Pacific Studies

Pacific

• Australia/New Zealand Reference Centre
  Academic journals, magazines, newspapers, newswires, reference books and company information from the Pacific Islands, Australia and New Zealand.
• Index New Zealand
  Journals, newspapers and magazines about New Zealand and the Pacific Islands.
• PINI
  Pacific Islands publications, including newspapers and reports.
• Trove (National Library of Australia)
  A search engine for Australian content including books, journals, theses, newspaper archives, art, photographs, postcards, letters, diaries and archived websites.
• Ethnographic Video Online
  Video collections for the study of human culture and behaviour.
• Indigenous Collection (Informit)
  Offering broad scope for critical international engagement and debate surrounding Indigenous culture, health, human geography, and other important aspects, this inter-disciplinary platform gives a definitive voice to Indigenous communities in Australia, New Zealand, and beyond.
• APA-FT (Australian Public Affairs Full Text)
  Australian social sciences and humanities journals.

Multidisciplinary

• Anthropology Plus
  Covers journal articles, chapters in edited books, and essays in anthropology and archaeology.
• Informit
  Multidisciplinary Australian full-text databases which include Pacific research.
• Google Scholar
  Excellent for starting your literature search.
• ProQuest
  A multidisciplinary database which searches across 50 individual databases, and good for Pacific topics in science, engineering, business, health, arts, medicine, political science, linguistics and many more.
• Project Muse
  Full-text books and scholarly journals in the humanities and social sciences.
• EBSCOhost
  A suite of databases, mostly full text, with an emphasis on peer-reviewed journals.
• Academic OneFile
  Provides millions of articles from over 17,000 scholarly journals and other authoritative sources, including videos from BBC Worldwide Learning to thousands of podcasts and transcripts from CNN.

Full list of library databases for Pacific Studies.

Additional

• Finding theses and dissertations

Top of page

General references | Bibliographies | Dictionaries | E-books | E-journals | Maps | News and media | Publishers | Research institutions and organisations | Statistics

Use for concise introductions, facts, or definitions. The information is brief and written by experts.

• Additional quick reference materials may be found by searching the Catalogue.
• Print resources are located in the Pacific Collection of the General Library.

General references

• A history of the Pacific Islands
• The Cambridge history of the Pacific Islanders
• Handbook of Polynesian mythology
• Historical dictionary of Polynesia
• The South Pacific
• The cyclopedia of Samoa, Tonga, Tahiti and the Cook Islands
• Guampedia: The encyclopedia of Guam
• Historical dictionary of Oceania
• The Pacific Islands: An encyclopedia
• Pacific Islands yearbook
• Papua New Guinea Patrol Reports
  The first-hand accounts reports covers many topics from post-World War II to 1975. Project by the University of California and National Archives of Papua New Guinea.
• Political and economic encyclopaedia of the Pacific
• Historical dictionary of the discovery and exploration of the Pacific Islands
• SOPAC Pacific Islands Applied GeoScience Commission
  National and regional environmental data with tables, graphs and maps.
• Who's who in New Zealand and the western Pacific
  Political leaders and senior officials in Pacific Island countries.

Top of page

Bibliographies

• A Pacific bibliography; printed matter relating to the native peoples of Polynesia, Melanesia, and Micronesia
• Australasia and South Pacific islands bibliography
• Bibliographic database
  On Oceania by the Centre for Pacific and Asian Studies, Radboud University, Nijmegen.
• Bibliographic index of Pacific theses in New Zealand universities (2008)
  Three volume index of doctoral and masters theses in New Zealand universities.
• Blain biographical directory (2010)
  On Project Canterbury of all Anglican clergy ordained before 1931 in New Zealand, Melanesia and Polynesia.
• Chinese in the Pacific: A bibliography
• Fiji bibliographies and indexes and Just Pacific
  Contains anthropological work.
• Journal of Pacific history bibliography
• Kiribati bibliography
• Lisitala: A bibliography of Pacific writers
• New Zealand based research on the Pacific Islands
• Pacific Island studies: A survey of the literature
• Samoan Islands bibliography
• South Pacific bibliography
• Tonga: A new bibliography

Top of page

Dictionaries

• A grammar and dictionary of the Samoan language, with English and Samoan vocabulary
• Cook Islands Maori dictionary
• Fijian-English and English-Fijian dictionary
• Mangaian dictionary: Dictionary of Cook Islands languages
• MAORI-POLYNESIAN comparative dictionary
• Pohnpeian English dictionary
• Tokelau dictionary

Top of page

Books

• Polynesian voyagers. The Māori as a deep-sea navigator, explorer, and coloniser
• Oceanic mythology
• Polynesian mythology and ancient traditional history of the New Zealanders as furnished by their priests and chiefs
• Legends of Maui: A demi god of Polynesia and of his mother Hina
• Samoa, a hundred years ago and long before
• Tidal pools: Digitised texts
  Includes other historical, contemporary and language e-texts relating to Māori and Pacific.

Top of page

Journals

• Asian-Pacific law and policy journal
• Asian perspectives
• AtoJsOnline
  Contains some reports on Pacific Islands from selected volumes.
• The contemporary Pacific
  Interdisciplinary and contemporary issues in the Pacific region, and includes reviews and interviews.
• Decolonization: Indigeneity, education and society
  An interdisciplinary, peer-reviewed journal focused on decolonisation in education.
• Graduate journal of Asia-Pacific studies
  Articles, commentaries, reviews, and visual works of University of Auckland graduate Arts students.
• International Journal of Heritage Studies
  Journal on historic preservation of cultural property, protection, conservation and the challenges relating to Pacific and indigenous cultures.
• Journal of New Zealand and Pacific studies
• The Journal of Pacific History
  Annual review of Pacific-related theses from around the world, as well as books, chapters in books, journal articles and theses.
• Journal of Pacific Rim Psychology continuation of the South Pacific Journal of Psychology
• Journal of the Polynesian society
  Includes vocabularies of some Polynesian languages, and "A list of Polynesian languages" v. 21.
• Oceania
  Covers social and cultural anthropology of Australia, Melanesia, Polynesia, Micronesia and Southeast Asia. Includes peer-reviewed ethnographic research.
• Oceania newsletter
  Includes short articles on topical issues, workshops, seminars, conferences, exhibitions, and recent publications.
• Oceanic linguistics
  Devoted exclusively to the study of the indigenous languages of the Oceanic area including Austronesian.
• Pacific arts journal
  Covers visual and performing arts of the peoples of Polynesia, Micronesia, Melanesia, Australia, and Indonesia.
• Pacific Arts Association newsletter
  Contains useful links and information of the arts of Oceania.
• Pacific economic bulletin
  Peer-reviewed research publication covering economics, governance and policymaking in the Pacific Islands.
• Pacific health dialog
  Medical and public health journal published specifically for Pacific island countries.
• Pacific science
  Focuses on the Biological and Physical Sciences of the Pacific Region.
• Pacific studies
  Covers multidisciplinary study of the peoples of the Pacific Islands.
• Pambu newsletters
  Pacific Manuscripts Bureau of the Australian National University activities and microfilming projects.
• Spasifik
  Pacific and Māori current news and events in New Zealand and in the Pacific Islands.
• South Pacific Journal of Natural Science
• Trout
  Online journal of arts and literature from New Zealand and the Pacific Islands.

Top of page

Maps

• David Rumsey collection
• SOPAC Applied Geoscience and Technology Division
  Geological maps of the Pacific Islands, Australia and New Zealand.
• Historic Pacific Encounters maps & Old maps of Oceania
• Digital NZ
  Digital collections from New Zealand libraries and archives including historic photographs.
• Perry-Castañeda Library map collection University of Texas Libraries
  Excellent collection of current, geological and historical maps.

See also the Geospatial data guide.

Top of page

News and media

• Pacific Islands Report news Archive 1997-2017
  Archive of Pacific news articles, radio/TV news reports (video/audio material).
• Other Newspapers and News sites
  • Oceania newspapers and news media Guide
  • Pacific beat
    ABC Radio Australia
  • Pacific Network TV
  • Pacific News| Radio New Zealand International
  • Historic Australian newspapers 1803-1954
    Trove digital newspapers
  • Niupepa
    Māori newspapers 1842-1933
  • PapersPast
    New Zealand papers and periodicals 1839-1932
  • Historic American newspapers
  • Online newspapers.com

Top of page

Publishers

• Oceania Publications University of Sydney
  Includes Oceania and Archaeology in Oceania monographs and journals.
• PIDP Publications
  Research publications by the Pacific Islands Development Program, East-West Center, Hawaii.
• University of the South Pacific Books
  University of the South Pacific, Suva, Fiji.
• University of Hawaii Press
  Publisher of academic books and journals on Asia and the Pacific.

Top of page

Research institutions and organisations

• Ako Aotearoa
• ANU College of Asia and the Pacific
• Center for Pacific Islands Studies
  University of Hawaii at Manoā.
• Pacific Studies
  University of Auckland.
• Center for Pacific and Asian Studies (CPAS)
  University of Nijmegen, The Netherlands. Resources includes the Oceania newsletter, and bibliographical databases.
• East-West Center
• Pacific Islands Development Program (PIDP)
  Research, education and training.
• Macmillan Brown Centre for Pacific Studies
  University of Canterbury.
• Micronesian Seminar
  Popularly known as MicSem, is a private non-profit, non-governmental organisation engaged in the public education of the people of the Federated States of Micronesia, the republics of Palau and the Marshall Islands, and the Commonwealth of the Northern Mariana Islands. Hosts an online collection of historical photographs of Micronesia.
• Ministry for Pacific Peoples, New Zealand
  Publishes a range of useful resources and publications.
• Pacific Cooperation Foundation
  A partnership between the public and private sectors in New Zealand and the Pacific Island countries.
• Pacific Islands Development Program (PIDP)
  East West Center, Hawaii research centre which produces regular online news reports on the Pacific.
• Pacific Islands Marine Portal
  Contains news, articles and directories of websites relevant to fisheries, coastal and marine environment.
• PIMRIS Repository
  A regional e-repository of published and unpublished documents produced by marine and fisheries departments.
• Secretariat of the Pacific Community (SPC)
  Valuable publications available in PDF format from library catalogue.
• SPC-EU Deep Sea Minerals Project
  Deals with governance and management of deep-sea minerals resources, protection of the marine environment and securing equitable financial arrangements for Pacific Island countries and their people. Produces information and country Brochures, other valuable Publications and Reports.
• Regional Organisations and forums of Pacific Islands. Listings of regional organisations are under Pacific Business.
• School of Māori, Pacific and Indigenous Studies
  University of Otago, delivers programmes about the languages, cultures and societies of Māori, Pacific and Indigenous societies.
• University of St Andrews Centre for Pacific Studies
• University of the South Pacific
  Programmes in Pacific Studies and is a major publisher of Pacific books, and is a research and resource institution for the development of the Pacific Islands. Regional projects includes the Pacific Archive of Digital Data for Learning and Education (PADDLE)
• Va'aomanū Pasifika
  Victoria University of Wellington, delivers the Pacific Studies Programme and the Samoan Studies Programmes in teaching and research in Pacific knowledge, skills and understandings.

Top of page

Statistics

• Selected Pacific regional organisations, research, country, and statistical information are available on the Pacific Regional Information System (PRISM) and the South Pacific Community's Statistics for Development Division sites.
• United Nations database that provides Millennium Development Goals (MDGs) data on 15 Pacific Island Countries, and monitors and tracks progress on human development and other national priorities.
• Statistics and information about Pacific peoples living in New Zealand: Statistics New Zealand; New Zealand Community Profile database; Pacific Peoples from the StatsNZ website; Ministry for Pacific Peoples website.

See also the Statistics and numeric data guide.

Top of page

Conceptual frameworks | Guidelines and protocols | Indigenous references | Methodologies | Pacific studies research | Research repositories | Conferences

Where to start

• Getting started with Pacific research
  Finding resources and information on Pacific research models and methodologies.
• The Quick Reference section lists some suggested Pacific research resources to explore including the Bibliographic Index of Pacific theses in New Zealand universities (2008).
• The Pacific research paradigm: Opportunities and challenges - a socio-historical account of the Pacific research paradigm with some key contemporary Pacific research approaches within this paradigm.

Conceptual frameworks

Health Models

• Agnew, F., Pulotu-Endemann, F. K., Robinson, G., Suaalii-Sauni, T., Warren, H., Wheeler, A., Erick, M., Hingano, T. & Schmidt-Sopoaga, H. (2004). Pacific models of mental health service delivery in New Zealand ("PMMHSD") project. Auckland: Health Research Council of New Zealand. Fonofale.
• Tamases, K., Peteru, C., Waldegrave, C., & Bush, A. (2005). O le Taeao Afua, the new morning: a qualitative investigation into Samoan perspectives on mental health and culturally appropriate services. Australian and New Zealand Journal of Psychiatry, 39(4), 300-309. Fa'afaletui.
• Tu'itahi, S. (2009). Fonua: A framework for Pasifika development. Hauora Health Promotion Forum of New Zealand. (Retrieved July, 2017).

Kakala | Ula

• Helu-Thaman, K. (1992). Looking Towards the Source: A Consideration of (cultural) context in Teacher Education. ACCESS Critical Perspectives on Education Policy. 11(2), 44-50.
• Johansson Fua, S. (2009). Ko hota fa'ungamotu'a ko hota kaha'u - A knowledge system for redesigning Tongan curriculum. In K. Sanga & K.Helu-Thaman (Eds.), Re-thinking Education Curricula in the Pacific: challenges and prospects, (pp. 196-221). Wellington: He Parekeke, Victoria University.
• Johansson Fua, S. (2014). Kakala Research Framework: A garland in celebration of a decade of rethinking education. In M. `Otunuku, U. Nabobo-Baba & S. Johansson Fua (Eds.), Of Waves, Winds and Wonderful Things: A decade of rethinking education, (pp.50-60). Suva: Univeristy of the South Pacific Press.
• Manu'atu, L. (2000). Katoanga Faiva: a pedagogical site for Tongan students. Educational Philosophy and Theory. 32(1), 73-80.
• Sauni, Seiuli L. (2011). Samoan research methodology: The Ula – A New Paradigm. Pacific-Asian Education:The Journal of the Pacific Circle Consortium for Education, 23(2), 53-64.

Vaka | Va'a

• Nelisi, L. (2004). Ko e vaka fakaako he faiaoga Pasifika he moana Okalana: Teaching from the heart. (Unpublished MEd Research project). University of Auckland.
• Si'ilata, R. (2014). Va'a Tele: Pasifika learners riding the success wave on linguistically and culturally responsive pedagogies. (Unpublished PhD Education thesis). University of Auckland.

Tā-Vā | Tauhi Vā | Teu le Vā

• Airini., Anae, M., & Mila-Schaaf, K. (2010). Teu le va-relationships across research and policy in Pasifika education: A collective approach to knowledge generation and policy development for action towards Pasifika education success. Report to the Ministry of Education. Wellington: Ministry of Education.
• Anae, M. (2010). Research for better Pacific schooling in New Zealand: Teu le va – a Samoan perspective. Mai Review, Special Issue: Pacific Research in Education: New Directions. 2010 (1), 24pp.
• Anae, M. (2010). ‘Teu le va: toward a ‘native’ anthropology’. Pacific Studies Journal. Special Issue: Genealogies: Articulating Indigenous Anthropology in/of Oceania. 33 (2/3), 222-240.
• Anae, M. (2013). ‘Research for better Pacific schooling in New Zealand: Teu le va – a Samoan perspective’. Mai Review: Special Issue. Pacific Research in Education: New Directions. (August 2013), 138-161.
• Anae, M. (2016). Teu le va: Samoan relational ethics. Knowledge Cultures, 4(3), 117-130.
• Lilomaiava-Doktor, S. (2009). Beyond "Migration": Samoan Population Movement (Malaga) and the Geography of Social Space (Vā). The Contemporary Pacific Journal 21 (1), 1-32.
• Mahina, O. (2010). Ta, Va and Moana: temporality, spatiality, and indigeneity. Pacific Studies, 33(2/3), 168-202.
• Tā-Vā theory papers online
  A collection of online material on Tā-Vā which includes the thesis by Ka’ili, Tēvita O. (2008). Tauhi vā: Creating beauty through the art of sociospatial relations. Unpublished PhD Thesis, University of Washington.

Tofā'a'anolasi

• Galuvao, A. (2016). Filimānaia: A Samoan Critique of Standardised Reading Assessment in New Zealand Primary Schools. (Unpublished PhD Thesis). Auckland University of Technology.
• Galuvao, A. (2016). In search of Samoan research approaches to education: Tofā'a'anolasi and the Foucauldian tool box. Educational Philosopy and Theory. 1–11. doi:10.1080/00131857.2016.1232645

Top of page

Guidelines and protocols

• Anae, M., Coxon, E., Mara, D., & Wendt-Samu, T. (2001). Pasifika education research guidelines: Final report. Wellington: Ministry of Education Research Division, Auckland UniServices.
• Health Research Council of New Zealand. (2005). Guidelines on Pacific health research (3rd ed). Auckland: Health Research Council of New Zealand.
• Health Research Council of New Zealand. (2014). Pacific Health Research Guidelines, 2014. Auckland: Health Research Council of New Zealand.
• Ministry of Pacific Island Affairs. (2006). Pacific analysis framework 2006 with Pacific consultation guidelines: Analysing public policy through Pacific lenses. Wellington: Ministry of Pacific Island Affairs.
• Tiatia, J. (2008). Pacific cultural competencies a literature review. Wellington: Ministry of Health.
• University of Otago (2011). Pacific research protocols 2011. Dunedin: University Council of the University of Otago.

Top of page

Indigenous references

• Baba, T. L., Mahina, O., Williams, N., & Nabobo-Baba, U. (2004). Researching Pacific and indigenous peoples: Issues and perspectives. Auckland: Centre for Pacific Studies, The University of Auckland.
• Cultural mapping planning and policy for the Solomon Islands, Tonga including other reports for other Pacific nations are available on the South Pacific Community Resource Centre site.
• Denzin, N.K., Lincoln, Y.S., & Smith, L.T. (2008). Handbook of critical and indigenous methodologies. Los Angeles: Sage.
• Efi, Tuiatua Tupua Tamasese. (2008).Su'esu'e manogi = In search of fragrance: Tui Atua Tupua Tamasese Ta'isi and the Samoan indigenous reference edited and compiled by Tamasailau M. Suaalii-Sauni ...[et al.]. Samoa: Centre for Samoan Studies, National University of Samoa, 2008, c2009.
• Community Research Engagement Mai review online journal Special Edition 2010, Issue 3.
• Intangible Cultural Heritage safeguarding in the Pacific.
• Nabobo-Baba, U. (2011). A taxonomy of silence In Nabobo-Baba, U (Ed), Knowing and learning: An indigenous Fijian approach, pp 94-98, Suva: IPS Publications.
• Naisilisili, S. (2014). 'Iluvatu: An indigenous framework. In M. `Otunuku, U. Nabobo-Baba & S. Johansson Fua (Eds.), Of Waves, Winds and Wonderful Things: A decade of rethinking education, (pp. 130-136). Suva: Univeristy of the South Pacific Press.
• Nemani, S. (2012). Pacific intangible cultural heritage mapping toolkit. Suva, Fiji: Secretariat of the Pacific Community (SPC). 
• Suaalii-Sauni, T.M., Wendt, M. A., Moa, V., Fuamatu, N., Va'ai, U. L., Whatiri, R., & Filipo, S.L. (Eds.). (2014). Whispers and Vanities: Samoan indigenous knowledge and religion. Wellington: Huia Publishers.
• Smith, L. T., (1999). Decolonising methodologies: Research and indigenous peoples. New York: Zed Books; Dunedin: University of Otago Press.
• Taonga Pasifika: world heritage in the Pacific.
• Teaiwa, K. & Mercer, C. (2011). Pacific cultural mapping, planning and policy toolkit. Noumea: Secretariat of the Pacific Community.
• Te Kaharoa: The e-journal on Indigenous Pacific Issues. A free-access multi-diciplinary, refereed e-journal. Te Ara Poutama Auckland University of Technology, Auckland.

Top of page

Methodologies

• Airini, Anae, M., & Mila-Schaaf, K. (2010). Teu le va - relationships across research and policy in Pasifika education: A collective approach to knowledge generation and policy development for action towards Pasifika education success: Report to the Ministry of Education. Wellington: Ministry of Education.
• Denzin, N.K., Lincoln, Y.S., & Smith, L.T. (2008). Handbook of critical and indigenous methodologies. The University of Michigan: Sage Publications.
• Fa'avae, D.,Jones, A., & Manu'atu, L.(2016).Talanoa'i `a e talanoa - talking about talanoa: Some dilemmas of a novice researcher. Alternative: An International Journal of Indigenous Scholarship, 12(2), 138-150.
• Ferris-Leary, H. (2013). An analytical perspective on Moana Research and the case of Tongan Faiva. (Unpublished PhD thesis). University of Auckland.
• Halapua, S. (2000). Talanoa process: The case of Fiji. Honolulu: East West Centre, Hawaii.
• Manu'atu, L. (2003). TalanoaMālie: Innovative reform through social dialogue in New Zealand. Cultural survival quarterly, 27(4).
• Otsuka, S. (2006). Talanoa research: Culturally appropriate research design in Fiji. Proceedings of the Australian Association for Research in Education (AARE) 2005 International Education Research Conference: Creative Dissent-Constructive Solutions. Melbourne, Australia.
• `Otunuku, M. (2011). How can talanoa be used effectively as an indigenous research methodology with Tongan people? Pacific-Asian Education, 23(2), p.43-52.
• Prescott, S. M. (2008). Using tālanoa in Pacific business research in New Zealand: experiences with Tongan entrepreneurs. Alternative: An International Journal of Indigenous Scholarship, 4(1), 127-148.
• Robinson, D., & Robinson, K. (2005). Pacific ways of talk - hui and talanoa. Unpublished research project for the New Zealand Institute for Economic Research. Wellington: Social and Civic Policy Institute (SCPI).
• Sauni, Seiuli L. (2011). Samoan research methodology: The Ula – A New Paradigm. Pacific-Asian Education:The Journal of the Pacific Circle Consortium for Education, 23(2), 53-64.
• Suaalii-Sauni, T., & Fulu-Aiolupotea, S.M. (2014). Decolonising Pacific research, building Pacific research communities and developing Pacific research tools: The case of the talanoa and the faafaletui in Samoa. Asia Pacific Viewpoint, 55(3), 331-344.
• Vaioleti, T. M. (2006). Talanoa research methodology: A developing position on Pacific research. Waikato journal of education, 12, 21-34.
• Vaioleti, T.M. (2014). Talanoa: Differentiating the Talanoa research methodology from phenomenology, narrative, Kaupapa Maori and feminist methodologies. Te Reo, 56/57,191-212.

Top of page

Pacific studies research

• Baba, T. L., Mahina, O., Williams, N., & Nabobo-Baba, U. (2004). Researching Pacific and indigenous peoples: Issues and perspectives. Auckland: Centre for Pacific Studies, The University of Auckland.
• The contemporary Pacific, A Journal of island affairs, 13 (2), Fall 2001. Issue with articles on Pacific Studies.
• Fairbairn-Dunlop, T.P. (2008). Reconnecting to our sea of islands: Pacific Studies in the next decade AlterNative: An international journal of indigenous peoples, 4(1), 45-56.
• Hau'ofa, E. (1993). Our sea of islands. In E. Waddell, V. Naidu, E. Hau'ofa (Ed), A new Oceania: Rediscovering our sea of islands, pp. 2-19. Suva: University of the South Pacific.
• Hviding, Edvard. (2003). Between knowledges: Pacific Studies and academic disciplines. The contemporary Pacific, 15, 43-73.
• Mamak, A., & McCall, G. (1978). Paradise postponed: Essays on research and development in the South Pacific. Rushcutters Bay, NSW: Pergamon Press.
• Rose, S., Quanchi, M., & Moore, C. (2009). A national strategy for the study of the Pacific. Brisbane: Australian Association for the Advancement of Pacific Studies.
• Wesley-Smith, T. (1995). Rethinking Pacific Islands studies. Pacific studies, 18(2), 115-137.

See also Research organisations and institutions with a focus in Pacific Studies.

Top of page

Research repositories

• Auckland University of Technology - Tuwhera
• Lincoln University - http://researcharchive.lincoln.ac.nz/
• Massey University - http://mro.massey.ac.nz/
• Australian Policy Online - https://apo.org.au/
• NZ Research - http://nzresearch.org.nz/ (includes research from the 8 NZ Universities, CPIT, Unitec and the Open Polytechnic)
• The National University of Samoa https://nus.edu.ws/using-the-library/collections/ 
• University of Auckland - https://researchspace.auckland.ac.nz/
• University of Canterbury - http://ir.canterbury.ac.nz/
• University of Hawaii - http://scholarspace.manoa.hawaii.edu/
• University of New Caledonia - https://portail-documentaire.unc.nc/
• University of Otago - https://www.otago.ac.nz/library/
• University of the South Pacific - https://www.usp.ac.fj/research/research/output-and-awards/research-repository/
• University of Waikato - http://researchcommons.waikato.ac.nz/
• Victoria University of Wellington - http://researcharchive.vuw.ac.nz/
• Wintec - http://researcharchive.wintec.ac.nz/
• OpenDOAR: a global directory of open access repositories (Australasia includes the 8 NZ Universities, Unitec, Wintec and National Library of New Zealand) - http://www.opendoar.org/

Top of page

Conferences relating to the Pacific

• University of the South Pacific
• Pacific Science Association
• East-West Center
• Pacific History Association
• ANU Pacific Institute
• The European Society for Oceanists
• Pacific Islands Political Studies Association
• The Tonga Research Association
• Academic conferences worldwide also provides information on upcoming conferences.

See also Finding conferences and conference proceedings

Top of page

Arts and literature | Church and religion | Education | Film, TV and photography | Law | Navigation and voyaging

Arts and literature

• Art of Pacific cultures
• Arts Online
  A resource portal for New Zealand arts education.
• Bibliography of non-indigenous literary writings on the Pacific
• Fāgogo: Fables from Samoa
• New Zealand Electronic Poetry Centre NZEPC
  A gateway to poetry resources in New Zealand and the Pacific region, and includes a Pasifika poetry section with fulltext, commentary and interviews with authors.
• Museums Aotearoa, Te Tari o Nga Whare Taonga o Te Motu directory
• Pacific Arts Association
• Pacific Islands literature - a selective reading guide
  Compiled by Dr Karen Peacock.
• Pacific literature & reference guide
  University of Hawaiʻi at Mānoa.
• SPAN
  Journal of the South Pacific Association for Commonwealth Literacy and Language Studies.
• Tautai
  Contemporary Pacific Arts Trust, has a directory of Pacific artists with information about their work.
• Zeroland Arts Online
  A guide to New Zealand, and the world art and culture online - includes visual arts, performing arts, cinema, music, literature and philosophy directories.

Top of page

Church and religion

• Pacific Christian churches
  Directory of Christian churches across Pacific and Asia.
• Project Canterbury
  The Biographical Directory of Anglican Clergy includes biographical information on clergy and deaconesses of the Anglican Church in New Zealand, Polynesia, and Melanesia, from the visit of Samuel Marsden in 1814 onwards and Anglicanism in Oceania.
• World Council of Churches
  Pacific Island missions.
• Marist Studies wiki: Letters of French Catholic missionaries in the Pacific 1836-1854

Top of page

Education

• Pasifika education
  Links to information on Pacific education available from the New Zealand Ministry of Education site which includes the Pasifika Education Plan, Pasifika Education Strategy, a newsletter Talanoa Ako: Pacific education talk, statistics, reports and other important resources.
• Education counts, New Zealand Ministry of Education
  Online statistical data, quantitative information and research about the education sector including Pasifika education publications.
• Pacific Education Centre (PEC)
  Offers courses on Pacific languages, cultures and adult education.
• Pasifika education community
  Provides links to resources on Pasifika education in New Zealand for teachers and school learners including Language curriculum, research, engaging with Pasifika parents and other material.
• Pacific Archive of Digital Data for Learning and Education (PADDLE)
  Regional online resource of Pacific Island education provided by PRIDE (Pacific Regional Initiatives for the Delivery of basic Education), University of the South Pacific.

Additional:

• Ako Aotearoa resources
• MultiLingual audio
  Pacific languages resources.
• Pasifika Dual Language Resources
  A set of five dual language books in English and Gagana Samoa, Lea Faka-Tonga, Gagana Tokelau, Vagahau Niue, and Cook Islands Māori by the New Zealand Ministry of Education.
• Pasifika digital legends
  Based on traditional stories from the TurtlePacific retold in English and Pasifika languages by New Zealand students. 
• Global education
  Teacher resources and includes country profiles.
• Pacific Studies initiatives project : Syllabus and bibliography collection
  Instructional materials for teaching about the Pacific Islands by the University of Hawai`i Center for Pacific Islands Studies, the East-West Center, and Kapi`olani Community College Library.
• Pacific Resources for Education and Learning PREL
  Pacific language resources. Other language resources sites include the Papua New Guinea Summer Institute of Linguistics SIL PNG.
• Full-text indigenous language books
  Full text of Indigenous Language and Education Books available online from Northern Arizona University's College of Education with references to Maori and Pasifika languages revival.
• Education Policy and Data Center
  EPDC serves as a resource for education data, profiles, and data reports on education status at the country level, research papers on issues and challenges in education in developing and transitional countries, as well as medium-term education projections.

Top of page

Film, TV and photography

• Oceania Cinematographical database
  Contains information on films (mainly documentaries) on Oceania (without Australia and New Zealand) that has been collected by Saskia Goëken in pre-WWW and pre-DVD times: 1984-1986, including the University of Hawaii’s “Moving Images of the Pacific Islands” database.
• Film Archive New Zealand
  Contains documentaries, short films, newsreels, posters, and photographs from Pacific islands associated with New Zealand administration.
• Pacific pictures
  Gallery of Pacific travel photographs from the Pacific islands including maps, directories and travel guides.

Top of page

Law

• Introduction to researching South Pacific law
• Federated Sates of Micronesia Supreme Court Law Libraries

Top of page

Navigation and voyaging

• Canoe is the People
  Indigenous navigation in the Pacific
• Polynesian Voyaging Society Hōkūle'a (PVS) 
  An organisation committed towards research and education on the art and science of traditional Polynesian voyaging.
• South Seas Voyaging and Cross Cultural Encounters in the Pacific
  A resource of the National Library of Australia on the history of European voyaging and cross-cultural encounters in the Pacific between 1760-1800.

Top of page

University of Auckland Library

• Special collections
  Including the Western Pacific Archives of British colonial administration records from 1877-1978.
• Digitised collections

Other research collections

• British Museum
  Comprehensive online collection of artefacts from Melanesia, Polynesia and Micronesia, includes every conceivable item from Papua in the west to Rapanui (Easter Island) in the east.
• Digitised Pacific resources: Global collections
  Collections of digitised documentary materials relating to the history, culture and people of the Pacific region including Micronesia, Melanesia, Polynesia and New Zealand listed on the National Library of Australia website including Pacific resources.
• Museums with Pacific ethnographic collections
• NativeWeb
  An excellent scholarly website for information about Indigenous Peoples around the world.
• Pacific research collections
  Australian National University.
• Pacific Insititue Digitisation Project
• Te Puna Matauranga o Aotearoa National Library of New Zealand
  Collections managed by the National Library including the Te Puna web directory to selected New Zealand, Māori and Pacific Island websites.
• Pacific Collection : Hawaiian & Pacific Collections, University of Hawaiʻi
  Libraries, archives and museums in Hawaiʻi and the Pacific are listed on this website.

Support

• Referencing
  Access a range of tools and support material to assist your referencing work.

Examples

• Quick©ite
  Use this interactive tool to view examples of references.
  Covers a range of styles used at the University of Auckland.