Art History

Images of artworks held in many of the world's leading galleries, museums and institutions are available in ARTstor so links to these organisations are not included here.

The following sites provide access to images or collections not readily found in ARTstor.

The Commons (flickr)
The Commons aims to share hidden treasures from the world's public photography archives. Participating institutions include national libraries, universities, museums, archives and organisations such as NASA and the Smithsonian Institution. Contains New Zealand and Australian material.

The Rijks Studio (Rijksmuseum)
Allows you to create your own "studio" of high resolution images from the 125,000 masterpieces held at the Rijksmuseum. Images can be manipulated and sets can be saved and shared. Helpful searching/browsing categories.

Art resources and forums

  • Asia Art Archive
    A dynamic, growing collection of material about contemporary artistic practice in Asia. Images from this site are available through ARTstor.
  • The Big Idea: Te Aria Nui
    Online community for New Zealand creative talent. Includes news, forums, events, jobs and opportunities.
  • Bombsite
    Magazine and website of searchable artist-to-artist interviews, essays, podcasts and videos from 1981 on. Provides a window into how artists discuss their work with other artists.
  • EyeContact
    Online forum of art reviews and critical discussion about the visual culture of New Zealand. Archived reviews can be searched by keyword, city, writer or artist.
  • Find New Zealand Artists
    Comprehensive index of New Zealand artist names that directs users to material found in libraries, published sources and art society records. Enables searching across 12 different resources, ranging from the 19th century to the present day. Contributors include Auckland Art Gallery, the Hocken Collections, Te Papa and the University of Auckland's Fine Arts Library.
  • Tate Museum's Glossary of Art Terms
    Contains definitions, most with illustrations, of over 400 terms including artist groups and art movements, techniques, media and other art jargon.
  • Vdrome
    Online platform offering high quality screenings of films and videos directed by visual artists and filmmakers. The production of this material lies in between contemporary art and cinema. Each screening is only available for a limited time period.
  • Zeroland - Arts Online Directory
    Portal providing links to numerous international art-related websites. Find artists, contemporary art and design, new media, art museums and galleries, cinema, events, blogs, discussion, news and more.

Galleries and museums

  • The Courtauld Gallery (London)
    Watch
    Videos from The Courtauld Gallery.
    Listen
    Playlists from The Courtauld Gallery.
    Online Learning Resources
    Information on past exhibitions including downloadable catalogues, artist information and links to corresponding films and podcasts.
  • The Louvre (Paris)
    Learning About Art
    A wealth of multimedia information about art in general, the museum itself and its collections and exhibitions. Divided into several sections including: A Closer Look; Tales of the Museum; and Mini-sites.
  • National Portrait Gallery (London)
    Research
    Articles and in-depth information about research related to the Gallery's collection.
    Digital Content
    Created in response to the Gallery's collection, exhibitions and projects.
    Interviews
    Transcripts of interviews with artists and sitters explore how contemporary portraits were realised.
  • Tate (UK)
    Blogs & Channel
    Large collection of articles, audio and video resources about the gallery, its art and artists.

Referencing artworks and exhibition catalogues

An artwork (footnote or caption)

Auguste Rodin. The Kiss (marble, 181.5 x 112.5 x 117 cm) 1889, Musée Rodin, Paris.
Raphael. Saint Catherine of Alexandria (oil on poplar, 72.2 x 55.7 cm) c.1507, National Gallery, London.

Exhibition catalogue (bibliography)

Reference in the same way as a book:
Everyday miracles: the art of Stanley Spencer. Edited by Mary Kisler. Dunedin: Dunedin Public Art Gallery, 2003. Published in conjunction with the exhibition of the same name, shown at the Auckland Art Gallery, City Gallery, Wellington and Dunedin Public Art Gallery.

Can be abbreviated if necessary:
Everyday miracles: the art of Stanley Spencer. Edited by Mary Kisler. Dunedin: Dunedin Public Art Gallery, 2003. Exhibition catalogue.

Chicago 16th (footnotes)

Support

  • Referencing
    Access a range of tools and support material to assist your referencing work.

Examples

  • Quick©ite
    Use this interactive tool to view examples of references.
    Covers a range of styles used at the University of Auckland.

Last updated : 28 November 2018
Creative Commons License CC BY 4.0 Tautohu Matatiki 4.0 ā-Ao