To begin your research, use these introductions to development studies topics. Some include bibliographies for further reading.
- Encyclopedia of international development
- Guide to international development: terms and acronyms: Pacific focus
- Encyclopedia of the developing world
- Encyclopedia of postcolonial studies
- Fifty key concepts in gender studies
- Greenwood encyclopedia of women's issues worldwide
- Handbook of gender and women's studies
- Multimedia encyclopedia of women in today's world
- Sage handbook of gender and education
- A to Z of the United Nations
- Dev-zone directory of international development NGOs
- Encyclopedia of the United Nations and international agreements
- Historical dictionary of international organizations in Asia and the Pacific
- International organizations: a dictionary and directory
- World Trade Organization: issues and bibliography
- Dictionary of human rights
- Historical dictionary of human rights and humanitarian organizations
- Human rights worldwide: a reference handbook
- Human and civil rights: essential primary sources
- Sage research methods online
- Sage encyclopedia of qualitative research methods
- Sage encyclopedia of social science research methods
- A-Z of social research: a dictionary of key social science research concepts
- See further titles listed in Sage Knowledge research methods and evaluation
Publications, data and statistics, conventions, and reports are available for these IGOs (Inter-Governmental Organisations) and NGOs (Non-Governmental Organisations).
The UN's goals include sustainable development and poverty alleviation.
- United Nations
- UN Chronicle
- UN News Centre
- World Economic and Social Survey (WESS)
- Yearbook of the United Nations
- DESA Social Policy and Development Division
- Economic and Social Commission for Asia and the Pacific (ESCAP)
- Food and Agriculture Organization (FAO)
- International Labour Organization (ILO)
- International Monetary Fund (IMF)
- Office of the High Commissioner for Human Rights (OHCHR)
- United Nations Centre for Regional Development (UNCRD)
- United Nations Development Programme
- United Nations Industrial Development Organization (UNIDO)
- UN Women
- World Health Organisation
- European Union
- Commonwealth Secretariat
- Council of Europe
- Economic Cooperation Organization (ECO)
- European Court of Human Rights
- Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD)
- Organization of Arab Petroleum Exporting Countries (OAPEC)
- Organization of Petroleum Exporting Countries (OPEC)
- Secretariat of the Pacific Community (SPC)
- World Trade Organization
- African Development Bank Group
- Arab Fund for Economic and Social Development (AFESD)
- Arab Monetary Fund
- Asian Development Bank
- Bank for International Settlements
- Banque Ouest Africaine de Développement (BOAD)
- East African Development Bank
- European Bank for Reconstruction and Development (EBRD)
- Inter-American Development Bank (Banco Interamericano de Desarrollo) (IDB)
- Islamic Development Bank
- World Bank Group
- Bank Information Center
- Bretton Woods Project
- CEE Bankwatch Network
- Global Governance Watch
NGOs, treaties, human rights.
- Human Rights Watch
- Social Watch
Gender and poverty.
- Amnesty International
- Beyond 2015
- British Overseas NGOs for Development (BOND)
- Council for International Development (NZ)
- Red Cross
- Save the Children
- Small Enterprise Foundation
Articles and more
A quick way to search for book reviews across a number of databases is to use the Catalogue Articles and more: Advanced Search.
- Do an exact phrase search for the book title in the title field.
- Include the name of the author in the title field.
- Once you have your list of results, use Refine my results to limit the format to Reviews.
- You can further refine your results by Peer reviewed journals.
Use Academic search premier database to search for book reviews across these and other journal titles.
The preferred style for Development Studies is the American Psychological Association APA 6th style.
- APA style guide to electronic references
- APA style blog
Access a range of tools and support material to assist your referencing work.
Use this interactive tool to view examples of references.
Covers a range of styles used at the University of Auckland including APA.