Economics

Full list of library databases for Economics.

Web resources

Top of page

Collections

  • EconLit
    Indexes Centre for Economic Policy Research (CEPR) Discussion Papers and National Bureau of Economic Research NBER Working Papers.
  • EconPapers
    Largest collection of online economics working papers.
  • IDEAS

Institutions and organisations

New Zealand

Top of page

New Zealand

  • Statistics New Zealand
  • New Zealand Time Series
    Use this to retrieve data time series. The data is from Statistics New Zealand, the Reserve Bank of New Zealand, and Treasury, and ranges from economic data, exports, government expenditure, demographic data and labour force data.
  • Reserve Bank of New Zealand Directory of Statistics
    Statistical tables for a range of New Zealand economic and financial data produced by the Reserve Bank and other organisations.
  • MBIE, The New Zealand Sectors Dashboard
    Information about New Zealand's economy by sectors. It brings together a range of economic datasets produced by MBIE and Statistics New Zealand into one easy-to-use tool. Information is presented using dynamic graphs and summary tables.
  • Motu Datasets
    Access to datasets used for Motu produced research. The data are available to researchers and graduate students.
  • OECD Country Statistical Profiles, including for New Zealand.
  • Factiva
    Research results and survey findings are often reported in the news. A Factiva search will help identify this research.
  • NZSTATS archive
    Links to official New Zealand statistics. Note there are broken links and out-of-date content in this archive.

See also the detailed guide to Statistics and Numeric Data.

Top of page

International

  • Datastream
    Historical financial and economic information and worldwide coverage. Key data sets include interest rates, exchange rates, commodities, and macroeconomic data sourced from the IMF, OECD and government agencies. Contact us for access.
  • Eikon
    Provides worldwide economic data.
  • OECD iLibrary
    Access to all OECD statistics. Build your own tables, view ready-made tables, or view the statistics presented in the print publications.
  • IMF datasets
    Includes International Financial Statistics (IFS), Balance of Payments Statistics (BOPS), Direction of Trade Statistics (DOTS), and Government Finance Statistics (GFS). See the IMF's e-learning series about government finance statistics.
  • IMF DataMapper
    Allows users to map data from IMF datasets including the latest World Economic Outlook, Balance of Payments Statistics, International Financial Statistics, Public Finances, Historical Public Debt, and the Financial Access Survey.
  • World Economic Outlook Reports
    Published twice-yearly by the IMF, this reports on the status quo of the world economy. Contains historical data.
  • International Country Risk Guide
    Annual ratings for political, economic and financial risk for 140 developed, emerging, and frontier markets, from The PRS Group.
  • Passport
    Global economic data. Select Economies and Consumers > then select your subtopic and category.
  • MarketLine Advantage City Statistics
    Analyze and compare the world’s most important cities. Features comprehensive data and forecasts of key socio and macroeconomic indicators for more than 1950 cities, spread across Asia-Pacific, Europe, Middle East & Africa, North America, and South & Central America.
  • EMED Emerging Asia
    Economic time series data for 20 Asian countries. Can only be accessed from the Library.
  • Principal Global Indicators
    Internationally comparable data for the Group of 20 economies (G-20) and economies with systemically important financial sectors that are not members of the G-20.
  • UN Data
    Draws together annual time series data from ILO, IMF and the World Bank.
  • World Bank
  • Eurostat
    Statistics at European level that enable comparisons between countries and regions.
  • Asia-Studies Full Text Online
    Includes key indicators published by the Asian Development Bank.
  • Google public data
    Search economic and related series from a selection of data providers.
  • Knoema
    Search for economic data, statistics and visualizations.
  • Trading Economics
    Provides a large range of economic statistical data.
  • Measuring Worth
    Calculate relative worth over time.
  • The Economics Network and further economic data resources on the internet.

See also a list of Statistical databases.

Top of page

Government | Economics indicators | Economic analysis | Business confidence

Government departments and organisations

Top of page

Economic indicators

Top of page

Economic analysis and commentaries

New Zealand

International

  • BMI Research
    To view New Zealand's Business Forecast Report, select New Zealand from the Asia drop-down list, then Country Forecast Report. Provides economic outlook analysis.
  • EIU ViewsWire
    Enter "New Zealand" in the search box. Snapshot analysis of economic events (via ABI/Inform Global database).
  • International Monetary Fund
    Commentary on New Zealand.
  • Via Business Source Premier database:
    • New Zealand Country Monitor - a monthly report on the economic and financial condition of New Zealand. Enter zealand country monitor and select SO Publication name.
    • New Zealand Country Profile, Datamonitor. Enter zealand country profile and select SO Publication name.
    • New Zealand Country Review, CountryWatch Inc. Enter zealand country review and select SO Publication name. Each chapter appears as a separate result. Topics include political landscape, investment environment including foreign investment and competitiveness, economic performance, social and environmental overviews.
    • Political risk yearbook: New Zealand country report, Political Risk Services Group. Enter political risk country report new zealand and select SO Publication name. Assesses political and economic conditions in the country.
  • OECD iLibrary

Top of page

Business confidence

Top of page

Building on your search

Below are some strategies you can use to extend your literature search. Start with a book or article that is relevant to your research topic and try some of the following:

  • Look at the list of references to find further relevant research.
  • Often an author will have written extensively on a topic. Note the author(s) and search databases for more of their publications.
  • Also, note any journals from the reference list that are likely to publish articles on your topic. You can search within a journal and you can set up an alert to receive new journal issue content as published.
  • An excellent way to find more recent articles on a topic is to search for citations to your original book or article. You can do citation searching on:
  • Some databases, such as Scopus, Science Direct and Google Scholar, also link to related articles. These are articles within the database that share common references.

Top of page

APA Style

The Business School uses APA style for referencing.

Support

  • Referencing
    Access a range of tools and support material to assist your referencing work.

Examples

  • Quick©ite
    Use this interactive tool to view examples of references.
    Covers a range of styles used at the University of Auckland.

Last updated : 27 May 2019
Creative Commons License CC BY 4.0 Tautohu Matatiki 4.0 ā-Ao