Companies
Profiles | Directories | News, articles and announcements | Executives, compensations and biographies
Profiles
Commonly used company information databases:
- NZX Company Research (NZ)
Listed and de-listed companies' business description and overview, performance summary and outlook. It includes companies' annual reports, financial statements, top shareholders, stock prices and news. - Osiris
Covers company contact information, legal and account information, main activity and industry, key financial and employees, directors and managers, auditor details and ownership information. Includes NZ companies. - Factiva
Global and New Zealand company profiles and company news. To search for a company, select Company/Market tab. - MarketLine Advantage
Company profile reports outlining key facts, business descriptions, key employees, top competitors, company overview, major products and services. Find company profiles by clicking on the Companies icon on the MarketLine Advantage homepage. Limited New Zealand coverage. - Mergent Online
US and international companies' synopsis, history, joint ventures, subsidiaries, long term debt, executives, and news.
Supplementary databases for company information:
- BMI Research
Country and industry analysis and forecasts. The company intelligence section provides information on company expansion, finance, joint ventures, mergers and acquisitions, and products and services. - Business Source Premier
New Zealand and international company profiles, industry profiles, country reports and market research reports, and SWOT analysis. - Passport
Company background, key facts, products and services, competitive positioning analysis and statistics. - Hoover's Company Records
Company overview and history, officers and board members, competitors, products and operations, auditors, rankings, related industry information and historical financials.
Directories
- Companies Office (NZ)
New Zealand official companies register. Information on company addresses, director details and documentation on annual returns. - New Zealand Business Numbers (NZBN) (NZ)
Contains unique identifiers for businesses, also provides business contact information, registration status, physical and registered addresses, company details, directors information and shareholders information. - NZX securities (NZ)
A list of all securities listed on NZX. - The Treasury, State Owned Enterprises (NZ)
From the New Zealand Treasury website, where you can find information on state owned enterprises. - Katalyst Business (NZ)
Information on companies' executives, branches, localities, a list of products and services, brief financials, trade and brand names. - Who owns whom. Australasia, Asia, Middle East & Africa
A print directory of parent, associate and subsidiary companies.
News, articles and announcements
- NZX Company Research (NZ)
NZX market announcements and individual company's announcements. - Newztext Plus (NZ)
News and business publications, such as the National Business Review (NBR) and New Zealand Herald. - ABI/Inform
Coverage of a large number of business journals, magazines and newspapers. To find company news, enter the name of the company, limit your search to Companies/organization field and select Newspapers as the source type. - Australia/New Zealand Reference Centre
Newspaper and magazine articles about New Zealand and Australian companies. - ProQuest Australia & New Zealand Newsstream
A selection of newspapers and newswires from Australia and New Zealand covering regional and international topics. - Business Source Premier
Offers a mixture of newspaper and journal articles, company profiles and industry reports. - Factiva
Global news, business news, company news and industry information. - Compustat (restricted access)
Provides earnings announcements. The code is RDQE (Report of Quarterly Earnings). US companies. - Wall Street Journal
Useful for finding company announcement dates. The Wall Street Journal from 1986 onwards is also available in ABI/INFORM.
Executives, compensation and biographies
- NZX Company Research (NZ)
Annual reports can include remuneration information and other corporate governance material. - NZX (NZ)
Data on the gender breakdown of the Directors and Officers. - Factiva
General information and news about company executives. - Mergent Online
US and some Canadian executive information, including biographies, compensation, committees, and executive insider trading details. - Osiris
Details of current directors and managers for international public companies, including New Zealand. - Company Check
Information on current and past directors of UK companies. - WRDS - restricted access
Includes Riskmetrics (directors and corporate governance data) and Compustat (US and international publicly held companies data) - China Vitae
Biographies of Chinese business leaders.
Financial data | Annual reports and filings | Investment reports | Auditors reports
Financial data
Financial results, including those of multinationals operating in New Zealand, must be reported to the Companies Office (as laid out in the Financial Reporting Act).
Financial data for private companies can be difficult to find. The best resources to use are media reports from news databases, in particular Newztext Plus and Factiva. Also search the Companies Office website for company names, and view Annual Returns under Documents.
- NZX Company Research (NZ)
Listed and de-listed New Zealand companies. Financials, announcements, annual reports, top shareholders, prices, forecasts, investment and financial profiles, and dividend history. - Company statistical review service (1968-83) and Listed company financial information (1983-87) (NZ)
This New Zealand financial data includes a consolidated balance sheet, often with three or four years data, and an analysis of accounts giving three to ten years data. Later data includes ratios, share prices and P/E ratio, investment performance, and balance sheet summary. - Cost of Capital reports (NZ)
From PwC. Provides estimates for selected New Zealand companies of earnings multiples, equity betas and their Weighted Average Cost of Capital (WACC). - Financial institutions performance survey (NZ)
Annual publication from KPMG, provides financial data for banks, finance companies and savings institutions. Earlier copies are available in print. - Factiva
Financials for international listed companies, including New Zealand. Use the companies/markets tab to search by company name. - Mergent Online
Key financials, balance sheets back to at least five years, income statements, cash flow and equity pricing. Global coverage, including New Zealand. - Osiris
Detailed financial information on 70,000 listed, and major delisted, companies around the world, including New Zealand. - Datastream (restricted access)
Company accounts information plus time series equity data. Global coverage, including New Zealand. See FAQs for Datastream. - WRDS
- Compustat: Annual and quarterly income statement, balance sheet, statement of cash flows, and supplemental data items on most publicly held US companies and global companies including New Zealand.
- CRSP: Security price, return, and volume data for the NYSE, AMEX and Nasdaq stock markets.
- I/B/E/S: Forecasts from security analysts, including earnings per share, revenue, cash flow, long-term growth projections and stock recommendations.
- SEC Info
Securities information from the SEC EDGAR.
Annual reports and filings
- NZX Annual Reports (NZ)
Annual reports of listed and delisted New Zealand companies. - NZX Company Research (NZ)
Contains auditors' fees summary. To access this information, click on the Professionals drop down menu, then select Auditors Fees. - Mergent Online
Annual reports for US and international companies, including NZ. Click on the Reports tab. For SEC and SEDAR (Canada) filings, use either the Government Filings tab or access via individual company. - EDGAR Company Filings
From the US Securities and Exchange Commission (SEC) website. Free access to the filing information of more than 20 million US companies.- SEC guide to using this database.
Tips:
Most companies publish their annual reports on their websites.
The Library holds print annual reports for publicly listed New Zealand companies.
Investment reports
- WRDS
I/B/E/S within WRDS provides financial forecasts from security analysts, including earnings per share, revenue, cash flow, long-term growth projections and stock recommendations. - Monitoring investment and trade measures
From OECD.org, contains reports to G20 on trade and investment measures. - United Nations Conference on Trade and Development (UNCTAD)
- World Investment Report
In-depth analysis and trends in foreign direct investment worldwide at both regional and country levels. - Global Investment Trends Monitor
Global investment trends reports from 2009 onwards. - Investment Policy Monitor
Latest developments in foreign investment policies, both at the national and international level.
- World Investment Report
Auditors reports
- NZX Company Research (NZ)
Auditors' fees summary information. Click on the Professionals drop down menu to access auditors' fees information. - WRDS
Includes Audit Analytics and Compustat - Osiris
Auditors' details for public listed companies. - All About Auditors
From the US SEC, this page contains information on how to identify the auditors of a publicly traded company. - Mergent Online
Extract auditing information, year by year, as one item from an annual report.
Stock exchange and data | Initial Public Offering (IPOs)
Stock exchange and data
- NZX Company Research (NZ)
Share trading prices (opening, closing, high and low) and trading volumes back to 1990. - New Zealand Herald (NZ)
Daily high, low and close, and P/E ratio. Use for historic share price data. - NZX Markets (NZ)
Information on New Zealand listed companies including share prices, stock codes, indices, and announcements. Has current share price (30 minutes delay). - NZX Weekly Diary (NZ)
A summary of all market announcements issued by NZX during the previous week, and upcoming changes to the status of Listed Issuers and Securities. 1976-2000 in print; later issues online through i-Search. - Datastream (restricted access)
Provides share data for listed and de-listed companies. Key data sets include equities and company financials, stock market indices, unit and investment trusts, warrants, and bonds. Available frequencies include daily, weekly, monthly, quarterly and annually. Includes New Zealand companies. See FAQs for Datastream. - WRDS
Includes access to CRSP (NYSE, AMEX and Nasdaq stock markets), I/B/E/S, and the Dow Jones Industrial Averages. - Factiva
Stock prices for companies worldwide. Use Companies / Markets tab to find listed companies, then click Quotes for prices. - Osiris
Stock data, stock valuation, and monthly, weekly and daily pricing. International coverage, including New Zealand. - Australian Securities Exchange (ASX)
Information for the ASX including stock quotes, market data, share prices, tools and resources as well as investment information. - Major Stock Indices
Produced by NASDAQ, summarises the performance of major groupings of stocks, classified by the exchange on which they trade and region. - World stock exchanges
Links to major stock exchanges worldwide. - US Securities and Exchange Commission (SEC)
SEC oversees the key participants in the securities world, including securities exchanges, securities brokers and dealers, investment advisors, and mutual funds. - Stock market data and financial markets summary
Produced by the Wall Street Journal, providing both real time data and data from the past three years. Covers share trading information, foreign exchange rates, commodities and futures, and mutual funds. - World Federation of Exchanges Statistics
Includes detailed market statistics.
Also look at company announcements.
Initial Public Offering (IPOs)
New Zealand
- NZX Company Research (NZ)
Includes listing prospectuses.
International
- SDC Platinum (restricted access)
The Global New Issues database within SDC platinum has IPOs from 1970 onwards. - Osiris
Look up recent companies' IPOs by date. Select stock data, then choose IPO date. - CSMAR
China Stock Market & Accounting Research. Access via WRDS. - Investment dealers' digest
Contains the performance review of the most recent 100 IPO companies (1991-2011). - Upcoming IPO
Produced by NASDAQ, contains latest IPOs information. - IPO
From the Financial Times, contains international companies' IPO news. - IPO data
From Professor Jay Ritter's IPO page at University of Florida.
Databases | Websites and online reports | Journals
Databases
- NZX Weekly Diary (NZ)
Summary of all market announcements issued by NZX during the previous week including mergers and takeover offers. - Deals database
From MarketLine Advantage. Global mergers and acquisitions (M&A), private equity deals, venture finance deals, private placements, IPOs, and partnerships across various industries. Choose Databases/Deals from the Marketline menu. - SDC platinum (restricted access)
Global mergers and acquisitions transactions from 1979 to present, including New Zealand mergers and acquisitions. Also has a joint ventures and strategic alliances option in the M&A component, with this data being from 1988. - Mergent Online
Company mergers and acquisitions history. See under Company Details > History. Also includes joint venture and alliance information. See under News tab.
Websites and online reports
- Commerce Commission (NZ)
New Zealand's Commerce Commission grants clearances for acquisitions, and authorisations for acquisitions. The Clearances Register lists all applications for clearance and outcomes. - Campaign against foreign control of Aotearoa (CAFCA) (NZ)
Listing of decisions from 1994 by the Overseas Investment Office and the Overseas Investment Commission. - Overseas Investment Office (NZ)
OIO decision summaries. - New Zealand Gazette (NZ)
The Company Notices include appointment and release of receivers/managers/liquidators, removals, and applications for winding up companies. Print available from 1854 onwards. - Takeovers Panel (NZ)
New Zealand Government Takeovers Panel decisions from 2001. - Institute of Mergers, Acquisitions and Alliances
Contains statistics on mergers and acquisitions worldwide. - Takeovers Panel
Decisions by the Takeovers Panel (Australian Government). - Australian Competition Tribunal
Full text of decisions. - SEC Info
Securities information from the SEC EDGAR. Merger and acquisition deals and tender offers filed up to one year previous.
M&A journal publications
- Advances in mergers and acquisitions
Economic, financial, strategic and organizational behaviour aspects of mergers and acquisitions. - Mergers & Acquisitions Report
US and foreign companies. - Mergers & Acquisitions: The Dealermaker's Journal
Full coverage of merger and acquisition activity and data on mergers and acquisitions worldwide; pricing, structuring and acquisition strategies.
Business history
- Business history project (NZ)
Created by the University of Auckland, the project includes brief histories of ASB Bank, Barfoot and Thompson, DB Breweries, Levene, Fletcher Construction, Ports of Auckland, Winstones, and Fisher and Paykel. - The Fletcher Trust Archive (NZ)
Contains the records of several hundred companies acquired or merged into Fletcher Challenge Limited. - An archival directory of business records held in the Auckland Region (NZ)
Outlines official publications and institutional/commercial publications as sources of information. Lists records under broad industry categories. - A select bibliography of the business history of New Zealand (NZ)
Lists articles, books and theses about companies and industries. Published by the University of Auckland. - New Zealand Gazette (NZ)
The Company Notices include appointment and release of receivers/managers/liquidators, removals, cessation of business, applications for winding up companies, partnership notices, and alteration of memorandum of association. Print available from 1854 onwards. - The dictionary of New Zealand biography (NZ)
For information on New Zealand company founders. - New Zealand archives and manuscripts collections also contain documents on company history, including the Hocken Library collection from the University of Otago, and Tiaki from the Alexander Turnbull Library.
- International directory of company histories
Multi-volume reference work. Covers histories of both public and private companies that have leading influence in a particular industry or geographic location. - Business databases are a useful source for articles on companies, including business history.
Ownership
- New Zealand Business Who's Who (NZ)
Lists details from over 17,000 New Zealand companies and over 10,000 Directors. The print edition includes a listing of subsidiaries and associated companies cross-referenced to parent companies. - Osiris
Ownership data for public companies. Includes subsidiary information and shareholder data. Includes New Zealand companies. - Who owns whom. Australasia, Asia, Middle East & Africa
Print directory of parent, associate and subsidiary companies. Includes New Zealand. - Mergent Online
Includes a list of subsidiaries for each company. - SEC Info
Securities information from the SEC EDGAR. Institutional ownership reports filed up to one year previous. - Privatisation database
From the World Bank and International Finance Corporation. Information on privatisation transactions in developing countries, from 2000-08. - SDC platinum (restricted access)
There is a privatisation flag in the Mergers and Acquisitions component.
Centres and organisations | Law, regulations and guidelines | Rankings | Databases
Centres and organisations
New Zealand
- Financial Markets Authority (FMA)
See Corporate Governance Handbook - Chapman Tripp (2018), New Zealand Corporate Governance: trends and insights
- Centre for Accounting, Governance and Taxation Research
School of Accounting and Commercial Law, Victoria University of Wellington. - New Zealand Corporate Governance Forum
Promotes good corporate governance in New Zealand companies.
International bodies
- International Finance Corporation (IFC)
See publications for corporate governance toolkits and manuals, guidelines, reviews and case studies. - OECD
See OECD corporate affairs and OECD Principles of Corporate Governance - International Corporate Governance Network (ICGN)
A forum for discussion regarding global corporate governance practices. - European Corporate Governance Institute (ECGI)
A forum for debate on major corporate governance issues and best practices. See the Codes of corporate governance from different countries.
Australia
- Australian Institute of Company Directors (AICD)
Promotes professional directorship and effective governance. - ASX Corporate Governance Council
Brings together various business, shareholder and industry groups, each offering expertise on governance issues.
USA
- Rock Centre for Corporate Governance
A joint initiative of Stanford Law School and the Graduate School of Business at Stanford University, the centre was created to advance the understanding and practice of corporate governance in a cross-disciplinary environment. - Corporate Governance Research Initiative (CGRI)
From Stanford Graduate School of Business, covers issues facing corporations and boards of directors, such as principles of corporate governance; board of directors; leadership and succession planning; compensation; audit and risk and shareholders and proxy advisory. - The Lindenauer Center for Corporate Governance at the Tuck School of Business at Dartmouth College
See Research section for recent published research. - Business Roundtable.
Association of chief executive officers of America’s leading companies.
UK
- Financial Reporting Council
See UK Corporate Governance Code section. - Gov.UK
See Corporate governance section. - Corporate Governance guide
York University Libraries
Law, regulations and guidelines
New Zealand
- Companies Act 1993
- Financial Reporting Act 2013
- Financial Markets Authority (FMA)
See Corporate Governance Handbook - Reserve Bank of New Zealand
See Corporate governance policy for banks. - Blackmore, J. (2006). Evaluating New Zealand's evolving corporate governance regulatory regime in a comparative context. Canterbury Law Review. 12(1), pp. 34-64.
- Martyn, K. (Eds.). (2012). Corporate Governance: A Practical Handbook. CCH NZ Ltd
For more information regarding New Zealand legislation and regulations on companies, please see the New Zealand Legal Resources guide.
International
- Sarbanes-Oxley Act 2002 (US)
The Act designed to prevent corporate fraud.
Rankings
- National University of Singapore, Centre for Governance and Sustainability
See Singapore Governance and Transparency Index. SGTI assesses corporate governance practices of Singapore-listed companies. - ASEAN Corporate Governance Scorecard: Country Reports and Assessments 2013-2014
Assesses corporate governance performance of publicly listed companies in Indonesia, Malaysia, Philippines, Singapore, Thailand, and Vietnam. Trend analysis to ascertain improving corporate governance standards in ASEAN. - The KPMG Survey of Corporate Responsibility Reporting 2013
A snapshot of global trends in corporate responsibility (CR) reporting.
Databases
- ABI/INFORM
Provides comprehensive business publications on corporate governance including Corporate governance: An international review; Corporate governance; IUP Journal of corporate governance. - Datastream
Provides access to companies' Environmental, social and governance (ESG) data. You can find ESG data using the DataStream's Asset4 Template. For detailed instructions see Finding ESG data in Datastream using the ASSET4 template. - Business Source Premier
Contains key corporate governance journals, such as Corporate governance: An international review; Corporate governance advisor; Corporate governance: the international journal of effective board performance. - ScienceDirect
Includes journal titles such as Corporate governance and regulatory impact on mergers and acquisitions; Corporate governance. - Scopus
Include highly ranked and cited corporate governance and management journals. - Emerald
Includes journals such as Corporate governance; Journal of financial regulation and compliance; Social responsibility journal; Managerial auditing journal. - Google Scholar
Scholarly literature search engine. Search for "corporate governance" OR "board governance". - Australia/New Zealand Reference Centre
Contains Australian and New Zealand publications on corporate governance issues. - ProQuest Australia & New Zealand Newsstream
A selection of newspapers and newswires from Australia and New Zealand covering regional and international topics. - OECD iLibrary
Search for "corporate governance" to find relevant publications. For example, book series on corporate governance addresses issues such as board composition and nomination, the role of institutional investors, board incentives, risk management and supervision and enforcement. - Databases about board of directors, compensation and biography.
Databases | Journals | Websites
Databases
- Factiva
Contain companies rankings within specific industries. To find rankings information, click the Companies/Markets tab > Industry link > choose the industry (e.g. Air Transportation) > Peer Comparison link. You can rank companies by sales, number of employees and market capitalization.
Journals
- Financial Institutions Performance Survey (NZ)
Annual survey published by KPMG, provides financial data for banks, finance companies and savings institutions. The Library has earlier copies, from 1986, in print. More recent reports are available online. - New Zealand Management (NZ)
Listed and unlisted, New Zealand subsidiaries of overseas companies, producer boards, and co-operatives. Contains business ranking information and the annual ranking lists are available on Business Source Premier. - Business Review Weekly
Includes ranked lists for Australian companies. - Accounting today
Contains annual survey data on the top 100 Accounting firms (ranking by revenue). Note: data is incomplete.
Websites
- Business profiles of New Zealand's top 100 companies (NZ)
Ranked by number of employees. - The Deloitte Top 200 (NZ)
Top 200 New Zealand companies, ranked by company revenue. - Fortune 500
High profile ranking of the largest companies in the United States, measured by revenue. - Global 500
Annual ranking of the top 500 corporations worldwide, measured by revenue. - The world's biggest public companies
From Forbes.com. You can filter the list by industry and country. - Bloomberg Businessweek 50
Identifies companies in the S&P 500 with the best recent performance and outlook for the future. Evaluated on four factors: one year and five year risk-adjusted returns, consensus analyst recommendations, and projected earnings growth. - IndustryWeek 1000
Annual ranking of the world’s largest public manufacturers, by revenue. See Industry week to access earlier lists via library databases.
Books and reports | Databases | Statistics | Websites
Books and reports
Search for books about small to medium enterprises by typing relevant search terms (e.g. small to medium enterpris*) in the Catalogue.
Note: * is a truncation symbol, which searches for variant word endings, e.g. enterpris* will return results for enterprise or enterprises.
- Ministry of Business, Innovation and Employment. (2014). The small business sector report 2014. Wellington: Ministry of Business, Innovation and Employment.
- Ardic, O., Mylenko, N., & Saltane, V. (2011). Small and medium enterprises: A cross-country analysis with a new data set. Retrieved from the World Bank database.
Databases
- OECD iLibrary
Books, working papers, statistics, glossaries and factbook about global small to medium enterprises. - World Bank eLibrary
Books, working papers and journal articles about small to medium enterprises worldwide. - Business Source Premier
Extensive coverage in journal articles and research reports about small to medium enterprises.
Statistics
- NZ.Stat DataHub
Developed by Statistics New Zealand, NZ.Stat allows you to create tables from a wide range of large datasets and covers business demography statistics. - New Zealand Business Benchmarking Survey: Financial Statistics (NZ)
A financial survey conducted annually by the University of Waikato Management Research Centre. - Small and medium-sized enterprises
From the European Commission's Eurostat website. Covers annual structural business statistics.
Websites
- Industry Benchmarks (NZ)
An online tool developed by Statistics NZ and Inland Revenue. It helps SMEs to assess and improve their performance by comparing with others in the same industry. - Data for business: Find statistics to start and grow your business
Contains data and interactive maps to help businesses identify potential customers and understand industries. - Small and Medium Enterprises
APEC’s Small and Medium Enterprises Working Group. Covers information on business management, financing, innovation, market access and internationalisation.
- Bankruptcies, in Entrepreneurship at a glance
Statistical data source from OECD iLibrary. This chapter contains insolvency and bankruptcies statistics from 14 countries from 2006. - Datastream (restricted access)
See the Economics series. Try a free text search using the keywords bankruptcies or insolvencies. Also see the help page FAQs for Datastream. - Hines, T. M. (2006). Sources for researching business bankruptcies. Journal of Business and Finance Librarianship. 11(3), 3-17.
- Bankruptcy
From the US Securities and Exchange Commission. - Canada Corporations Law Reporter
Legal commentary on Canadian company and commercial law, including bankruptcy and insolvency topics, with relevant legislation and cases. - Florida-UCLA-LoPucki Bankruptcy Research Database
Data on all large, public company bankruptcy cases filed in the US Bankruptcy Courts since 1 October 1979. Updated monthly.
APA
The Business School uses APA style for referencing.
Support
- Referencing
Access a range of tools and support material to assist your referencing work.
Examples
- Quick©ite
Use this interactive tool to view examples of references.
Covers a range of styles used at the University of Auckland.
Last updated : 7 December 2022
