ACC research

Databases | Conferences and symposiums | Injury statistics | Literature | Research and policy | Victoria University of Wellington Law Review

Note: Some of the resources in this guide are only available to staff and students of the University of Auckland. Researchers from other institutions should use their own libraries to access them.

Top of page

Conferences and symposiums

Top of page

Injury statistics

Top of page

Literature

A bibliography of ACC research has been compiled in a shared RefWorks folder. See the Research tips to find further publications.

Some early material is not indexed in online databases. For articles published prior to the mid-1980s we recommended the print publication Index to New Zealand periodicals. Later material is indexed online and can be found in recommended databases.

Top of page

Research and policy

  • ACC Group
    A multi-disciplinary group of researchers, managed from the University of Auckland Business School.
  • Research at ACC
    Research managed and conducted by ACC's Research Unit.
  • Beehive ACC portfolio
    Latest news from the Government relating to the ACC portfolio.

Top of page

Victoria University of Wellington Law Review

  • Victoria University of Wellington Law Review contains many articles on the ACC scheme. Also fulltext on NZLII. Issues of note include:
    • Volume 34 (2) 2003 devoted to papers presented at a symposium held at Victoria University of Wellington Law Faculty, August 2-3, 2002 "Looking back at Accident Compensation: Finding Lessons for the Future". Topics include The Origins of ACC; The 1970s - Bringing ACC to Life; The 1980s - Consolidation and Challenges; The 1990s - Decade of Change; and Summary Panel.
    • Volume 35 (4) 2005 contains the edited papers presented at the symposium "The Future of Accident Compensation; New Directions and Visions", held Victoria University of Wellington Law Faculty, 5 and 6 December 2003.

Top of page

Legal resources

  • Accident Compensation Act 2001 via Westlaw NZ. Provides amendments to the statute, subordinate legislation (regulations), forms and precedents, case law and related commentary.

Repealed legislation

Administration

Case law

See also: Davis Law Library New Zealand Case Law resources.

Legal commentary

Top of page

The Woodhouse Report

The ACC scheme was introduced as the outcome of the 1967 Royal Commission on Worker Compensation chaired by Mr Justice Woodhouse. See The History of ACC in New Zealand by the ACC. The Royal Commission's published findings were known as The Woodhouse Report:

Top of page

Australian Woodhouse Report

In the early 1970s the Australian Government commissioned Sir Owen Woodhouse to head the National Committee of Inquiry on Compensation and Rehabilitation in Australia. It prepared a proposal to reform that country’s compensation scheme:

  • Australia. National Rehabilitation and Compensation Scheme Committee of Inquiry. (1974-1975). Report of the National Committee of Inquiry on Compensation and Rehabilitation in Australia. Canberra: Govt. Printer. 3 v. Also published in Commonwealth Parliamentary Papers 1974, vol. 2 no.s 100 &135 Not available in the University of Auckland Library.
  • Australian Council of Social Service. Standing Committee on Economics and Social Welfare., & Smith, P. (1975). The philosophy of the bill: Compensation and rehabilitation in Australia. Sydney: Australian Council of Social Service.

Top of page

United Kingdom

  • (1978). The Report of the Royal Commission on Civil Liability and Compensation for Personal Injury (The Pearson Commission). (Cmnd. 7054)

Top of page

Books

To find further publications on ACC related topics, use the search terms and phrases in the Catalogue.

Accident Compensation Corporation Accident Compensation Commission
Accident Compensation Scheme Accident insurance
Accident law Compensation law New Zealand
Accident Rehabilitation and Compensation Insurance Personal injuries

Top of page

Theses and dissertations

Use search terms and keywords in the Catalogue as above.

For further tips on finding theses within New Zealand and overseas refer to Theses and Dissertations.

Top of page

Articles

To search for further material refer to sources as listed within Key resources.

Note, some early material is not indexed in online databases. For articles published prior to the mid-1980s you are recommended to use the print publication Index to New Zealand periodicals. Later material is indexed online and can be found through searching recommended databases.

APA Style

The Business School uses APA style for referencing.

Support

  • Referencing
    Access a range of tools and support material to assist your referencing work.

Examples

  • Quick©ite
    Use this interactive tool to view examples of references.
    Covers a range of styles used at the University of Auckland.

Last updated : 28 November 2018
Creative Commons License CC BY 4.0 Tautohu Matatiki 4.0 ā-Ao