New Zealand history
Use the Catalogue to find material in the University of Auckland Library’s notable collection of books, journals, theses, television programmes and conference proceedings.
Key databases
- Index New Zealand
Journals, newspapers and magazines about New Zealand and the South Pacific. - findNZarticles
Index of New Zealand periodicals and newspapers. - New Zealand History Collection
New Zealand history e-books published by Bridget Williams Books (BWB). - Bibliography of British and Irish History
History of the British Isles, the Empire and Commonwealth.
Full list of library databases for History.
The printed Index to New Zealand periodicals covers journals and magazines from 1940-1987.
Journals
- New Zealand journal of history
- Journal of New Zealand studies
- Journal of imperial and commonwealth history
Background information
- New Zealand yearbook
Statistics for 1893-2012. - Te Ara: The encyclopedia of New Zealand
- Incorporates the DNZB Dictionary of New Zealand biography
- Historical & political dictionary of New Zealand
- Bateman New Zealand historical atlas
- New Zealand history online
Ministry for Culture and Heritage.
General histories
- Binney, Judith, The people and the land = Te tangata me te whenua: An illustrated history of New Zealand, 1820-1920, Wellington, 1990.
- Rice, Geoffrey, ed., The Oxford history of New Zealand, 2nd edn, Auckland, 1992.
- Belich, James, Making peoples: A history of the New Zealanders: From Polynesian settlement to the end of the nineteenth century, Auckland, 1996.
- Sinclair, Keith, A history of New Zealand, Rev. edn, Auckland, 2000.
- Belich, James, Paradise reforged: A history of the New Zealanders from the 1880s to the year 2000, Auckland, 2001.
- King, Michael, The Penguin history of New Zealand, Rev. edn, Auckland, 2004.
- Mein Smith, Phillippa, A concise history of New Zealand, 2nd edn, Cambridge, 2011.
Archives and manuscripts
- Manuscripts and Archives
More than 1,000 collections in Special Collections including architecture and fine arts. - Archives New Zealand
Archway is the catalogue of the national archives. - Alexander Turnbull Library Collections
Alexander Turnbull Library's collection of archives, manuscripts and pictorial works. - Hakena
The archives and manuscript catalogue of the Hocken Collections at the University of Otago including the Marsden Online Archive of early New Zealand missionaries. - The Community Archive
A catalogue of archival collections held in museums, local government bodies, libraries, historical societies, community repositories, and in-house business, educational, religious and sporting archives throughout New Zealand. Formerly NRAM, the national register of archives and manuscripts. - The directory of archives in New Zealand = Ngā pae mahara
Contact details for organisations holding archival collections.
The Auckland War Memorial Museum Library and Auckland Libraries have significant collections of archives and manuscripts.
Parliamentary papers
- AJHR
The Appendix to the Journals of the House of Representatives (AJHR) 1858-1945. - Hansard 1987-
Print version 1854-
New Zealand parliamentary debates. - U.K. Parliamentary papers
British parliamentary papers 1660-2010.
Newspapers
- Papers past
1839-1945 - Church papers online / Nga pepa hāhi ā ipurāngi
1859-2006 - Newztext plus
- New Zealand newspapers
In print, online and on microfilm.
Books
Images
- DigitalNZ
Images from galleries, libraries and museums.
Film and video
- The Chapman archive
News broadcasts. - The film archive
Ngā kaitiaki o ngā taonga whitiāhua | The New Zealand film archive. - Archives New Zealand film site
Films from the National Film Unit and other government departments. - Sound archives Ngā taonga kōrero
New Zealand's broadcast radio archives.
Waitangi Tribunal
- Waitangi Tribunal reports
- National Archives of New Zealand, Raupatu document bank, Wellington: Waitangi Tribunal, 1989-1990.
Documents covering the 1870s to 1960s consulted by the Waitangi Tribunal in its investigation of claims relating to confiscated land.
Newspapers and journals
- Niupepa
Māori, English language, and bilingual newspapers published between 1842-1933. - Te ao hou periodical
Three Māori periodicals: Te ao hou, Te Maori and Te kaunihera Maori from the 1950s to 1970s.
Indexes and bibliographies
- Williams, Herbert W., A bibliography of printed Maori to 1900, Wellington, 1975.
- Sommerville, A.D., A supplement to the Williams bibliography of printed Maori.
Covers 1900-1947. - Taylor, C.R.H., A bibliography of publications on the New Zealand Maori and the Moriori of the Chatham Islands, London, 1972.
- Fildes, H.E.M., Selective indexes to certain books relating to early New Zealand, Wellington, 1984.
Originally compiled 1920-1937. Europeans, Māori, places and ships indexed from 500 books and journals. - Ngā taonga o te Tai Tokerau: He pukapuka kāhui kōrero. Te wāhanga tuatahi, ngā tuhinga tawhito. Te wāhanga tuarua, ngā tuhinga o muri ake. Te wāhanga tuatoru, ngā tuhinga whakapae me ngā pukapuka = A collection of information. Part one, early manuscripts. Part two, later manuscripts. Part three, theses and books, Auckland, 1998.
- Index: Maori/Maoris to Otago Daily Times, Evening Star, Otago Witness and other Dunedin newspapers 1861-1986, Dunedin, 1986.
- Index of Māori names
This index is from an unpublished manuscript compiled about 1925 by the missionary Rev. Henry James Fletcher (1868-1933). In its original form it was 987 pages long, a vast index of Māori names referred to in books and journals, including the names of boundaries, Māori individuals, canoes, trees, landmarks and geographical locations. - Māori bibliography from Te Whare Wananga o Waikato
An index of book chapters, articles and conference proceedings.
New Zealand Journal of History
Support
- Referencing
Access a range of tools and support material to assist your referencing work.
Examples
- Quick©ite
Use this interactive tool to view examples of references.
Covers a range of styles used at the University of Auckland.
Last updated : 28 November 2022
