Databases \ SciFinder

Content

Major collection of chemical substance and reaction information. Includes CAS (Chemical Abstracts Service) databases. Covers 20 million substances, including organic compounds, coordination compounds, polymers, biosequences, stereoisomers and alloys. Includes physical properties, millions of spectra, and a drawing package. Sources include journals, patents, books, reviews, meeting abstracts, dissertations, conference proceedings and technical reports.

You must personally register before use. See instructions in the Access section below.

Access to SciFinder is restricted to CURRENT Faculty or Professional staff members, or officially registered students of the University of Auckland. SciFinder is not to be used for commercial purposes.

Coverage includes:
Agricultural Sciences
Biological and Life Sciences
Engineering
Food Science
General Chemistry
Geological Sciences
Material Sciences
Medical Sciences
Physics
Polymer Science

Coverage

1907 to the present

Access

It is necessary to register before use.

When registering, you must provide an email address that ends in either auckland.ac.nz or aucklanduni.ac.nz
Please read Registering for your SciFinder Account (PDF). The registration URL that the PDF refers to is available at this registration linking page, which staff and students may access.

If you have registered but have not used your login for two years or more, you may need to re-register.

On Sundays the database is unavailable for a 3 hour period between 2pm and 7pm (actual time 10pm‑1am Eastern US time). On the Sunday following the first Saturday in the month, it is unavailable for an 8 hour period between 9am and 7pm (actual time 5pm‑1am Eastern US time). The NZ times vary with daylight saving changes in NZ and the US.

If using Internet Explorer (IE), please use IE 8 or later.

There are three structure drawing editors to choose from:
* Non-Java editor
* Java-based editor - requires a Java plug-in for your browser
* Standalone editor
For more information, see the SciFinder System Recommendations and Requirements.

SciFinder is available on smartphones for registered users.

Access to SciFinder is restricted to CURRENT Faculty or Professional staff members, or officially registered students of the University of Auckland. SciFinder is not to be used for commercial purposes.

Support

Contacts

  • Dahlia Han
  • Auckland Bioengineering Institute, Civil and Environmental Engineering.
  • Subject Librarian
  • 373-7599 Ext. 86997
  • d.han@auckland.ac.nz
  • Lin Lin
  • Chemistry, Chemical & Materials Engineering, Food Science, Wine Science. PBRF Specialist, Faculty of Engineering and Science
  • Subject Librarian
  • 373-7599 Ext. 83330
  • l.lin@auckland.ac.nz

Subjects

SciFinder is related to 12 subjects. Explore these subjects to find other useful databases.

Contacts

  • Dahlia Han
  • Auckland Bioengineering Institute, Civil and Environmental Engineering.
  • Subject Librarian
  • 373-7599 Ext. 86997
  • d.han@auckland.ac.nz
  • Lin Lin
  • Chemistry, Chemical & Materials Engineering, Food Science, Wine Science. PBRF Specialist, Faculty of Engineering and Science
  • Subject Librarian
  • 373-7599 Ext. 83330
  • l.lin@auckland.ac.nz