Public Policy

Databases | Books | Catalogue searches | Journals

Databases

  • ABI/INFORM
    Use search terms "public policy" or "policy making" in the Subject heading field.
  • AGIS Plus Text
    Australian and New Zealand law journals. Use search term "social policy".
  • APA-FT (Australian Public Affairs Full Text)
    Covers some New Zealand content.
  • EconLit
    An index of international economics literature, providing access to journal artices, dissertations, and working papers.
  • International Country Risk Guide
    Annual ratings for political, financial and economic risk for over 140 countries. Produced by the PRS Group.
  • MEDLINE
    Journal articles in all areas of medicine, including public policy related content.
  • nzresearch.org.nz
    New Zealand research, including theses.
  • OECD iLibrary
    The annual Economic Policy Reforms publication includes a section on New Zealand.
  • PAIS
    Covers political, social, and public policy issues.
  • ProQuest Research Library
    Use search terms "public policy" or "policy making" in the Subject heading field.
  • ProQuest Social Science Journals
    Use search terms "public policy" or "policy making" in the Subject heading field.
  • RePEc (Research Papers in Economics)
    The world's largest online collection of economics research, including working papers and articles, covering many subject areas including public policy.
  • SAGE Journals
    Includes political science and business / economics.
  • Scopus
    Includes key public policy journals.
  • UN iLibrary
    Publications from the United Nations Secretariat, and its funds and programmes.

Top of page

Books

A selection of key books include:

Catalogue searches

Use the Catalogue to find additional material, including print and online books, theses, and journals, held in the Library.

Subject headings

Subject headings can be a good way of locating highly relevant content. Copy and paste any of these headings into a Catalogue Advanced Search choosing 'in subject' and 'exact phrase' from the drop down menus.

You can also combine a subject heading search with additional keywords, such as New Zealand.

ageism affirmative action programs child welfare
children government policy economic policy education and state
emigration and immigration finance, public fiscal policy
future tertiary education policy government spending policy health care reform
health planning health policy housing policy
information policy economic aspects labor policy Maori government policy
medical policy Pacific Islanders government policy pensions
policy sciences political planning poverty
public administration decision-making public health public policy
public-private sector cooperation public welfare responsibility government policy
retirement retirement income social indicators
social policy social prediction social problems
taxation transportation and state welfare economics
welfare state    

Top of page

Journals

To find a list of journals available through the Library, use the subject headings above and combine with the keyword periodicals.

A selection of public policy journals:

Top of page

Official publications | Government business | Ministries and government departments | Advisory committees | Policy units | Local government

Official publications

Top of page

Government business

Top of page

Ministries and government departments

Ministry websites are an excellent place to find reports and documents on policy and legislation related matters. Identify the organisation relevant to your research topic.

Top of page

Advisory committees

Top of page

Policy units

Top of page

Local government

Top of page

Legislation | Select Committees | Committee progress reports | News from Select Committees

Legislation

See also the detailed New Zealand Legal Resources guide for links to finding bills and acts.

Top of page

Select Committees

Committee progress reports

News from Select Committees

Top of page

Chicago 16th (footnotes)

APA 6th

Harvard

Support

  • Referencing
    Access a range of tools and support material to assist your referencing work.

Examples

  • Quick©ite
    Use this interactive tool to view examples of references.
    Covers a range of styles used at the University of Auckland.

Last updated : 28 November 2018
Creative Commons License CC BY 4.0 Tautohu Matatiki 4.0 ā-Ao