Chinese

Full list of library databases for Chinese.

Essential reference |  EncyclopediasDictionariesBibliographiesGazetteersChronologiesCalendarsAtlasesStatistics

Essential reference

Top of page

Encyclopedias

Top of page

Dictionaries

Language dictionaries

  • 漢語大詞典
    Comprehensive Chinese word dictionary. The most comprehensive dictionary of the Chinese language. It includes over 23,000 head Chinese character entries, defines some 370,000 words, and gives 1,500,000 citations.
  • 康熙字典 : [12卷, 附補遺, 備考, 字典考證 / 張玉書等奉敕修]
    Kangxi dictionary. Named after the Emperor’s era name, the dictionary was the official Chinese dictionary during the mid and late Qing dynasty. It contains more than 47,000 characters, though some 40% of them are graphic variants.
  • 說文解字注 : 附六書音韻表
    Explaining and analyzing characters. An early 2nd Century Chinese dictionary from the Han dynasty, compiled by Xu Sheng. It was a first dictionary to analyse the semantic structure of the Chinese characters and to give the rationale behind them.
  • 汉语方言大词典
    Chinese dialects dictionary.
  • 普通话基础方言基本词汇集
    Vocabulary of Mandarin based dialects.

Terminology dictionaries

Biographical dictionaries

Subject dictionaries

Top of page

Bibliographies

Top of page

Gazetteers

Top of page

Chronologies

Top of page

Calendars

Top of page

Atlases

Top of page

Statistics

Top of page

Classics | Political documents | Historical archives | Western sources | Language and literature | Newspapers and periodicals | Local records

Classics

  • 百子全書
    A comprehensive collection of classics of the hundred schools of thought.
  • 册府元龜
    The Prime Tortoise of the Record Bureau, one of the largest ancient Chinese encyclopaedias compiled during the Song dynasty.
  • 佩文韻府 : 附拾遺,索隱
    A Chinese rime dictionary of literary allusions and poetic dictions, complied in the Qing dynasty.
  • 古今圖書集成 : 及索引
    Complete collection of illustrations and writings from the earliest to current times, a vast encyclopaedic work complied in the Qing dynasty.
  • 四部備要
    Abstracts of books in the four categories.
  • 四部叢刊初編
    A preliminary series of books in the four categories.
  • 中国子学名著集成
    A collection of classics of Chinese schools of thought.
  • 諸子集成
    A collection of classics of the various schools of thought.

Top of page

Political documents

Top of page

Historical archives

Ming dynasty (1368-1644)

Qing dynasty (1644-1912)

Republic of China (1912-1949)

Foreign relations

Top of page

Western sources

Top of page

Language and literature

Top of page

Newspapers and periodicals

Top of page

Local records

中国省志汇编 A collection of Chinese provincial local records.

Top of page

Online guides | E-collections | Historical photographs | Calendars | Digital humanities GIS projects | Chinese teaching and learning | New Zealand Chinese history materials

Online guides

Top of page

E-collections

Top of page

Historical photographs

Top of page

Calendars

Top of page

Digital humanities GIS projects

Top of page

Chinese teaching and learning

Top of page

New Zealand Chinese history materials

Top of page

How to cite Chinese sources

Examples from the New Zealand Journal of Asian Studies.

  • Liang Xiaosheng. Yige hongweibing de zimai 一个红卫兵的自白 (Confessions of a Red Guard), Beijing: Wenhua yishu chubanshe, 2007.

Source: Li, L. (2010). Desires, bodily rhetoric and melodramatic imagination: Women in the making of evolutionary myth in three Chinese films of the seventeen years. New Zealand Journal of Asian Studies, 12(1), p.65.

  • Wang, Xiaoming 王晓明. Wufa zhimian de rensheng: Lu Xun zhuan 无法直面的人生:鲁迅传 (A life that cannot be faced directly: A biography of Lu Xun). Shanghai: Shanghai wenyi chuban she, 1993.

Source: Ping, Z. (2010). Traversing the sublime: The metamorphosis of the female body in Lu Xun’s regrets for the past. New Zealand Journal of Asian Studies, 12(1), p.27.

  • Liu, H. (2005). Zhongguo Gongchandang yu Xinzhongguo Qiaowu Shiye [Chinese Communist Party and the new overseas Chinese affairs career]. Zhonggong Zhongyang Dangxiao Xuebao, 9(1), 46-51.

Source: Law Kam-Yee and Lee Kim-Ming. (2009). The myth of constructing a greater China identity: A case study of the Malaysian-Chinese in reforming China. New Zealand Journal of Asian Studies, 11(2), p.41.

Support

  • Referencing
    Access a range of tools and support material to assist your referencing work.

Examples

  • Quick©ite
    Use this interactive tool to view examples of references.
    Covers a range of referencing styles used at the University of Auckland.

Last updated : 28 November 2018
Creative Commons License CC BY 4.0 Tautohu Matatiki 4.0 ā-Ao