Media and Communication

Full list of databases for Media and Communication.

Dictionaries and encyclopedias

To begin your research, use these introductions to media topics. Some include bibliographies for further reading.

Journals

Use Sage, Taylor & Francis and Articles and more to search for articles across these and other media journals.

Open access journals

Open access is about making published research freely available to anyone with an internet connection. Many of these scholarly journals are available via the Directory of open access journals (DOAJ) or through the catalogue link to free e-journals.

Other media open access journals.

Web resources

Dictionaries and encyclopedias

To begin your research, use these introductions to film studies. Some include bibliographies for further reading.

Journals

Use media, film and television databases and Articles and more to search for articles across these and other film journals.

Selected web resources

Film reviews

There are many different places to search for film reviews:

1. Search for the film's title in Articles and more. Under “Refine your results”, select “Show More” under “Format”. You are able to refine results by "Reviews".

2. Search for the film's title in Film Index International Online. Scroll to the bottom "References" section.

3. Search for the film's title in other media, film and television databases. Refine by "review" if possible.

4. Film reviews do not have to come from traditional scholarly journals, they can be found in film industry or film oriented magazines. These include, but are not limited to:

These titles are indexed, searchable and available in Articles and more.

MLA Style

Support

  • Referencing
    Access a range of tools and support material to assist your referencing work.

Examples

  • Quick©ite
    Use this interactive tool to view examples of references.
    Covers a range of styles used at the University of Auckland.

Last updated : 20 December 2017
Creative Commons License CC BY 4.0 Tautohu Matatiki 4.0 ā-Ao