Asian Studies

Full list of library databases for Asian Studies.

  • Asian studies review
    A multidisciplinary journal of contemporary and modern Asia.
  • Asian survey
    Coverage ranges in scope from diplomacy, disarmament, missile defense, military, and modernization, to ethnicity, ethnic violence, economic nationalism, general elections, and global capitalism.
  • Harvard journal of Asiatic studies
    Original articles and book reviews on the humanities in Asia, focusing at present on the areas of China, Japan, Korea, and Inner Asia.
  • Journal of Asian studies
    Coverage ranges in scope from history, the arts and social sciences, to philosophy of East, South, and Southeast Asia.
  • Modern Asian studies
    Covers history, sociology, economics, and culture of modern Asia, including South Asia, South-East Asia.
  • New Zealand journal of Asian studies
    The official journal of the New Zealand Asian Studies Society (NZASIA). All submitted articles are refereed.
  • South Asia: Journal of South Asian studies
    Covers history, society, economy, culture and international relations of the South Asian region.

Research portals | Images | Film | Geospatial data | Statistics | Surveys

Research portals

Top of page

Images​

General

South-East Asia

​South Asia

Top of page

​Film

Top of page

Geospatial data

  • Getty thesaurus of geographic names
    Place names and associated information such as administrative political entities (e.g., cities, nations) and physical features (e.g., mountains, rivers). Current and historical places are included.
  • GeoNames
    Covers all countries and contains over eight million place names with associated geographical data such as names of places in various languages, elevation and population.
  • Perry-Castañeda Library Map Collection -- Asia Maps
    More than 11,000 maps from the University of Texas Library Map Collection.

Top of page

Statistics

  • APEC key indicators database
    Economic, social and environmental indicators.
  • Asian Development Bank -- Data and research
    The latest macro-economic and social data on Asia and the Pacific, including: economy and output; money, finance, and prices; globalisation; transport, electricity, and communication; energy and environment; and government and governance.
  • UNdata: A world of information
    Authoritative data on agriculture, crime, education, employment, energy, environment, health, HIV/AIDS, human development, industry, information and communication technology, national accounts, population, refugees, tourism, trade, as well as the Millennium Development Goals indicators around the world.
  • The World Bank – World DataBank
    A set of databases with collections of time series data on a variety of topics: agriculture and rural development, aid effectiveness and climate change, economic policy and external debt, education as well as energy and mining, environment, financial sector and gender, health. It also covers the topics on infrastructure, labour and social protection, poverty, private sector, public sector, science and technology and social development, urban development. Provides analysis and visualisation tools.
  • Digital South Asia Library – Statistical information
    Historical data and current census data on South Asia countries.

Top of page

Surveys

  • Asia Data archive
    Provides access to several major international projects that are surveying public opinion in East Asia.

Top of page

Support

  • Referencing
    Access a range of tools and support material to assist your referencing work.

Examples

  • Quick©ite
    Use this interactive tool to view examples of references.
    Covers a range of styles used at the University of Auckland.

Last updated : 28 November 2018
Creative Commons License CC BY 4.0 Tautohu Matatiki 4.0 ā-Ao