- Asia-Studies Full-Text Online
Full text reports published by APEC and leading research institutes. Subject coverage includes finance, trade, environment, government, human resources development, fisheries, tourism, education and women's studies.
- BMI Research (Business Monitor International)
Country and industry reports providing analysis and data on economic and political factors, risk, financial markets and business environments.
- Country Monitor from IHS Global (in Business Source Premier)
Type the country name and the words country monitor and change the 'in' box to SO Publication name, e.g., Denmark country monitor
- Country Report from PRS group (in Business Source Premier)
Focuses on risk, economic data, climate for investment. Type the country name and the words country report and change the 'in' box to SO Publication name, e.g., Germany country report
- Country Watch country reviews (in Business Source Premier)
Annual reviews with separate chapters on country, political, investment, economic, social and environmental climates. Type the country name and the words country review and change the 'in' box to SO Publication name, e.g., Slovenia country review
- EIU Viewswire (in ABI/Inform)
Brief overviews and economic news. There are several search methods, e.g., type: PUBID(43086) and combine this with a country name or keyword; OR drill down via the publication search tab.
- Europa World Plus
Brief geo-political, social and economic data and overviews of countries and regions.
- OECD iLibrary
Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Development books, journal articles, papers and statistics, and the gateway to OECD's analysis and data.
- Passport GMID
Information and data on consumer lifestyles, consumer market sizes, companies and brands, major market profiles, country data, industry reports and market analysis. Use text box to search or browse via the menus.
- World Development Indicators
The World Bank's premier compilation of development indicators for 208 countries and 18 country groups.
- Background Notes
From the US Department of State.
- Coface Ratings
Includes country risk, sector risk and business climate.
- Country Commercial Guides
Market conditions, opportunities, regulations and business customs for over 125 countries prepared by trade and industry experts at US embassies worldwide.
- Country Information
From Austrade. Select a country and look at the Country profile for information on doing business with, country overview, plus selected industry profiles.
- Country Insights
Current information on the business climate, news, history, political structure, economic landscape, and relevant statistical data are provided in a region and country-specific format.
- EIU Country Surveys
Useful country overviews from the Economist Intelligence Unit.
- ELDIS Regional and Country Profiles
Excellent for development studies. Includes links to documents from official agencies. Areas profiled include Africa, the Middle East, East Asia and the Pacific, South Asia, Latin America and the Caribbean.
- FAO Geographical & Regional Information
For each country there is information on sustainable development, the economic situation including trade data and agriculture/forestry/fishery sectors.
- NZTE Export Markets
Concise information about more than 30 export markets.
- OECD country web sites
Statistical profiles, publications and documents, information by topic.
- Where we work
From the New Zealand Ministry of Foreign Affairs and Trade. As well as country and region overviews there is also information on relations with New Zealand.
- World Bank
Data and research on countries from the World Bank.
- World Factbook
From the CIA. Has very brief country overviews plus basic latest statistics.
- Doing business: Measuring business regulations
The Doing Business project, adminstered by the World Bank Group provides measures of business regulations and their enforcement across 189 economies and selected cities. To access a detailed report select your country on the right and then click the Download Economy Profile link. Data from 2002 onwards are also on the World Development Indicators database.
- Doing business in...
From the Institute of Chartered Accountants in England and Wales. Includes links to a range of 'doing business' guides.
- World Bank enterprise surveys
Use the Generate Economy Snapshot option to view investment climate by country. Covers bureaucracy, corruption, the legal system, finance, infrastructure, taxes, trade and more.
- Guides to doing business
Prepared by Lex Mundi's member firms. Provide a comprehensive overview of the legal and business environments in more than 100 jurisdictions worldwide.
- How to research a market
New Zealand Trade and Eenterprise advice and information about doing business in key markets around the world.
- Deloitte Global Business Guides
Focus on the tax system, operating conditions and investment climate in each country. Additional coverage may include the business and regulatory environment, foreign investment, and employment.
- Big Mac Index
An annual feature in the Economist from 1997 onwards. It is based on the theory of purchasing-power parity (PPP), the notion that in the long run exchange rates should move towards the rate that would equalise the prices of an identical basket of goods and services (in this case, a burger) in any two countries.
- Business Monitor International
BMIs ratings for country risk. Use the Country Risk link under the Service tab and then click on Reports under Reports & Strategic Content.
- Competitive alternatives
KPMG’s guide to comparing international business location costs in North America, Europe and Asia Pacific.
- Global competitiveness report (World Economic Forum)
Assesses the competitiveness landscape of 144 economies. Competitiveness is defined as the set of institutions, policies and factors that determine the level of productivity of a country.
- Human development indicators (United Nations)
The HDI was created to emphasize that people and their capabilities should be the ultimate criteria for assessing the development of a country, not economic growth alone. Report gives countries an overall HDI rank. Print reports for 1990-2007/08 and 2013 are in the General Library Level M at S1/UN-DP DEVh.
- Index of Economic Freedom (Heritage Foundation)
Began in 1995. Measures 161 countries against a list of variables divided into 10 broad factors of economic freedom including trade policy, government intervention in the economy, monetary policy and foreign investment. Use the Downloads tab to download an .xls table of all scores for all countries from 1995 onwards. Use the Countries tab to view the latest scores and comment for a specific country.
- Market potential index
From GlobalEDGE. Ranks the market potential of 87 countries from a US perspective and aims to provide guidance to US companies that plan to expand their markets internationally.
- Product market regulation
An internationally-comparable set of indicators from the OECD that measure the degree to which policies promote or inhibit competition. Covers the years 1998, 2003, 2008 and 2013.
- World Competitiveness Yearbook
A study of the competitiveness of nations, ranking and analysing how a nation’s environment sustains the competitiveness of enterprises. Some data is also online on the IMD website.
- World Development Indicators
The World Bank's premier compilation of development indicators for 208 countries and 18 country groups. More than 600 time series indicators are available and cover people, environment, economy, states and markets and global links.
- The Hofstede Centre
Based on Geert Hostede's research, the center offers tools to help you visualize cultural differences and their impact.
- Global Edge
Country-specific guides to business etiquette and culture. Select your country, then select the CULTURE tab.
- Country Insights
Cultural overviews by country from the Canadian government's Foreign Service Institute.
- Culture and Etiquette
From New Zealand Trade and Enterprise.
- Asante, M. K., Miike, Y., & Yin, J. (2014). The global intercultural communication reader. New York: Routledge, Taylor & Francis Group. 2014.
- Cai, D. A. (2010). Intercultural communication. Los Angeles, Calif: SAGE.
- Gesteland, R. R. (2012). Cross-cultural business behavior: A guide for global management; negotiating, selling, sourcing and managing across cultures. Copenhagen: Copenhagen Business School Press.
- Jandt, F. E. (2010). An introduction to intercultural communication: Identities in a global community. Los Angeles: SAGE.
- Jenks, C. J.,Lou, J., & Bhatia, A. (2015). The discourse of culture and identity in national and transnational contexts. Abingdon, Oxon, UK: Routledge.
- Morrison, T., & Conaway, W. A. (2012). Kiss, bow, or shake hands, sales and marketing: The essential cultural guide--from presentations and promotions to communicating and closing. New York: McGraw-Hill.
- Usunier, J.-C., & Lee, J. A. (2013). Marketing across cultures. Harlow, England: Pearson.
To locate additional books use Catalogue Advanced Search and enter subject headings such as:
- Intercultural communication
- Business etiquette
- National characteristics
- Language and culture
- Marketing Cross-cultural studies
- Export marketing Social aspects
The University of Auckland Business School uses the American Psychological Association's APA 6th style.
- APA Referencing: A guide for business students
- APA style guide to electronic references (6th ed.)
- APA style blog
Access a range of tools and support material to assist your referencing work.
Use this interactive tool to view examples of references.
Covers a range of styles used at the University of Auckland