organisations and research centres

Key resources

• The Catalogue
  Find print and online books, theses, and journals on globalisation. Search for keywords (e.g., anti-globalization movement, internationalism, globalization, globalization and economic aspects) and also search for the alternate spelling globalisation.
• NZresearch.org.nz
  Search for research, including theses, from New Zealand universities and research institutions.
• To learn about the topic of globalisation see :
  • Anwar, S. T. (2007). Global business and globalization. Journal of International Management, 13(1), 78-89.
  • Bhagwati, J. N. (2004). In defense of globalization. New York: Oxford University Press.
  • Huwart, J. & Verdier, L. (2013). Economic globalisation: Origins and consequences. OECD Insights, OECD Publishing.
  • Stiglitz, J. E. (2006). Making globalization work. London: Allen Lane.
  • Stiglitz, J. E. (2002). Globalization and its discontents. New York: Norton.
• International Monetary Fund (IMF)
  • Global financial stability report
  • World economic outlook reports
• World Bank
  • Global economic prospects
  • World development reports
• World Economic Forum
  Publishes reports examining a range of global issues.

Top of page

Indices

• KOF Index of Globalization
  Measures economic, social and political dimensions of globalisation. Data are available on a yearly basis for 207 countries over the period 1970 onwards.
• CSGR Globalisation Index
  Measures the economic, social and political dimensions of globalisation for countries annually over the period 1982-2004, and combines these into an overall globalisation score. The index, produced by Warwick University, is constructed to be consistent over time and across countries.
• IMD world competitiveness yearbook
  Analyses and ranks the performance of competitive nations.
• Passport
  See Search Statistics > Economies and Consumers > Economy, Finance and Trade. From the category selection options include: Ease of doing business ranking, and Global competitiveness index.
• Measuring globalisation: OECD economic globalisation indicators 2010
  Broad range of indicators showing the magnitude and intensity of globalisation.
• Global Competitiveness Report 2020
  Produced by the World Economic Forum.

Top of page

Organisations and research centres

• Nottingham Centre for Research on Globalisation and Economic Policy
• globalEDGE Globalization
  List of resources and organisations.
• Brookings Institution Global Economy and Development program
• Global Policy Forum: Globalization
• Harvard Business School Working Knowledge: Globalization
• ILO World Commission on the Social Dimension of Globalization
• World Bank Global Economic Prospects
  Examines growth trends for the global economy and how they affect developing countries.
• Yale Center for the Study of Globalization

Statistics and databases for globalisation.

Top of page

Key resources | Organisations | Trade agreements and blocs | Trade barriers | Trade policies | Tariff | Trade law

Key resources

• The Catalogue
  Find books, theses, and journals, including e-resources, on international trade.

  Keywords to search on include:
  Asia Pacific Economic Cooperation	Balance of trade	Commercial treaties
  Comparative advantage	Competition international	Exports
  Foreign trade	Free trade	General agreement on tariffs and trade
  Imports	International trade	Non-tariff trade barriers
  Trade blocs	Tariff	World Trade Organization

• Deardorff, A. V. (2014). Terms of trade: Glossary of international economics. 2nd ed.
• Reinert, K. A., Rajan, R. S., & Glass, A. J. (2008). Princeton encyclopedia of the world economy. Princeton University Press.
• Encyclopedia of world trade: From ancient times to the present
• Glossary of trade units and terms
  From TradePort.

Top of page

Organisations

New Zealand

• Trade and tariffs
  From the Ministry of Business, Innovation and Employment.
• New Zealand Ministry of Foreign Affairs and Trade
• New Zealand Trade and Enterprise
• New Zealand International Business Forum

International

• World Trade Organization (WTO)
  • Map of disputes between WTO members
  • GATT Digital Library: 1947-1994
• UNCTAD International Trade and Commodities
• International Trade Centre
• European Commission Trade
• OECD Trade
• Pacific Islands Trade and Invest
• SICE Foreign Trade Information System
  Information on trade policy in the Americas.
• World Bank Trade
  • World Bank LINKAGE model
    The model is a global dynamic computable general equilibrium (CGE) model maintained by the World Bank to support global policy analysis such as trade policy, global savings and investment.
• Purdue University's Global Trade Analysis Project
• Cairns Group
  Coalition of agricultural exporting countries, including New Zealand.

Top of page

Trade agreements and blocs

New Zealand

• Select Committee details: Foreign affairs, defence and trade
• Australia-New Zealand Closer Economic Relations Trade Agreement (ANZCERTA) and related documents
• Strengthening economic relations between Australia and New Zealand
  Report by the Productivity Commissions of Australia and New Zealand on trans-Tasman economic relations (2012).

Asia Pacific area

• See Research Guide on the trading systems of the Asian-Pacific region, 2014, from GlobaLex.
• ASEAN - Australia - New Zealand Free Trade Agreement
• APEC Committee on Trade and Investment
• Pacific Agreement on Closer Economic Relations (PACER)
• Pacific Island Countries Trade Agreement (PICTA)
• Commentary on PACER and PICTA from bilaterals.org.
• South Pacific Trade and Economic Cooperation (SPARTECA)

International

• Doha Development Round of trade negotiations: Understanding the issues
• Regional trade agreements
  From globalEDGE, Michigan State University.
• US free trade agreements
  From Export.gov.
• Trade blocs
  From globalEDGE, Michigan State University: statistics, historical information and resources.

Top of page

Trade barriers

• Trade barriers by country
  From the European Commission.
• National Trade Estimate Report
  From the Office of the United States Trade Representative, this annual series surveys significant foreign barriers to US exports.

Top of page

Trade policies

• Trade policy reviews
  Reviews for each country from the WTO, reporting on the economic environment, trade policy regime, and policies and practices. Also policy statements from respective Governments.

Top of page

Tariff

• Tariff and concessions and the Working Tariff Document
  New Zealand Customs Service.
• Country tariff and tax information
  Export.gov.
• APEC tariffs and rules of origin in APEC member economies
• Data on trade and import barriers
  The World Bank.
• Harmonized tariff schedule of the United States
  The United States International Trade Commission (USITC).
• Interactive tariff and trade dataweb
  A free resource from USITC. Requires user registration.
• Free Trade Area of the Americas (FTAA) Hemispheric Trade and Tariff database
• OECD Inventory of Tariffs and Trade Data
• World Development Indicators
  From the World Bank. Tariff rates by country for all products.
• Determining duty rates
  From US Customs and Border Protection. Provides approximations for the duty rate of products.

Top of page

Trade law

• Trade
  New Zealand Ministry of Foreign Affairs and Trade
• WorldTradeLaw.Net
  A trade law news service incorporating WTO cases and legal texts, and a Dispute Settlement Commentaries (DSC) section which provides summaries and analysis of all WTO reports and arbitrations.
• United Nations Commission on International Trade Law

Statistics and databases for international trade.

Top of page

Key resources | Country investment policies | Indices

Key resources

• Foreign Direct Investment in New Zealand: Trends and Insights
  2016 report by KPMG presenting analysis of 2013-15 FDI in New Zealand.
• New Zealand Government report, International Investment for Growth (2015)
• The Catalogue
  Find books, theses, and journals on foreign direct investment (FDI).
  Search for keywords, e.g., investments foreign, outward direct investment, inward direct investment, foreign ownership, country risk.
  Add country names for a more focused search (e.g., foreign ownership New Zealand).
• Asia Development Bank Institute
  Use the search box to find publications on FDI.
• Asia New Zealand Foundation (NZ)
  Includes a 2017 report on Asian investment in NZ and a 2012 report on FDI between New Zealand and Asia.
• Multilateral Investment Guarantee Agency (MIGA)
  A member of the World Bank Group, MIGA promotes foreign direct investment into developing countries. Publishes an annual World Investment and Political Risk report.
• Research on FDI by the New Zealand Initiative
  Includes a brief history of FDI in New Zealand.
• OECD International investment portal
  Includes working papers.
• Overseas Investment Office (OIO) (NZ)
  Assesses applications from overseas persons intending to invest in New Zealand assets. See OIO Decision Summaries.
• New Zealand Trade & Enterprise
  Information on investing in NZ, including investment regulations.
• Campaign Against Foreign Control of Aotearoa (CAFCA) (NZ)
  Includes monthly analyses of the decisions of the OIO. CAFCA publishes Foreign Control Watchdog, a journal detailing OIO applications and decisions, naming companies and individuals.
• Bilateral Investment Treaties and International Investment Instruments: A Compendium
  From the United Nations Conference on Trade and Development (UNCTAD).
• Investment Climate Advisory Services
  From the World Bank Group, includes publications, data and indicators on foreign direct investment.

Top of page

Country investment policies

• Business Source Premier
  • CountryWatch Country Reviews provide political and investment overviews (including foreign investment, procedures and regulations) for a country.
    Type the country name and the words country review and change the 'in' box to SO Publication name, e.g., Japan country review.
  • The Political risk yearbook consists of country conditions and forecasts, including the climate for investment and trade. Type the country name and the words political risk and change the 'in' box to SO Publication name, e.g., political risk Italy.
• BMI Research
  Country business reports include multinationals and FDI involvement.
• OECD Investment Policy Reviews
  Examines the policies of individual countries on FDI.
• UNCTAD investment policy reviews

Top of page

Indices

• Foreign Direct Investment Confidence Index
  Published by ATKearney, ranks countries based on how changes in their political, economic and regulatory systems are likely to affect foreign direct investment inflows.
• OECD FDI Regulatory Restrictiveness Index
• Foreign Investment Index, in CountryWatch Country Reviews, accessible through Business Source Premier. To find the reviews, type the country name and the words country review and change the 'in' box to SO Publication name, e.g., Japan country review.

Statistics and databases for foreign direct investment.

Top of page

Globalisation | International trade | Foreign direct investment New Zealand | Foreign direct investment international

Globalisation

• OECD Statistics on Measuring Globalisation
• International Debt Statistics (formerly known as Global Development Finance)
  From the World Bank, provides data on the movement of international capital flow to developing countries.
• World Development Indicators
  From the World Bank, covers people, environment, economy, states and markets and global links.
• UNdata
  From the United Nations Statistics Division.

Top of page

International trade

New Zealand

• Statistics New Zealand
  • New Zealand Official Yearbook provides overview data.
  • Wholesale, retail, price indexes and overseas trade resources.
  • Imports and exports covers Overseas merchandise trade, Overseas trade index, Overseas cargo statistics, International trade statistics and also data drawn from Infoshare and NZ.Stat.
• New Zealand Time Series
  Monthly data for imports by origin, exports by destination, the value of imports/exports of major commodities, and the volume of principal imports and exports.
• New Zealand Trade Intelligence Dashboard
  Trade, investment and visitor flows with NZ's trading partners. Uses Statistics NZ data.

Top of page

International

• OECD
  • International Trade by Commodity Statistics
    Annual data providing detailed import and export data in US dollars broken down by commodity and by partner country for OECD countries and selected non-OECD countries including China and Hong Kong.
  • Monthly Statistics of International Trade
    Trading patterns for OECD countries with the rest of the world.
  • International Trade in Services
  • Trade in Value by Partner Country
• World Trade Organization (WTO)
  • WTO Stats
    Available time series cover merchandise trade and trade in services statistics (annual, quarterly and monthly), market access indicators (bound, applied & preferential tariffs), non-tariff information as well as other indicators.
  • International Trade Statistics
    WTO’s annual compilation of global trade statistics.
• Direction of Trade Statistics (DOTS)
  From the International Monetary Fund (IMF), provides world, regional and country data. Also available via Datastream but there is no commodity data.
• United Nations trade statistics
  Access to the UNcomtrade (bilateral trade by commodity data from 1962, there are some gaps in the 1970s for NZ data) and the UNServiceTrade databases. Note: you need to register to use UNServiceTrade. Also access to the International Trade Statistics Yearbook and the UNCTAD Handbook of Statistics.
• resourcetrade.earth
  International trade data from the Chatham House Resource Trade Database, covering over 200 countries. Includes the monetary values and masses of trade in over 1,350 types of natural resources and resource products, including agricultural, fishery and forestry products, fossil fuels, metals and other minerals. Data presented visually, plus can be downloaded. Data from 2000.

Trade classifications

• Statistical Classification Manuals
  From the Glasgow University Library.
• Ways of looking at New Zealand merchandise trade data using different economic classifications
  From Statistics New Zealand.
• New Zealand harmonised system classification 2017
  From Statistics New Zealand, used to classify commodities.
• Standard International Trade Classification (SITC)
• Industry classification codes

Top of page

Foreign direct investment

New Zealand statistics

• Statistics New Zealand
  • New Zealand’s inward foreign affiliate statistics
    A 2014 report providing information on the performance and characteristics of foreign-owned businesses in New Zealand.
  • Attewell, J. & van Lijf, W. (2005). Investigation of New Zealand's Inward Foreign Affiliate Trade Statistics (FATS) using existing data sources. Statistics New Zealand.
  • Balance of Payments
    Includes information on FDI into New Zealand plus New Zealand investment overseas. Annual flows and stocks by country are available for 233 countries for the year ended March, 2001-2014.
  • Balance of Payments and International Investment Position
    Information releases
  • Investment by Country
    Includes information on how to locate data within Infoshare.
• New Zealand Time Series
  • Under Balance of Payments, data is available for stock and flows by country of FDI abroad and in New Zealand. Includes historical data.
• Overseas Investment Office (OIO)
  • OIO decision summaries and statistics
• New Zealand Trade & Enterprise
  FDI statistics for NZ.
• Campaign Against Foreign Control of Aotearoa (CAFCA)
  See key facts for statistics on foreign control in New Zealand.

Top of page

International statistics

For an overview on organisations that collect data and the type of FDI data available, see the 2004 IMF publication Foreign direct investment: trends, data availability, concepts, and recording practices.

The following resources have FDI statistics for most countries, including NZ where appropriate.

European Commission

• Eurostat
  Foreign direct investments.
• Investment data from the Balance of payments statistics.

International Monetary Fund (IMF)

• International Finance Statistics
  Provides basic time series direct investment data for direct investment abroad and direct investment in reporting country. Balance of Payments Statistics and Government Finance Statistics provide time series data for direct investment. There is no data for flows by country. This data can also be accessed through Datastream.
• Coordinated Direct Investment Survey
  Worldwide statistical data collection by the IMF.

Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD)

• OECD data, analysis and forecasts including their annual International Direct Investment Statistics publication. Includes data for New Zealand.
• Measuring Globalisation: OECD Economic Globalisation Indicators 2010 has a section on FDI.

United Nations Council on Trade and Development (UNCTAD)

• UNCTAD FDI statistics
• World Investment Report includes cross-border M&A purchases and data for inward / outward FDI stocks.

World Bank

• World Development Indicators
  Includes FDI net and inflow data, from 1960 onwards. Data for New Zealand is from 1972 onwards.
• International Debt Statistics (formerly known as Global Development Finance)
  Annual time series data. Focus is on developing economies. Has FDI net flows and profit remittances on FDI.

Association of Southeast Asian Nations (ASEAN)

• Foreign direct investment statistics

Top of page

Key databases

• ABI/INFORM
  In-depth coverage of a large number of business journals, magazines and newspapers, with content covering all areas of business.
• Australia & New Zealand Newsstream
  A selection of full-text newspapers and newswires from Australia and New Zealand covering regional and international topics.
• Australia/New Zealand Reference Centre
  Useful for searching news and journal articles pertaining to New Zealand trade and FDI.
• Business Source Premier
  In-depth coverage of a large number of business journals, magazines and newspapers, with content covering all areas of business.
• EconLit
  The foremost index of international literature in the field of economics.
• Emerald
  Books and peer-reviewed journals across all areas of business.
• Factiva
  Useful for sourcing commentaries on recent issues published in print and online news sources.
• Google Scholar
  Searches a limited subset of peer-reviewed journal articles, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports, with full text or access to content that the Library subscribes to.
• SAGE Journals
  Includes content on the political and sociological aspects of globalisation.
• Scopus
  Peer-reviewed journals including content for trade, FDI and globalisation.
• UN iLibrary
  Publications published after 2020 are not available.
• World Bank eLibrary
  Publications published after 2020 are not available.

Official statistics

• UN Comtrade
  The United Nations Commodity Trade Statistics Database, Comtrade is the largest depository of international trade data, having data for bi-lateral trade between countries and areas by commodity.
• Datastream
  Historical financial and economic information and worldwide coverage with macroeconomic data sourced from the IMF, OECD and government agencies - limited access.
• International Debt Statistics
  From the World Bank, data for globalisation and FDI.
• International Financial Statistics (IFS)
  IMF data for foreign direct investment and direction of trade statistics.
• OECD iLibrary
  International trade data, international direct investment statistics, and statistics on measuring globalisation.

See statistics for dataset resources.

Top of page

APA

The Business School uses APA style for referencing.

• Publication manual of the American Psychological Association (7th edition)
• APA Style blog

Support

• Referencing
  Access a range of tools and support material to assist your referencing work.

Examples

• Quick©ite
  Use this interactive tool to view examples of references.
  Covers a range of styles used at the University of Auckland.