Entrepreneurship and innovation

Books | Overviews | Theses and dissertations

Books

The Catalogue lists resources held in the University Library. To find titles on innovation or entrepreneurship search using keywords or try these subject headings:

Business incubators Intellectual property
Business planning New business enterprises
Creative ability in business New products
Entrepreneurship New product marketing
Family-owned business enterprises Social entrepreneurship
Franchises Success in business
High technology industries Technological innovations
Innovation and small business Venture capital

The Catalogue lists the titles of books but you can search the full text of e-books by going to the individual e-book collections. Relevant e-book databases for this topic are ProQuest Ebook Central, EBSCO eBook Collection, Elgar online and SpringerLink.

Other databases to search for books include:

  • Te Puna
    Books held in New Zealand libraries.
  • Trove
    Australian content including books, journals and theses.
  • WorldCat
    Search for books and other materials in libraries worldwide.
  • Google Books
    Freely available online books.

Top of page

Overviews

These are a good place to start for an overview of the topic:

Web resources

Top of page

Theses and dissertations

The Thesis page has tools to locate theses from other universities and consult the Open Access guide for links to international research repositories.

Top of page

Business planning

Creating a business plan is the first step to turning innovation into a business proposition. Preparing a good business plan includes researching your market, presenting financial information and creating a persuasive case for proceeding to grow the business.

Sample business plans

  • BPlans.com (US)
    An online set of over 500 business plans across a wide range of industries and business categories.
  • Business plans index (US)
    Links to sample business plans - from the Carnegie Library of Pittsburgh.

How to write a business plan

Websites

  • Business planning tools (NZ)
    Business planning template from the Ministry of Business Innovation & Employment.
  • BPlans.com (US)
    Has a section called How to write a business plan.
  • SCORE (US)
    Business plan resources including financial templates and how to write a business plan.
  • How to write a business plan (US)
    From the US Small Business Administration.

Books

Search for additional books in the Catalogue using subject headings such as:

  • Business planning
  • Small business planning
  • New business enterprises planning

Top of page

Government information | Organisations and websites | Publications | Business incubators and research commercialisation | Māori entrepreneurship

Government information

  • Business growth and innovation
    Data, reports and articles from Statistics NZ.
  • Science and innovation
    Ministry of Business, Innovation and Employment.
  • Business.govt.nz
    Government website with tools and resources for individuals to start and grow their business.
  • SME Research Hub
    The SME hub provides a vehicle for people to share their policy-relevant research and analysis, connect with other researchers and policy analysts, and discuss their work and ideas on SMEs in New Zealand.

Top of page

Organisations and websites

Top of page

Publications

  • TIN100
    Annual analysis of New Zealand’s largest globally-focussed companies in the hi-tech manufacturing, biotech and ICT sectors. See also TIN100 website.
  • Innovation Index of New Zealand
    Inter-industry, multi-indicator study published by IBM measuring the rate of innovation in NZ since 1998.
  • Idealog
    New Zealand magazine devoted to news about innovative companies and startups.
  • Deloitte Fast 50
    Index of New Zealand's fastest growing businesses. And see Deloitte Technology Fast 500 by geographic region - Asia Pacific, EMEA, North America, Canada.

Selected reports on entrepreneurship in New Zealand

Top of page

Business incubators and research commercialisation

Top of page

Māori entrepreneurship

See the link to readings on Innovation and entrepreneurship in the Māori business research guide.

Top of page

Organisations and centres

  • New Zealand Venture Investment Fund
    ​The New Zealand Venture Investment Fund invests with venture capital funds and alongside angel investors to support New Zealand technology companies with start-up and growth capital.
  • NZVCA
    NZVCA’s mission is to develop a world-best venture capital and private equity environment for the benefit of investors and entrepreneurs in New Zealand.
  • Marketline
    Includes: Financial Deal tracker (market activity of private equity deals and venture finance deals)
    Investment and Advisory project tool (identifies firms operating in specific industries, and gain insight into the investment and inorganic strategy of companies).
  • Ernst and Young New Zealand Private Equity and Venture Capital Monitor 2017
    Detailed review of 2017 including commentary on the industry from the New Zealand Private Equity & Venture Capital Association’s (NZVCA) Chair.
  • Angel Association of New Zealand
    An organisation that aims to increase the quantity, quality and success of angel investments in New Zealand.
  • Snowball effect
    New Zealand private equity investment marketplace.
  • No 8 Ventures
    Invests in young New Zealand technology companies across ICT, cleantech, biotech, and other specialised technologies.
  • AngelEquity
    AngelEquity aims to bring together wholesale investors and business angels with entrepreneurs.
  • Enterprise Angels
    Membership-based investment network.
  • Creative HQ
    Wellington’s startup base dedicated to increasing the number of high growth businesses that fuel New Zealand’s economy through incubation and acceleration programmes as well as grassroots entrepreneur initiatives and innovation services.

Publications

Patents

There are many patent search tools available to the University of Auckland community. The Patents guide has sources and guidance on patent searching.

Where to start | Where to search | Building on your research

Where to start

  • Analyse your research question. Identify the important concepts within the topic. Consult some of the overview material mentioned under Books.
  • Think about different ways to describe the topic you are researching. You may need to repeat your searches using different variations of the keywords or concepts. Try using synonyms and related terms.
  • A concept map is quite a good way of listing alternative terms to systematically construct multiple searches. For example, if you have the essay question "To what extent does entrepreneurship lead to job creation" you might map the key concepts as below and then combine keywords from each column in your search.
    Concept 1 Concept 2 Concept 3
    entrepreneur* employment impact
    innovat* job creation effect
      workforce relationship
  • Use truncation symbols to find variant word endings. For example, innovat* finds the words innovate, innovation, innovations.
  • You can also use subject headings (sometimes called descriptors or keywords) in many database searches to find relevant material. For example, in Business Source Premier the subject heading entrepreneurship would be a good one to use for this topic. You can then combine the subject heading with keywords such as "job creation" or employment.

Top of page

Where to search

Top of page

Building on your research

Below are some strategies you can use to build on information that you already have. Start with a recommended reading, or a book or article that is relevant to your research topic, and try some of the following:

  • Look at the list of references to find more material on your topic.
  • Take note of the words used in the text of your book or article. They may provide useful new terms to use when searching for more literature.
  • An author may have written extensively on a topic. Search databases for more of their publications or find their institutional or personal web site for lists of publications.
  • Find your book or article in the library catalogue or a database. Use the subject headings (sometimes referred to as descriptors or keywords) in the catalogue or database record to find similar material.
  • An excellent way to find more recent articles on a topic is to search for citations to your original book or article. You can do citation searching on:
  • Some databases, such as Scopus, Science Direct and Google Scholar, also link to related articles which share common references.

Top of page

APA Style

The Business School uses APA style for referencing.

Support

  • Referencing
    Access a range of tools and support material to assist your referencing work.

Examples

  • Quick©ite
    Use this interactive tool to view examples of references.
    Covers a range of styles used at the University of Auckland.

Last updated : 28 November 2018
Creative Commons License CC BY 4.0 Tautohu Matatiki 4.0 ā-Ao